Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Rim Academy

Charter | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

This is our first year at the school. We transferred at the beginning of the school year and are very happy with the choice! Everyone welcomed us with open arms. Kids adjusted fairly quickly. Teachers have been wonderful. Knowledgable and passionate. Administration has been great. Parents are great as well. We already feel like we are part of the family. Last, but not least, there has been a significant improvement in kids academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

We have had kids in CRA for 6 years now. We have never had a "bad" teacher. The administration is great and truly get to know every student AND their family. The teachers have been great to individualize the work to challenge my kids who perform above grade level. There is also a ton of parent involvement. We love this school so much we drive over 15 miles each way so our kids can go here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

We LOVE CRA!! The faculty and staff are so friendly and accommodating. I volunteer weekly in the school and see hands-on the teaching method here. It's wonderful, they can cater everything to each child's level. We are so grateful for everyone at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

My child attended CRA for 3 years. I found the teacher to be unconcerned with her overall performance and held her to lower standards than the district schools did. The administration seemed unconcerned with solving minor issues, especially behavioral. I saw an inconstancy between teachers. There were "good" teachers and "bad" teachers. I found this disturbing b/c charter schools have the freedom to hold teachers and students to a higher standard. I found district schools to be much more consistent and a higher quality education. My overall experience was negative and disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

We have loved our experience at Canyon Rim. Not only is there a strong focus on core requirements of math, language arts, science and social studies there is an emphasis on the arts. Children go to art, computers, music and PE with teachers that specifically teach these subjects. There are many extra opportunities for the kids with an annual Shakespeare play for 5 & 6 grade and an annual musical play, service club, jump rope team etc. There is an overall feel of higher values that is demonstrated among the faculty, the students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

Canyon Rim Academy is the BEST! The faculty is top-notched and great to work with. The curriculum is probably their strongest point. They are teaching Envision Math supplemented with Singapore Strategies, they teach Core Knowledge which aligns to the state core curriculum. They have a PE teacher, art teachers, music teachers, and computer teacher that enhances the curriculum and gives the students professional training in specialized areas. The administration is second to none. I have never had a problem working with them, or working out a concern. They address them professionally and quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

Canyon Rim is a good school on many counts. The parental involvement is unprecedented and there is a level of comfort and safety that creates a comfortable atmosphere. Not all the teachers are created equal, but some have been excellent in their devotion to my children's success. Bullying is not tolerated and the dress code is inspired. Their claim to follow E.D. Hirsch's core knowledge curriculum is genuine, but not terribly accurate. They loosely follow the core knowledge sequence. The school was closed and re-opened as a charter school with neighborhood parents on the board, which lends itself to a "neighborhood school feel".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My children went to this school for 2 years. I found the administration to be uncooperative and not interested in helping resolve minor issues. I didn't find that the education offered by them was any better than our local school. Our experience with Canyon Rim was a very negative one overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Canyon Rim Academy is a charter school on the east bench of Salt Lake City. My daughter has enjoyed the learning environment and positive attitude of her teachers. I highly recommend learning more about this school at canyonrimacademy.org
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 77%
Hispanic 8% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A48%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3005 South 2900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
Phone: (801) 474-2066

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montessori Of Salt Lake
Salt Lake City, UT


Rosecrest School
Salt Lake City, UT


Reid School
Salt Lake City, UT


The Gate School
Salt Lake City, UT


Eastwood School
Salt Lake City, UT


Central Region Deaf
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT