Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

D and K Day Care/Preschool

Private | PK-2, 4

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Riverton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $244,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

My son has done daycare, preschool and kindergarten. The teachers are always in such a great mood and so fun. I love the big yard and that they spend so much time outside. He learns so much and really has grown because of the wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

I have worked at dk for 7 years. The directors are great. They love the children and expect only the best from the teachers. I have my two children at the center also I wouldn't take them anywhere else. They do teach love and logic the relationship with my kids has improved because of what the directors have taught me. A recent reviewer wrote they don't potty train this is false I can accredit both my kids being potty trained to dk. I for one am glad they require pull ups until the kids r completely ready. Who wants their kids playing on soiled carpet. Most of the parents we have at dk came to dk when they were little and now they bring their kids. Call and get references from people who have been their years anyone can write a review call and ask for references u will find most people have had their children with dk from infants to school age. Alot of their after school workers are former dk students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 24, 2012

This is a terrible daycare! I have worked with children for over ten years and have never experienced workers and a director that were as rude and unorganized. I was hired by them and in my first day quit and left within the hour, with my two year old son hyperventilating and crying. They are lazy and don't want to potty train children; My child is dry in the day and they said he had to put on pull ups, stating it is state law to use only pull-ups; this is not so and they should have proper body fluid cleaning kits for such accidents. When I asked to put one on him and explain to my child he would still need to tell them when he needed to go potty, they said I couldn't go in the room because it would undermine the teacher. (Remember, my son has known them less than ten minutes) .At nap time the worker was unfriendly and didn't even try to make my son feel comfortable. Children were sobbing and no-one seemed to care. When I worked in daycare before, we would put on soft music and sing a song to let the children help us set out mats, and if they were sad we would sit by them and rub their back and calm them. They say they teach Love and Logic but they certainly don't practice it.


Posted February 19, 2012

Love this Daycare! My husband and I love this place! Don't believe the reviews. I have been taking my kids to D&K for years. My oldest is in high school and my baby is 2. It's a shame people have been so nasty about this place. Most of the staff have been there for years, and they love the kids. My daughter had a dance recital this past december, her teacher and the director both came to watch. My son also plays soccer and they both came to see him play. They plan fun activities each week for the kids and my kids love it there. The directors are taking the kids to IHOP this week for a fun surprise. I love the family atmosphere and the genuine attention they give to each of my kids. They are concerned about the kids and me as well. Whenever i have had a problem it was fixed immediately. Don't believe the reviews these ladies are genuine they take time out of there personal lives to attend my kids activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

duuff hi people your brains will be lost at d and k ok ko ok


Posted December 28, 2011

This is the best daycare I have ever experienced. The teachers care about the children and they make sure the parents are involved. I also had a daughter in the Kindergarten, and when she started 1st grade, she was above average. At Christmas time they always have a Santa Claus come to the school to visit each and every student. The students get to interact with Santa Claus and receive a present from him. My kids are excited to go to school everyday and learn. I would highly recommend D&K Daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

D&K is the worst daycare I have ever seen. First of all, my daughter's clothes were bleached. Shouldn't they make sure the changing table is dry before changing the babies' clothes? Furthermore, my baby would not drink her formula when she was there. They told me that they just couldn't get her to drink her formula. Sometimes she only got to drink 1 oz of formula per day. I told them to try it again an hour later and they told me that she would have to wait for another 4 hours because that's the state regulation. So I tried to make sure that I heard it right by saying that then she would have to go hungry then. And to my surprise, they insisted, "that's the state regulation". Are you kidding me? She was only 8 months old. As soon as I took her to the other daycare(Skool days), she was drinking her formula just fine. The care takers did have to sing to her and rock her before she would drink her formula for the first few days. But she was eating just fine there. You can clearly see D&K is only in for money. They don't care about your kids. I would NOT recommend D&K to any parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

This daycare hid inappropriate misconduct amongst children and when brought to their attention began harassing the child whose parent brought it forward. Non-apologetic, not concerned about childrens safety. Only concerned about their money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

D and K adycare is truely the best. My daughter has been going there since she was 4 months old and she is 1. She has learned so much and the teachers are the best. I rate this daycare as number 1. My daughter loves going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

D & K is the BEST!! My daughter went to their Kindergarten(and daycare) and has never loved going somewhere so much every day! All the teachers are awesome, and she is entering 1st grade on a 2nd grade reading and math level
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Latter Day Saints

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4585 West 13400 South
Riverton, UT 84096
Phone: (801) 254-8850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Foothills School
Riverton, UT


Silver Crest School
Herriman, UT


Rose Creek School
Riverton, UT


Providence Hall
Herriman, UT


Herriman School
Herriman, UT


Midas Creek School
Riverton, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT