Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park City High School

Public | 10-12 | 1239 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

Incredible staff, students and community involvement and support. Great athletics, coaching and AP class offerings. Gets your student ready for college or the workforce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I think Park City High is the best. The school has such great community support and spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The kids care about each other and their community, and help where ever they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

Academics are good, its very safe, but the students are very closed-minded and prejuduced in general. I didn't enjoy my time there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

We moved from florida where my kids were straight A and A/B students. They each got their first 'D's at Park City. I am not sure what that was all about. As for social issues in high school - that is what high school is all about - you aren't going to avoid that anywhere. What you should worry about is whether or not the school is a threatening environment. Park City High School is very safe. As for economic status - having from from the very class conscious south - my children noted how refreshing it was that the students they became friends with lived in 10 million dollar homes as well as 300K condos with mult-generations living in them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

I agree with the last reviewer. Although we have had a few really great teachers in the 10 years we have lived in Park City with two children, most are dismissive of parental concerns and don't seem to care about the children. It would be SO great to have other local options for high school education!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

Asking for help at this school can actually prove counterproductive in getting a student's needs met. The teachers are generally unwilling (or unable) to adapt their teaching interventions for individual needs of a student. Requests for help or for appropriate accommodations are met with a reactive, defensive stance. Don't be fooled by high test scores for the district. These scores are not due to anything the school system accomplishes; they reflect the inherent intellectual and emotional assets within the wealthy, successful, competitive families which make up the Park City community. Socially, this school is a difficult place for most kids to navigate. Intense and sometimes antagonistic cliques are quite real here. Unfortunately, there are no local private school options so the school system has little pressure to change or adapt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

The teachers lack any drive or motivation to help struggling students. It seems as though they feel that the strong students need more assistance than others
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

I really like Park City High School. Pros are; easy going atmosphere, wide variety of courses, the school started rebuilding in 2006 (so all new school) and dedication by students to academics, music, community, and athletics is commendable. Cons are; half the teachers are great, half are just not good at what they do, policies are ridiculous at times, the Christmas break is about 10 days, and the school food is simply unhealthy (when I must eat it I usually have a PBnJ). Bottom line though is that I am comfortable being here and confident that if I work hard and choose the right courses I will be able to get into my school of choice. Just recently friends of mine have been accepted to Dartmouth and Stanford. PCHS was rated in the 150 top HS schools in the US by Newsweek, and the best HS in state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2006

Excellent school, incredible parent support and involvement. Athletics are not supported by principal or district. All sports programs are funded by parents and booster clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

By far one of the greatest academic rewarding schools i have sent my kids to, the social structure seemed a bit frustrations at time, and it seems that the drug and alcohol usage seemed to vary more than what would be needed. Academicaly rewarding, yet socialy struggling. Overall the actual school was the best i have seen in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

PCHS has an above average offering of advanced placement courses. Our experience has been very rewarding. My son requires both an I.E.P. and honors courses and administrators have gone above and beyond to provide and customize his curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Park City High School is awesome if you are looking at it purely for academics. I graduated early from PCHS because I couldnt stand the people anymore. If you are not rich, you are not cool. PC is a very wealthy community and many of the kids are free to do whatever they want. Only send your kids there if they need challenging acedemics. Otherwise, the people and social issues are huge problems.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 18, 2005

I recently moved from Park City to Kentucky. If I had known how awful Kentucky schools would be compared to Park City High School, we would have never left. Park City is such a wonderful school that I would attend school there SIX days a week! Providing excellent foreign language programs including Mandarin Chinese, the music program is fantastic, and a wonderful environment to work in where students are rarely swearing, no smoking in the bathrooms, or causing mahem. I loved going to school,(and students usually hate it) and I was a freshman! I would reccomend this school to everyone, some downsides to attending is having to start school at 7:15 A.M., constant downpours of snow in the winter making it hazardous when driving, and the halls in some parts of the school made me feel trapped, it is also rapidly becoming crowded due to it being a popular destination.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
38%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
52%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 77%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1750 Kearns Blvd
Park City, UT 84060
Website: Click here
Phone: (435) 645-5650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mpes Prescool
Park City, UT



Oakley School
Oakley, UT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT