Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mound Fort Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 763 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

M y school is awesome! we like to have fun but we really focus on the education....:)


Posted October 21, 2013

My School (Mound Fort), is AWESOME. We ALWAYS get along, we ALWAYS help one another, there is NO drama, we're always in class, we're respectful to the teachers, We're good on Assignments, and okay on Tests, we have School Spirit, our school sports teams are hard working sportsmen. Besides the nasty insedent we had, ALL our teachers are really hard working, and nice. I would like more lunch, as a 9th grader, we dont get seconds like 9th graders last year did D':


Posted March 11, 2013

My daughter has gone to this school for about 2 years. There is a lot of cussing, but over all, not much problems. She has Asperger's and all the teachers are understanding and work with her on it. Some teachers have discipline problems, but most I'm really impressed with. My only complaint, which is not unique to this school, is that when my daughter has a problem and gets counseling, i'm never told about it by the school, but thankfully, we have pretty good relationship, and she tells me what is going on. I feel that the school has a lot of problem students to deal with and they have made some good choices to keep things under control. No one can go outside at lunch time, there is a police officer assigned to the school, if a student has an F at any time, they automatically have to go to study hall during lunch, and they have a home room time for doing homework, a good grade reward program (a party or a field trip to a fun place), also there is a free YMCA program after school that helps with homework, and has some fun club activities. Although the overall atmosphere may be a 3 star, I give them a 4 for caring and trying to do the best they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

My son is currently a student and even though he has not been bullied (mainly because he is a tall kid), the students have no respect for authority and most of the teachers have no control over their classroom. I have heard in parent teacher conference meetings that my son is one of three students that is a "good" student and respectful kid, which means the rest of the kids are giving the teachers a hard time and are not there to learn. The 8th grade english lit teacher gives one vocabulary word per day for the kids to learn, which is pathetic. Very disappointed with this school and will be transferring to OPA next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

The teachers at Mound Fort are very good generally, but the disciple is non-exsistent. The focus at this school is keeping kids off the street and out of gangs, but it's a lost battle. I moved my daughter from Mound Fort and out of a gifted-talented program that was good because the overall atmosphere of violence and disrespect was adversly affecting her educational opportunities. Time to send the students with severe behavioral problems to an alternative middle school where they can recieve the help they need and restore some focus back onto the students who wish to learn and succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I think that the main problem is the principal, he is errogant and does'nt focus on anything other than using his spanish speaking abilities. Don't get me wrong I am not racist, I have mexican children and live the mexican culture. But since when did we become the minority? And since when is it ok to put children aside no matter what race they are? They all deserve a chance. So to Mr. Kuykendal, go back to college get an education on social behavior, maybe then you can learn how to act right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I was a student at this school 5 years ago. I would not want my child going to that school for one reason only: I would not want them to be involved with the kinds of students that attend the school. I ended up getting into trouble at Mound Fort and it was because of the 95% majority that didn't care about their education or their future. The teachers were great and honestly deserve to teach at a better place with better students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

The faculty at this school is great. The teachers really care about the students it's just that the students at this school are terrible. They don't care about anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

My daughter used to go to another school but I changed her to this school because I think that is better, the teachers really care about the students.'Mound Fort is a great school.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

My daughter did not feel safe there. My daughter has complained about bullying. Teachers and administrators need to pay more attention to what goes on in the hallways. There is not enough hall monitoring. The facility definately needs work. They dont have walls and I think it is probably hard to concentrate on what you have to do when you hear other teachers and classes going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
30%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 15%
White 32% 78%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Black 2% 1%
Asian 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Mound Fort Dr
Ogden, UT 84404
Phone: (801) 737-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summit View
Ogden, UT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT