Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Ogden Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 931 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

My school is a great, safe school with very caring teachers and staff. I would recommend this school to anyone in the Ogden area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Me being a student that went to MOJH and being in the hall ways I have rarely seen any fights. The swearing isn't even that bad and their is going to be that at every school. Some of the staff needs work, but other then that most of the school and everything about it, has always been really fun! Gangs are not as big of a problem during school time I have never encountered any gang members that were a "threat" to me during or after school.


Posted February 2, 2012

Why is this school's crosswalk the ONLY one in Ogden that still has it's crossing lights on when all other schools in Ogden District have their off....seems police love to sit around in this area and ticket people on busy Harrison Blvd....


Posted January 27, 2012

This school has many bad teachers, who don't give students the proper help they need. Don't have your child attend this school if they are not of the Mormon religion, for all my children have been ridiculed by students and teachers alike for there religion. The school is full of gang activity, not much more needed to say about that. I would never recommend this school to anyone who does not like being preached to by the LDS church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

best school ever. i don't even know what the person who gave 2 stars is talking about. none of that is true. mount ogden rocks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

i think mount ogden is one of the best schools in Utah. I love it's sports programs and it's enriched. It really challenges and takes students to the next level. I love MOJHS!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

This school has many problems. You see fights, bad behavior and some teachers aren't even qualified to teach what they teach. The school has excellent sports though. The girls soccer team has never lost a game since the program started. The school could definitely use some work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2007

I think Mount Ogden is the best school in the nation it has all sorts of great activeitives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2007

This is a great school. Most of the faculty members are excellent. There is a strict dress code policy. The students are typical of middle school age and sometimes test thier limits in word and behavior. The counseling dept is lacking and understaffed. I love MOMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

'This school was not a good influence upon my daughter. The school has many fights and oftenly you see many kids swearing about the halls. I transfered my daughter into a diffrent school in order for her grades to go up. So I decided this is one of the worst school for any parent to send their child to unless they want them to learn gangly behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

Well, this school has a lot of acedemic programs including, Advanced math and and Enriched Program which will challenge students more. They also have a band and orchestra program that is excellent. The only downside to this school is that some of the students here swere alot and do not follow some school rules. Other then that it is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
15%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 77%
Hispanic 48% 15%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3260 Harrison Blvd
Ogden, UT 84403
Phone: (801) 737-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT