Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Canyon School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2013

We have loved Rock Canyon!! My daughter attended up until 2nd grade and my son went to kindergarten here. We have loved the teachers and the front office staff. They are always so helpful. It is an older school that could probably use a little updating but the great teachers and good kids make up for it. We are moving out of state this summer and hope that our new school is as wonderful as Rock Canyon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

When I went to Rock Canyon Elementary School, I had a great time for the most part. All of the teachers were great and they worked hard on helping the students succeed. Every year for grades 4-6, there was a geography bee and a spelling bee, and the students would go to different math classes based on their skill level. It made a really big difference because I got to take pre-algebra in sixth grade. The only things I didn't like were the Treasures Program and when I got bullied. But overall, this was a great school.


Posted November 10, 2010

I did love this school until I moved away and came back. My 2 oldest daughters went here and then we moved to Indiana and they were way behind. My freshman in high school never did regain her love of learning after feeling like she was not up to par. I had to home-school my 5th grader for 2 years. We are now back to Provo and happen to be back in this same school and my first grader is so bored! I think they need to step it up and get these kids ready for college and help them have a love of learning and help them learn in different ways. This is not a problem with just this school, I feel it is a district problem. My sophomore daughter now was in the International Baccelaureate program in Indiana and we chose Provo high so that she could continue her studies and we are so disappointed in what is available to her. It is supposed to be on level INTERNATIONALLY and Provo High is no where near the level she would have been had we stayed in Indiana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I have my fourth child attending this school, and with no prior knowledge how this school was when we moved, I really lucked out in finding that it exceeds all my expectations!! The teachers, staff, and especially parent involvement is outstanding. Their is great support to parents in helping their child, individually, achieve success. And with four different learning personalities, Rock Canyon has helped each one of my children have a great educational learning experience. They look forward to coming to school, and their after school Homework Club has done wonders for my son who was struggling. Highly recommend this wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

I have had six children go through this school and have found this school to be outstanding in every aspect. The principal is firm but loving and handles any problem that comes up in a very professional manner. The teachers are extremely devoted to improving their students' academic learning. They also do so many things to make the learning fun and rewarding. We have extracurricular activities like Author's Parties where the 4th grade teachers have published all their students writings. We have pyramids and castles and medieval festivals and so many more things. There is a very postive, happy atmosphere at the school with great parent involvement and a great PTA. There is a great concern for each student and they come to a safe and happy environment each day. I can recommend Rock Canyon as a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

I must admit that we didn't research the schools very well when we moved here 12 years ago, but we have been so happy with Rock Canyon Elementary, Centennial Middle School, and Timpview High. If I had done the research I should have done, I would have chosen these very schools to go to. They rate among the highest in the District academic ratings and in the State, too! Encouraging the development of the whole child, mentally, emotionally, physically, and socially is very important to me. The teachers and principals are wonderful and I have been impressed with how well they interact with and work with students, parents, PTA and community members in all of these areas. I feel Rock Canyon's greatest strengths are the teachers/staff, principal, involved parents that happily volunteer, and the students themselves-- as a general rule, they are kind to each other, bright, and well-behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

The main strength of Rock Canyon is the teachers and staff. I have never seen a group with more dedication, talent, and love for what they do. They take an interest in each child as an individual. My children have thrived and love going to school. All students participate in computer lab, P.E., and music programs. For those who want more there are Great Brain Projects, Science Fairs, Reflections, Literary Night, Poetry Club, Talent Night, Chess Club, and Ski Club. The PTA is strong and helps with fun things such as the Fun Run, School Spirit Week, (on one day the whole school even goes to a movie together), the Extravaganza (School Carnival), and many other programs. We had the opportunity to move, but chose not to because we were afraid of not finding a school as good as Rock Canyon. It is a place with wonderful teachers and great kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Rock Canyon is the best school in the Provo District. The teachers love their students and pick up where parents leave off. There is expectations that the teachers have the children strive for excellence. The teachers here put in so many hours outside of school time helping their students. For the most part the parents here are wonderful but there are still many parents that fall into two categories. 1, the parents that do not want to be bothered with helping their children succeed. They feel it is all up to the teachers. 2nd there are those parents who expect so much from the teachers because they feel their child is the exception to the rule. My child excelled at Rock Canyon because of the dedication of the teachers. Every school should be so lucky as to have the type of teachers we have at Rock Canyon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Rock Canyon is one of the best elementary schools that I have been associated with. For the amount of money that the school receives from the state budget this school does wonders to educate its students. The faculty is dedicated to the improvement of every child. Rock Canyon attempts to address the needs of every child at every level with the resources that are available. The school has a music program, a full time PE program, a staffed computer lab, and a PTA that is second to none. We do numerous activities but more emphasis is placed on academics.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 10, 2004

The students have a safe school and mostly very good teachers who care and support the children.. However, there isn't much 'fun' at the school on a regular basis. There is a lack of activities that keep students from going to school excited. There isn't any form of science for the most part, or science fairs worth participating in. The invention convention was oblished. There isn't a 'gifted' program of any sort. Too much candy is given out as rewards instead of bookmarks, certificates, pencils etc. The librarian is good, but there needs to be more fun reading programs. P.E. is fun, and the annual fun run. Academics is stressed to a certain point, but not enough emphasis is put on challenging every studenSome teachers don't exect much discipline in homework. If they don't complete their homework there isn't a form of discipline just an 'oh well'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 77%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2405 North 650 East
Provo, UT 84604
Phone: (801) 374-4935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edgemont School
Provo, UT


Wasatch School
Provo, UT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT