Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

887 students|Provo District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westridge School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
We have loved this school. We moved into the area (which is a great area to live) and were pleasantly surprised how great the school was. The staff is very caring and the teachers are great. We have loved Mrs. Jeppesen for first grade--she is patient and loving with the students and really helped my child with their reading. All the kindergarten teachers are great as well and even spent a lot of their budget on the Raz Kids reading program (which is an awesome program!) I liked that the school/staff implement/try new programs to help with learning. They also teach about bullying and how important it is not to do it. They have an awareness week about it. I was very surprised when my kids came home and told me what to watch for and what to do if someone is being a bully. We will be very sad to leave this school!

Westridge School 5

Posted December 16, 2011
- a parent
Westridge is a fantastic school. Two of my sons have attended since 2007 (it is 2011 as I write this) and we are moving soon. I am SO SAD to leave this school. My sons have had wonderful teachers and great experiences at Westridge.


Westridge School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
I have six children. 5 have graduated from Westridge and my youngest is in 5th grade. This is by far the best academic school in the district. The principal and the teachers are the best. The review that said we have gangs is wrong. Our principal has zero tolerance for such activities. Also the parents whose child was passed at the end was probably attending another school. Westridge puts a lot into helping the child that needs the extra help. A child has never been passed to look good on tests. We are finding that children that have come from other schools are not testing what their previous schools tested them at,sometimes 2 grade levels lower! Our teachers adhere to test scoring rules and procedures far better than other elementary schools. Westridge has been a top school in the state since it was opened 27 year.

Westridge School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
Academically challenging Dedicated teachers Wonderful fine art programs Great faculty and principal

Westridge School 1

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
dont give you homework and the school gets too many breaks plus alot of gangs are bieng started.


Westridge School 5

Posted November 16, 2007
- a parent
Great school with an above average teaching faculty. They track their students in math and reading. The Principal and teaching faculty are aware of students' needs.

Westridge School 4

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
great school with lots of parent involvement and programs that help the kids learn and gain confidence in themselves. The provo rec department is great for extra curricular activities and is especially good if you are looking for a no pressure atmosphere for your kids to get involved in sports

Westridge School 4

Posted April 21, 2005
- a parent
If you have a child entering into 2nd grade and you are looking for a good teacher Miss Giles all way she is the best teacher in the school. My daughter has never done better than this year in her class. Giles is fantastic and because of her my daughter had a wonderful experience.


Westridge School 5

Posted January 07, 2005
- a parent
My Kids have gone to westridge for 2 yrs now (Kindergarten, 2nd and 3rd grades.) I have been super impressed with 1) The overall level of education and skills learned 2) the lovingness of the teachers 3) the no-tolerence level of bulling and putting down of students. A great school - FYI - There are many people who live ouside of the district area who are trying to enroll thier kids in Westridge.

Westridge School 1

Posted August 09, 2004
- a parent
This principal claims this school is high stakes, if you aren't up to speed on certain skills, you get held back. So they hold this child back, don't give him any homework in the area he needed help the most. In math he only got 5 homework assignments the entire year because they don't want to 'frustrate' him. The week before school is out, he is flunking two classes, even though they held him back a grade. The day before school got out, they raised his grades to B's and passing, and just passed him on. High Stakes? All that means is that the teachers cheat for the students. Stay away from this school! Low class school.

Nearby schools

Westridge School
1720 West 1460 North, Provo, UT  84604
(801) 374-4870
Last modified Westridge School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top