Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview School

Public | K-6 | 453 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2013

They have wonderful programs! and have been amazing in the recourse department for my son. I love sending my kids there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

A year and a half ago my comments would have been about same as those posted by the parent on 1/8/12. We ended up pulling our child from the school. This year after visiting several charter school and Lakeview we decided to give Lakeview a second chance. I have been amazed at the changes that have taken place in just a year at this school. The teachers are much more attentive to the kids. The teachers seem happier and that is reflecting back to the students. My children's teachers have gone the extra mile to help them be successful. The principal Mrs. Passey is wonderful. She is kind to the children. She is professional in IEP's and other meetings. She doesn't talk down to parents. I personally have seen her helping children in the lunchroom. I have seen her helping countless students zip up coats and put on gloves as they head out to recess after lunch. I have been blown away that she is out in the snow every morning helping students cross the street safely. I could go on and on. I feel confident in recommending this school. I went into the year very cautious but I am very HAPPY with what I have seen and experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

Last year I was increadibly dissapointed with the teachers at this school! A prime example of what I saw last year was at an after school pirate day that I went to with my daughter. It was supposed to be all fun and cute, but so many of the teachers had terrible attitudes. There was one little boy who waited in a face painting line just to say hello to his teacher, and when he was the next kid in line (with the child ahead of him in a chair getting their face painted) he went ahead and said hi, and the teacher actually ROLLED HER EYES AND TURNED HER BACK to him. That was her only response! He was so crestfallen that he slunk away. If you dislike children so much, DON'T BE A TEACHER! Leave it to the people who can actually stand children, and have some social graces. Other examplesl include my daughter getting sent home for small and petty things, like writing on her shoes. That is a problem for me. Since I don't have a problem with washable ink, why should you? This year, with my daughter getting what seems like the only decent teacher in the school, I am a much happier parent. Overall, though, this school gets a big thumbs down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

My daughter has went to Lakeview since kindergarten and it has been awsome.. the first yr though I wasent very impressed with the principal he was very unkind but with the new principal the last two yrs she is awsome and the kids seem to love her.. The teachers are good. Reading and focussing on character building and bully policy is very good..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

I think Lakeview is a good school, but needs to improve on some safety problems. There could also be more parent involvement at the school. We don't have enough parents getting involved in classroom and after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

I have now had children at Lakeview for 4 years. I think that the Pricipal is absolutly wonderful. They have been more than helpful on security and watching over the children. The activities they have added over the last two years keep me and my family very busy. The teachers have been great and make it a point to know me and my children. Unfortuanatly since so many parents work the leval of parental involment seems to be low. However the parents that do participate do so almost every day. From walking the kids across the street to working in the classrooms and even taking work home with them to help the teachers spend more quality time with the kids. I love Lakeview and intend to stay here untill my children are out of elementry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2006

As a parent for 3 years now, I have found that all the teachers are great. They all seem to really and truly care about the student. I do wish that their were more activies for the younger grades. As they seem to be left out a lot. As with the a comment about the prinipal, any time that I have had a problem, it has been taken care of in a very timely matter. Sometimes before I get to him, it has been taken care of. The class sizes are small, the teacher a wonderful. All around I feel very lucky that we got our start here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I also feel that the teachers are extremely open and willing to make any changes that are necessary to better our school, although the principal tells you what you want to hear, and is unwilling to make the effort. The PTA has made great strides this year in making a difference for this school. But it is hard to get parents involved because the principal does not try to keep parents informed and does not value their opinions. He listens and then does nothing so it makes them feel like their opinion does not matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

I had one child whom attended Lakeview Elementary. The teachers have proven to be exceptionally great and very involved with their students on a positive level. Although the teachers are top notch, the principal has proven to be uncaring and unconcered with students' needs and their educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 77%
Hispanic 24% 15%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Black 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2025 West 5000 South
Roy, UT 84067
Phone: (801) 452-4380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Roy School
Roy, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT