Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Hills Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
I don't believe there is much homework except for projects. And who cares how much homework there is because our children don't have books to use as resource.

Desert Hills Middle School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
There is no persistence. Excuses get everyone through. If a child doesn't get a assignment turned in on time it should be an f. But we let kids play excuses and let them have grades instead of earning them. What is going to happen in real world when there deadline has approached and there not done. Blames someone else.


Desert Hills Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
No they want everyone to conform to a certain standard and if you don't then your wrong. Religion should not play a role in educating our children but it does. This is academics not church

Desert Hills Middle School 3

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
I have not found anything great about this school. I have signed up for everything possible through parent portal and still can not follow or see a teachers plan. No comments by teachers. No contact with parents at all treat children as adults don't even include parents when scheduling for following year. This is not what I expected from this school.

Desert Hills Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
I have never gotten this feeling from the school. The staff are annoyed by questions call counsellors with problems about a class they push you off to someone else. There is no take responsibility in staff. If staff don't care then our children won't either.


Desert Hills Middle School 1

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
Really...?? People love this school? It seems like the teachers w/ the time under their belts are just going through the motions. The few great teachers are young and newer... but overall I think it's terrible. Not to mention that there is no real curriculum you can follow, no calender of what is happening in class, no teachers plan, no accountability. Maybe I'm expecting too much, but the classes are A day and B day, so it's not like the staff teaches the same class 5 days a week. You'd think that for parents and students sake a basic outline could be created. I was met with excuses and impatience when I asked a couple teachers about it... 'well, every student is at a different level' ... I don't know what that has to do with their lesson plan. Utah is supposedly going to "core curriculum" this year, but my child is coloring in 8th grade math, has no book and who knows what's happening in English. I don't, but it isn't reading. No book assignments. It also isn't vocab or parts of speech or anything else remotely related to what kids need when they attend college. It seems like most of the staff is just going through the motions... sad and frustrating for us.

Desert Hills Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2010
- a parent
Fantastic faculty and staff! Great school experience for my children. Desert Hills Middle School has been the best school my children have attended.

Desert Hills Middle School 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a student
I love this school out of all the schools I've been to. (and trust me that's a lot)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Hills Middle School
936 East Desert Hills Dr, Saint George, UT  84790
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (435) 628-0001
Last modified Desert Hills Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 8-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top