Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cascade School

Public | K-6 | 705 students

Our school is best known for academic excellence, a warm community and Chinese.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I love this school and the staff so much. My son is in Chinese immersion and he loves it as well. Mrs. Stevens, Mrs. Hutchison, mrs. Olsen and Mr. Lui are the best!! So is Mrs. Britany Phelps! We love the principal, Mr. Campbell as well. Even the office staff and lunch ladies are the bomb.com!! Hands down, best school in the county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

Cascade is incredible! I have two children at this school. The principal is outstanding, teachers are caring, I have absolutely no complaints. We are actually out of area because we wanted to enroll our children in the Chinese immersion program and we highly recommend it. The English teachers our children have are phenomenal and same with Chinese. Cascade is a warm, friendly environment. I definitely recommend Cascade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

I have a kindergartner going here, and I am very happy with the school. We love Mrs. Black; she goes above and beyond to teach and care for the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

Do not let your child attend this school if you are not LDS. My review is on a personal level but my child was promptly harassed about not going to the other children's ward in the lunch cafiteria. Speaking with the principal got my nowhere because he was unsure of the child involved! Her teacher was very impatient with her and would "smack" her on the arm if my daughter did not understand what was being asked of her. My daughter only attended this school for a couple of weeks and came home with "frequent" headaches and would cry nonstop the night before school. This was very unlike her because she's always received good grades and never missed class in her old school. I have gotten her transferred to another school here and now she is back to her old self again and loves school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I loved the science teacher, Mr. Jacob. He has been the best teacher I ever had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2006

While I haven't been terribly impressed with the academics at Cascade, from what I can gather they are doing as much or more than most schools in the area. There is no extracurricular activity at all in my experience (grades 1 through 4). My oldest son also had problems with bullies with no action ever being taken toward the bullies by teachers or administration. Teacher involvement could be better, but in my experience is limited by the lack of teacher interest than lack of willing parents. I have 3 boys attend and my wife and I have volunteered to do all sorts of things and have only had two teachers consistently take us up on it. Both were experienced faculty of which there are very few in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

I have been very happy with the school. Academically they are great. They also have an after school orchestra program, as well as academic decathelon preparation for grades 4-6. The city has a widespread extracurricular sports program, so there is less emphasis on school sponsored sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Overall I am satisfied with the school. However I have been concerned with, what seems to me, a lack of harsh enough consequences for children who bully and bother other children relentlesly. I have been very happy with all my childrens teachers, with the exception of one. There is great parent involvement at this school. I haven't been too impressed with the extracurricular activities offered. It seems that there isn't much in the area of 'extras'. Academically this school is great. My children always learn what they need to and enjoy it - for the most part. Basically, I am happy with the school with the exception of the policy on disciplining children who seem to be bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

I was very unhappy in the way that the principal handled bullying with my daughter. Academically the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 77%
Hispanic 9% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Boyce Campbell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (801) 227-9709

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Golf

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Canyon View Junior High
Orem High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160 North 800 East
Orem, UT 84097
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 610-8102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sharon School
Orem, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT