Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Soaring Wings Montessori School

Private | PK-3 | 120 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Park City

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $499,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Soaring Wings is our savior! My 8 year old daughter is a bright 3rd grader. She loved learning, but she did not enjoy Park City's public schools. Due to the large class size and other issues, the school was unable to attend to my daughter's needs. My daughter suffered from anxiety and simply wanted to advance at a faster pace. I was a very frustrated parent. Finally, this year, I enrolled my daughter in Soaring Wings. She toured the school & immediately expressed her interest. She was attracted to the school's beauty & tranquility. So, we tried it. I have been amazed! For the first time, EVER, my daughter loves school & looks forward to attending. No crying. Just smiles. She is allowed to excel & move at her own pace. She is not experiencing anxiety. She LOVES learning, again. Her teachers & staff actually have time to talk to me & create her own curriculum. As a parent, I am finally in the loop and I am invited to be actively involved in my child's education. Additionally, my daughter is in gymnastics. She trains in the afternoon. Soaring Wings has worked with her complex schedule. We are so grateful that we've found this school. It has been a dream. Thank you, Soaring Wings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2014

This is a fantastic school. My son has attended for three years, starting as a toddler and currently in the elementary program. I have been consistently satisfied with the staff, the curriculum, and his progress. Thank you Soaring Wings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2014

My son has been thriving at Soaring Wings for the past four years. All of his teachers have been and are absolutely amazing!! I couldn't imagine sending him any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

WOW.... my child has been a student of Soaring Wings for 3 years now and he absolutely loves it. We originally thought the short week option was going to be better for him, but he really excelled while going all week. I love that he is able to flourish and not be confined by public school curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

There is no other place I would rather send my child. This is the finest school in Park City. The teachers and staff have been wonderful. Thank you Soaring Wings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

To see what this school is REALLY about, I recommend that interested parents schedule a visit. What the children are learning is beyond amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Having worked with some of the most charming children, the most supportive parents and the most talented teachers on the planet over the past 27 years it is sheer delight to walk the halls and see the resulting peaceful and productive classes at work. Our slogan is education for peace and each family brings something wonderful to the community. However, we will not hesitate to ask anyone who disrupts the peace and tranquility of this special place to find another school where they can find happiness. Please contact me at any time - Duna Strachan, Director, duna@soaringwings.org
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2014

Look elsewhere. This is a BUSINESS not a school. They maintain no certifications and will deceive you anyway they can. My child is behind at her new school and at Soaring Wings they told me that she tested one year above grade level. Hogwash. Duna, Bruce, and Lina are a family and they are not qualified to run a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2014

As a former student I have nothing but great things to say about Soaring Wings. Their out of the box thinking styles put me ahead of the curve throughout my school career. I have visited the new campus and it is absolutely beautiful. The creative play areas and complexly interesting art sculptures makes me want to go to school there all over again. The staff of friendly teachers are all required to hold a minimum of a bachelor s degree and a Montessori credential. You can tell the management has been doing this for over 20 years by how smoothly the whole school operates. My experience there was incredible and I can t wait to send my kids to school there.


Posted September 11, 2014

I have been with Soaring Wings for almost 10 years as a teacher and 4 as a parent. The administration has been supportive and provided me many opportunities to further my career as an educator. As a parent I appreciate the diverse educational backgrounds of the staff and high standards the school maintains. My daughter was reading and writing at 3 and her love of learning is evident in all she does. The passion and commitment to education as well as the resources are all here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2014

Soaring Wings has at times had effective teachers. They enjoy a nice new facility, yet it was not well planned for their needs and lacked basic play areas for nearly a year. As a parent and a primary educator I can not recommend this school. It is poorly run, the data they present on learning seems to be inaccurate at best, and their motives are clearly for profit.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2083 Equestrian Ct
Park City, UT 84060
Website: Click here
Phone: (435) 649-3626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mcpolin School
Park City, UT


Mpes Prescool
Park City, UT


The Colby School
Park City, UT


Trailside School
Park City, UT


Parleys Park School
Park City, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT