Advertisement
Advertisement

Ivy Hall Academy

Private | PK-8 | 102 students

 
 

Living in Provo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $147,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2013

My son attended this school. And, a word of caution about it. Teachers are non-certified. The principal LOVES the rhetoric of expanded, enriched curriculum. But, in reality, her leadership (as one reviewer below noted) doesn't go much farther than a Saxon bubble. They do offer art, drama & music--but, their "idea" of art, music & drama is easily matched by most day cares. Maybe a good social match for some. But, nothing authentically superior, or even up to par with most public schools in the area. There are other private school options--which actually deliver what Ivy Hall touts. Unfortunately Ivy Hall isn't one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

I would recommend Ivy Hall Academy. My daughter is always happy and eager to go each day. The curriculum level is a full year above the public schools, and any behavioral issues are quickly and properly addressed. The class sizes are small and my child is receiving the individual attention she would not get if she were attending a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

An institutional "stuffed shirt". The culture and atmosphere there is profoundly uptight and overly pompous. What lies beneath is a faculty with very few degrees in Education. And, a curriculum that is scripted. they seem to believe they can hire "anyone" to come read the script. That's a low-quality education, cloaked in a nice buiding, and pompous culture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

My child attended this school for about 5 months--after which we pulled him out because he was coming home VERY anxious each day. He also began obsessing about doing "something wrong". And worrying about his teacher getting mad at him. He is a well-behaved boy. And never ran this kind of anxiety before. We did pull him out & put him in another private school--where he was immediately much happier. Ivy Hall may be a good match for some. But, as a parent, I would recommend thoroughly checking it out (beyond a guided tour of their nice building). They strive to make a first impression that conveys more individualized learning, and strict rules about bullying, etc ... Which is all fine and good. They also do a good job of keeping parents involved in curriculum and learning. But, after attending (5-months), we found it cold and overly strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

This is a amazing pool. the diving board to the swim class. I just love it.


Posted February 5, 2010

My daughter was stressed out at Ivy Hall. She is happy go lucky now that she is in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

They put on a good show for the parents. The director is stressed out and has a very cold demeanor. Not at all worth the money. The building is nice though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter attended this school for 3 years. During which time I was sure she was receiving an advanced curriculum. But, when she started public school in 9th grade, guess what?? She was behind. In the end, I don't believe she was well-served by this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

Ivy Hall has been the best school for our children. It encourages responsibility and caring. My children have excelled academically and socially. The teachers have been so personal and caring. The leadership in incredible. They make changes when they need to be made for the good of the students. The teachers are amazing! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

I am passionate about Ivy Hall Academy! My son has excelled in SO many ways since starting here. My son was in numerous fights in public school and now at Ivy Hall, his peers are his family. His grades have soared! I am so happy with the well rounded curriculum and numerous activities and sheer patriotism displayed and encouraged at Ivy Hall. Bringing my son to Ivy Hall was the best decision I have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

The teachers don't stay long. Some of them don't even make it through the school year. When you are paying $500. plus a month, you would hope to see some stabilaty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

Great school. Their one main drawback--they stop at grade eight and we had to leave. Very well run, very financially stable, very clean and nice facility. A willingness to listen and teach to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I have two children in Junior High at Ivy Hall, they have been there since Pre K. Ivy Hall is one of the best decisions we have made concerning our children. They are having a much more in depth, accelerated, and more rounded education than their non Ivy Hall friends. Improper behavior and language are not permitted. It is not uncommon to see older childen show concern and care for younger children. I know that Ivy Hall is playing a large role in helping shape my children into productive, caring, well learned individuals. There is a great atmosphere there! I cannot say enough good about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

My child has attended Ivy Hall Academy for the past three years. I have nothing but profuse praise for the teachers, principal, curriculum and facility! The students receive tremendous amounts of individual attention. There is great emphasis on reading. Students are challenged while being treated with respect. There are high expectations for good behavior. Bad language and mean behavior are not tolerated. There is a wonderful spirit of camaraderie among students, parents, staff and faculty. I give the highest recommendation for Ivy Hall Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

I love having my kids at Ivy Hall. The expectations are high, and the students are motivated by excellent teachers. Good behavior is the norm, kids are used to rigorous academics, and I feel confident that my children are being well prepared for high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

I love this school! The curriculum level is a full year above the public schools, children are given extra attention because of the small class sizes, respect and good behavior are strongly encouraged. The teachers keep in close contact with parents and any issues are quickly addressed. The faculty all know my children and they know me and I feel among friends when I visit the school. I'm so glad we found Ivy Hall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

My children attend Ivy Hall, and I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of the education they are getting. One child is in junior high, which can be a very difficult age, but he LOVES school! The teachers are very in tune with my kids and what they can do to motivate them to excell. Student behavior is well-monitored--and I love that teachers don't allow students to speak negatively about others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

Our son attended Ivy Hall when they were located in the Ridge Athletic Club. He made the comment, 'I learned more at Ivy Hall in one year than all the years before at public school.' He loved the teachers, the subjects taught, his confidence soared - he was very happy there and definitely excelled beyond what we ever expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 78%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1598 W 820 N
Provo, UT 84601
Phone: (801) 356-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Freedom Academy
Provo, UT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT