Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The McGillis School

Private | K-8 | 356 students

Our School is best known for its community, strong academics, and ethics.

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $217,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2009

My child has had an excellent experience at the McGillis school. The quality of teachers is top notch, and the teachers really like teaching there. They could earn more in the Public School system, but stay at McGillis because of the kids and the support they receive from the administration. The whole concept of 'learning to learn' has worked very well for my son, and this has been a great fit for both him and us (his parents.) Can't say enough good things about the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

We have been affiliated with the McGillis School since 1998. I have an 11th grader and a 9th grader who attended McGillis since 1st grade. They are all A students in the rigorous and academically challenging International Baccaureate program at West High. I firmly believe that their years at the McGillis School gave them a strong foundation upon which to build. McGillis' innovative curriculum, small class size, and fabulous speciality classes (language, arts, music, PE, service learning) allowed my two oldest to thrive and excel. In addition to my teenagers, I have a 4th grader at McGillis. He loves going to school, loves learning and loves his teachers and friends. The warmth and caring of the administrative staff, the incredible teaching professionals, and the fabulous families at the school all harmonize to provide an environment of learning, love and laughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I have 2 children who currently attend the McGillis School. The school has been a wonderful experience for our family. The teachers are the main reason we return each year--they are committed, experienced, and fabulous role models for the students. The administration is supportive and dedicated to the success of the school. My children have thrived in this environment since first grade and continue to thrive every day. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My children thrive at McGillis. The teachers are top-notch. The student-teacher ratio is great (11 to 1). The administration is visionary and committed. Most of all, the school is a community -- a caring, dynamic, intellectual, connected group of famlies, youth, and professionals coming together for the good of the children. I highly recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

What I like about the McGillis School is its focus on the love of learning. I choose to send my children to McGillis because it is the right fit for not only my children, but our family. The whole school community -students, teachers, administration, parents- is engaged in the process of learning. Because of the small class sizes, the teachers get to know my children and their learning styles. They individualize the curriculum to meet their needs. I have one child who struggles with reading - the teacher and I meet regularly about our plan to meet her needs. Children who excel academically are challenged to explore concepts in depth rather than just do more work or 'move up.' The teachers stress critical thinking skills and develop hands-on learning activities. My children are happy and they love to go to school every day. McGillis is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I've had a great experience with The McGillis School. My kids have grown academically and socially, and have been engaged and loving school even when they're ahead of their academic grade level. My graduate was well prepared for honors and AP classes in high school. Classes are small and include teacher aides in the elementary school. Most important, the kids are learning how to be great citizens, through service projects from raking leaves for shut ins to making brownie mix to raise money for the Food Bank. I hope the families who have made some of these posts have discussed their concerns with their teachers and administration - every time I have brought a concern forward, it has been addressed in a positive and professional way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

We went there for one year and were not very happy. They cater mostly to the parents who donate lots of money and don't require students to do much beyond the grade-level work, which is disappointing. There is also not much diversity. Pretty much wealthy parents who don't want to participate much in their child's education. My suggestion: save the tuition money, send your kids to public school and take the money you saved and go travel - D.C., Grand Canyon, Oregon - they will learn much more that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I have my son going here, and this year am upset. I may look else where next year. They have no set reading books for the kids! and i cant see how the kids are learning to read most by sight. It has been a month into the year and my son has not brought home one math paper are read one time to his teacher. I think they care more about asking parents all the time for money then teaching are kids! i paid for the year already and feel a little stuck. I have had to have him go to another school in the eveing just to get some edcation. So sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

As a parent of one of the older children, I would have to say that the McGillis middle school is academically weak. It is simply not worth the money spent on tuition. I didn't feel that the environment was nurturing either. My child as well as other children were ostracized throughout the past year by their peers. Nothing was ever done to discipline the guilty party, since their parents either donated large sums of money to school or belonged to the main religious community of the school. There was also problems with thefts of school mateials and student belongings. I will say however, that the lower school was run a bit more efficiently than the middle school, but not by much. My suggestion is to look somewhere else to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

McGillis has low teacher - student ratios. They have lots of offerings for kids - art, language, PE, and recently added music. The teachers are good. But they cannot accommodate kids who are above their grade level. Their answer was to give them more work that was purely review or too easy for them. They ask for a lot of money - on top of tuition, which is annoying. We've found that for the money it is not worth it. We'll take the 8k+, go to public school and do fun extra trips, activities, projects, etc. I have found that for kids who are struggling socially or are below their grade level in reading and math it is a great place because of the support and small class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

McGillis School is a good private school. The teachers are good and there is a low ratio of students to teachers. Each class has a teacher and an assistant. There are lots of specialty classes - art, ethics and cultures, language, PE - but no music, which is disappointing. They also don't have much in the way of supporting kids who are above their classmates in math or spelling. My daughter wanted to figure out the square root of 167. She was often bored and asked why she needs to learn math that she learned at 5 in a montessori preschool. So I supplement at home, but disappointing that we spend the money and they can't accommodate. There are other kids in the same situation and I hope that they fix it soon, otherwise, we'll have to find another place for my first grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

The McGillis School is a wonderful school with nurturing teachers and a stimulating learning environment. Students participate in service learning as part of the curriculum, which involves giving back to the community. Spanish and Hebrew are offered to students at each grade level. The teachers are very supportive and the parents are for the most part, very involved in the school. The only criticism I have is that the school has no extracurricular sports, clubs, or music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 77%
Two or more races 9% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Matt Culberson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Independent
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (801) 583-0720

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • High School counseling
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Ice hockey
  • Kickball
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Kickball
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • First Lego League
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
74
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
116
Students typically come from these schools
Bright Horizons Preschool
JCC
Community Cooperative PreSchool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$11000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Carson Smith Scholarship monies

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Judge Memorial Catholic High School
West IB
Rowland Hall
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

668 South 1300 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 583-0094

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Salt Lake City, UT


Rowland Hall
Salt Lake City, UT


M Lynn Bennion School
Salt Lake City, UT


Uintah School
Salt Lake City, UT


Emerson School
Salt Lake City, UT


Bonneville School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT