Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This has been a great year with 91 of our Seniors earning their Associates Degree from UVU. Our high school graduation is coming fast. At this point in time, out Seniors have been offered $1.8 million in scholarships with the majority of students continuing at UVU with others at BYU, USU, Univerisity of Utah and Westminster in state. Our next year's students look great! We appreciate our partnership with Utah Valley University!
May 3, 2013

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a student
My school is Utah County Academy of Sceinces (UCAS). UCAS is a early college prep high school where student can work to earn their associates degree--paid for by the school--so they can graduate with their degree and diploma when they are finished with school. The faculty at this school really care about their students, they want each to succeed and are very willing to help the students achieve their adcademic goals. The student population is small, so each counsler knows the names of their student and their academic goals and career choices. I think the school could improve in size, it is a small school--which makes it easier to get to and from each of our classes. The school principal has actually been saving some money to build a bigger school which is very exciting because it means the building will be more up to date, and more students will be able to come so they can get a jumpstart in their education. I would reccamend this school to anyone who loves learning, is a hard worker, and wants to get a head-start on getting their college education!

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
My daughter's experience at UCAS was excellent. She received her Associate Degree one month before she graduated from high school. The quality of education was superb and provided her with the solid foundation she needed to transfer to BYU. Her teachers took the time to get to know her and to help her excel in their classes. Her Student Success class was her favorite, and provided her with the information she needed to be successful in her UVU courses. She made many wonderful friends and enjoyed the social activities sponsored by the school.


Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
The Utah County Academy of Sciences has been a great educational fit for my daughter. It is small (student body of 400 students). Her classes are a challenge, which she loves. She loves her teachers! She is on-track to graduation with her Associate Degree a month before she gets her high school diploma. As a parent, I have loved this opportunity for my daughter.

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
UCAS is an outstanding STEM early college high school. My daughter was able to earn her associates degree and graduate high school at the same time. The teachers at UCAS are knowledgeable, challenging, and gave a great deal of individualized attention to my daughter. I was impressed right off the bat by a friendly office administrator and helpful and accessible school counselors. The principal and assistant principal knew my daughter personally and took the time to chat with her regularly as they saw her in the halls. She is rather shy so this meant a lot to her. The atmosphere is friendly and the small school environment was great for my daughter. I feel that she has a solid foundation in science and math thanks to the education she received at UCAS. I highly recommend this school.

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
UCAS is an Early College High School that has the academic rigor that my children needed! The teachers love their subjects, are enthusiastic and professional! The students treat each other with respect and motivate each other to do their best. I love the fact that my children had the opportunity to earn their Associate degree before the graduated from High School! This has saved my children 2 years of time and over $12,000 a piece. We love UCAS!


Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a student
UCAS has the best teachers in the state. As far as I know, all of them have masters degrees. Most of the students take many classes from UVU, especially in their junior and senior years. The counselors help select UVU courses and plan your high school years so that you can earn an associates degree and the New Century Scholarship. UVU is in fact easier than UCAS in many areas; this just shows the excellence of the school and the ability to challenge the students. The students and social life won't be the best experience. Unfortunately many of the students suffer from some sort of social awkwardness. This seems to be improving over the years. On the plus side, bullying at the school is virtually non-existent, same with drugs and alcohol. Students are hardly as judgmental as they can be at other schools. However, this school is completely different from any other high school experience you can find in Utah. It will be challenging, and the teachers demand excellence. Your GPA will go down. The councilors, though they can't demand, will highly recommend NOT attending the school if your grades at your previous school aren't up to snuff. The best experience in Utah tailored to you.

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
UCAS is a great way for High School students that are looking to get ahead in life have an early college experience that will teach them worth ethics and study habits which will help them to rise to the top of any situation in their futures. UCAS helps build a student's confidence that anything is possible and (with hard work) probable.

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
This is an early college highschool that fullfills it charter well. The students and their education are the focus not sports,


Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
UCAS is a great school with great opportunities to get college credit along with high school credit. Many of the courses offered are concurrent enrollment and with its location on UVU campus, many students are able to get their Associate's when they graduate from high school. My son likes the closeness the students have at the school and how the teachers are willing to go the extra mile to help him succeed. It's great for those who want to focus on academia and less on extracurricular activities. A warning however, if your child is not ready to perform at college level at an early age, this school probably won't be a good match.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas)
940 West 800 South, Orem, UT  84058
(801) 863-2222
Last modified Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) is a Charter school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Utah County Academy of Science (Ucas) Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top