Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Geneva School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

I almost never give 5 stars because to me that is perfection. I give Geneva a solid 4 stars, it is a great school. My daughter has attended Geneva the last two years, 1st and 2nd grade, and has really liked both of her past teachers. She is about to start another school year here and is excited as she really likes this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

We moved here from SLC and tried attending a shool in our boudary. She became very withdrawn and very unlike herself. We then transferred her to Geneva and she absolutely loves it and is back to herself again with great grades. The first grade teacher she has is awesome and takes the time with new students to make sure they are comfortable and understand what is being asked of them. We just moved to another area and she is not in the boudaries of Geneva but will ask for another transfer year after year! They are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

It's a great environment for my children. As international students they have all support from teachers and principal. There is no discrimination by the fact that they are from another country. Actually my children adopted Geneva School as they second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

Awesome school! Great faculty and Staff! Amazing in every way!


Posted July 14, 2009

We moved from Murray where I really loved my son's school. At first I didn't like the change, but my kids came home learning so much and really enjoying their school, so now we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

This school has the best most current teacher who really truly love the ethnic and Social Economic diversity in this school. They are always working to be teaching using researched based practices. The amazing miracles that teachers are able to produce in this school are wonderful. This is truly a great school for the students who are in it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2007

This school is amazing. Especially the fourth grade teachers.


Posted June 12, 2006

The school in itself is excellent, the parent involvement is not great. The teachers are excellent. One bad note-- administration is not great. Did not handle at all, what I viewed to be a very serious problem. So I guess you take the good with the bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

Great first grade tachers. Good programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 77%
Hispanic 40% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 North 665 West
Orem, UT 84057
Phone: (801) 717-4837

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Orem School
Orem, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT