Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public district
Park City, UT
Students enrolled: 1,013
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Park City High School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Incredible staff, students and community involvement and support. Great athletics, coaching and AP class offerings. Gets your student ready for college or the workforce.

Park City High School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I think Park City High is the best. The school has such great community support and spirit.


Park City High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The kids care about each other and their community, and help where ever they can.

Park City High School
no rating

Posted January 11, 2009
- a student
Academics are good, its very safe, but the students are very closed-minded and prejuduced in general. I didn't enjoy my time there.

Park City High School
no rating

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
We moved from florida where my kids were straight A and A/B students. They each got their first 'D's at Park City. I am not sure what that was all about. As for social issues in high school - that is what high school is all about - you aren't going to avoid that anywhere. What you should worry about is whether or not the school is a threatening environment. Park City High School is very safe. As for economic status - having from from the very class conscious south - my children noted how refreshing it was that the students they became friends with lived in 10 million dollar homes as well as 300K condos with mult-generations living in them.


Park City High School 1

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
I agree with the last reviewer. Although we have had a few really great teachers in the 10 years we have lived in Park City with two children, most are dismissive of parental concerns and don't seem to care about the children. It would be SO great to have other local options for high school education!!!

Park City High School 2

Posted March 16, 2008
- a parent
Asking for help at this school can actually prove counterproductive in getting a student's needs met. The teachers are generally unwilling (or unable) to adapt their teaching interventions for individual needs of a student. Requests for help or for appropriate accommodations are met with a reactive, defensive stance. Don't be fooled by high test scores for the district. These scores are not due to anything the school system accomplishes; they reflect the inherent intellectual and emotional assets within the wealthy, successful, competitive families which make up the Park City community. Socially, this school is a difficult place for most kids to navigate. Intense and sometimes antagonistic cliques are quite real here. Unfortunately, there are no local private school options so the school system has little pressure to change or adapt.

Park City High School
no rating

Posted October 20, 2007
- a parent
The teachers lack any drive or motivation to help struggling students. It seems as though they feel that the strong students need more assistance than others


Park City High School 5

Posted January 07, 2007
- a student
I really like Park City High School. Pros are; easy going atmosphere, wide variety of courses, the school started rebuilding in 2006 (so all new school) and dedication by students to academics, music, community, and athletics is commendable. Cons are; half the teachers are great, half are just not good at what they do, policies are ridiculous at times, the Christmas break is about 10 days, and the school food is simply unhealthy (when I must eat it I usually have a PBnJ). Bottom line though is that I am comfortable being here and confident that if I work hard and choose the right courses I will be able to get into my school of choice. Just recently friends of mine have been accepted to Dartmouth and Stanford. PCHS was rated in the 150 top HS schools in the US by Newsweek, and the best HS in state.

Park City High School 4

Posted April 30, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school, incredible parent support and involvement. Athletics are not supported by principal or district. All sports programs are funded by parents and booster clubs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park City High School
1750 Kearns Blvd, Park City, UT  84060
(435) 645-5650
Last modified Park City High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Park City High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top