Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orem High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

Our principal is an amazing asset to Orem High. He knows and cares for the students, he encourages and supports the teachers, he welcomes and involves the parents, and he reaches out to and helps the community. He has been a unifying force, making Orem High a fabulous school. The principal and assistant principals work well together. The counselors go out of their way to make sure the students succeed. The teachers know their subjects and help the students get excited about learning. Orem High is an all-around great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

Orem High currently has the best principal any of my children have had anywhere! I am pleased with the variety of classes and options available in this school. I agree with others who have commented on a lack of motivation apparent in many of the students but place the responsibility for it in the homes of the students and not the walls of the school. I have experienced frustration with the counselors and was even told on one occasion that there was no space to enroll a student in a required class. It is a good school and believe it continues to get better thanks to a great principal. Thank you Ms. Lindhout!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

We absolutely adore Jane. She is both professional yet caring about our children. She has the ability to give posative reinforcement for a very ADD child, which is a rare talent! We have been very pleased with the arts program. There are talented and caring teachers in this area. The quality of the program is the best we have ever experienced and we have lived in many parts of this country. The academic programs are very good, however, the math (investigations)is hurting our kids GPA. The teachers love Orem High and it shows. Overall the teachers who work full-time at Orem are exceptional. I wish it were that way with many part-time teachers. They are very hard to contact and many times are not at school when they say they are. That is very disappointing. Having said that we love Orem High and thank you for caring for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

As a former student, I think Orem High is a good school. The teachers are good and so is the administration. What most high school students look for is the abundance of extracurricular activities. There are a variety of them, but they are not all supported the same. I was in the music program and we were neglected. All the support and funding went to the sports and dance program. One way to make this school better is to show universal support and funding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 9, 2004

Orem High has been a great experience for my children, so much so that my sister's kids drive 20 minutes to go here as well. We have had a great experience with the teachers and the extracurricular programs are first rate. I wish the student's themselves would appreciate a bit more what a unique and great school they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

Most of the teachers and administration at OHS excellent. They are interested in the students and their sucess. They teach and inspire. However,many of the students themselves are very apathetic toward their education. It would be a much better school if the students themselves cared more about their education than their weekend. Unfortunately that is not the case. I have had two children attend school there. While I whole heartedly endorse the teaching, I am very disappointed in the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Except for some apparent apathy by the administration I have been extremely pleased with my students' experiences at OHS. The faculty is helpful and kind, the students seem to have less conflict and are more inclusive than other places I am familiar with. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2004

I send my student from another district (Nebo) to attend Orem. Veteran staff, strong prgrams, safe, and, as one can see, very good standardized test scores. Orem has outstanding programs including Drama, Unified Studies, and Comcurrent Enrollment opportunities. It has a great academic tradition along with a variety of positive activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

I have had 4 students attend this school it is a great place and one that is caring and helping to the students. Everyone who will trys can find success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

My child attends this high school and I am not at all impressed with the way things are run. The principal needs to step up and take action. We need to get involved and make Orem High School what it was built to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
34%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
35%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 77%
Hispanic 11% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

175 South 400 East
Orem, UT 84097
Phone: (801) 227-8765

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT