Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeridge Jr High School

Public | 7-9 | 1204 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

When I was at Lakeridge, I actually liked school. I was in the ACAD English/History program, which is fabulous. It's a lot of work, but it was inspired and fun. I had a science class that I didn't always like, but we did plenty of labs and I learned a lot, which, after going to other schools with sup-par science instruction, was a great class. I love Flex time-I could go watch a movie or go to the library (or several other things, if those don't strike your fancy), while the failing kids could get help. Most of the students would be willing to work, which hasn't happened at the other schools I've been to since. I loved how many opportunities there were there, such as elective classes and extracurriculars. All in all, it's a great school, and after moving away, I wish I could go back there. It definitely deserves the "Best in State" awards it won!


Posted January 5, 2009

Lakeridge jr. high is the best school ever, its the safest too. all of the teachers are so willing to help the students. its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2008

great school! great teachers! awesome classes!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2008

what make this school great first its not all that big of the school what makes this school great is the faculty the teacher and staff are great all most all the teacher are fun and do teach you relly well when it comes to math and art. I love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2008

Provides educational tools that go above and beyond the typical public school Go visit and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Lakeridge has many great students willing to learn. I think the dress code is wack though. It also needs to improve with the staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

Lakeridge is a great school. It gives many opportunities to the students. It also won Best of State.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

I love this school. The teachers are all open to help the students, and there are a wide variety of extracurriculars to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

lakeridge is a great school it has many honor classes and GT program(gifted and talented)with a brilliant teacher! there is student senate which also the students to share there thoughts on what we would like to help our school be an even better school. Lakeridge has very brilliant, professional and understanding teachers! and don't forget a fabulous band, orchestra and choir programs! I love my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2006

I do not like this school at all. Yes its a nice school but the teachers are far from that!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 77%
Hispanic 21% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

951 South 400 West
Orem, UT 84058
Phone: (801) 227-8752

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Cairn Academy
Provo, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT