Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Elizabeth Academy

Private | PK-7 | 150 students

We are an inclusive private non-profit Montessori school for ages 2 - 12.
 
 

 
 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 24 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2014

We love Elizabeth Academy. We love the school, the teachers... the Montessori approach and the benefits our children get from Inclusion. Every child has special needs... because we are all individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The Elizabeth Academy has been a great place for both my "normal" developing daughter and my son that has verbal apraxia. The teachers are loving, very educated and passionate about their jobs. This is a great place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Elizabeth Academy is an awesome school because it focuses so much attention on the child. Their model of integrating special needs children in the classroom is remarkable and adds to the non-educational education of both non-special needs and special needs students. Their constant efforts to teach respect for others to the students is a value all schools could benefit from. The facilities are top notch! I'm very grateful to have my children as students at Elizabeth Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Great child to teacher ratio. Not only is my daughter receiving a great, Pre-K education, she is also learning great life skills and responsibility, she is taught to prepare snacks, clean up and serve others. Elizabeth academy is an amazing first step in her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This has been the greatest decision we ever made. My daughter that was born with Down syndrome. She is 9 years old and has gross and fine motor skills delays but her biggest challenge is a speech delay. Elizabeth academy provides speech services and also music therapy. This has benefited our daughter in many ways, verbally, emotionally and physically. We had a little hesitation by not knowing how she would respond to the difference type of education. The staff is fabulous. They all know her and greet her. They care about her well being and are always changing things right away when she seems to show signs of regression. She loves it, we love it. Best decision we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

As an education professional with over 25 years of experience, I can honestly say that Elizabeth Academy is setting the standard for schools in Utah and across the nation. Everything about Elizabeth Academy...from the state of the art facility, to the highly qualified teaching staff, to the thoughtfully integrated art experiences, is top notch. The inclusive aspect of the school benefits all students, and the services are provided to ensure that all of the students' needs are met. At Elizabeth Academy, the children are respected and each student is guided to reach his or her full potential. On top of that, Elizabeth Academy students LOVE school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

I can't imagine our children attending any other school. Our son and daughter have learned so much at Elizabeth Academy, but most of all, we see their growing confidence and independence. The Elizabeth Academy has given them a foundation for self-directed learning that we believe will always frame their outlook on life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Elizabeth Academy is so wonderful! My kids are so happy to go to school each day and each of their teachers have such love and respect for the kids. I wasn't sold on Montessori at first but, honestly wouldn't have my kids learn any other way!! Inclusion is the way to go. It has taught much more than just patients but what friendships are all about. We are all the same yet so different. Love this amazing school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I have two grandchildren attending Elizabeth Academy and they both have excelled beyond expectations. They love learning, and their teachers; and the environment with students of all abilities (mentally and physically) together in one classroom has made them more aware and more compassionate toward others. The Montessori method of teaching and learning has been a great benefit to them.


Posted April 15, 2014

My Children's school is amazing! Not only is the teacher to student ratio amazing but the teachers really care about what level my child is on and helping them onto that next level along with the help of other peers in their classroom. Montessori teaching is really amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

My daughter was badly bullied at her last private school (by the students AND the teachers). I suspect this was due to her high-functioining autism & resulting inability to relate to kiddos her own age. It got so bad that my daughter's therapist finally recommended that we pull her out of school before the year ended, so she wouldn't have to suffer anymore. Elizabeth Academy is different -- the kiddos in my daughter's class work daily on being accepting of others with special needs. This has greatly improved my daughter's self-image. This is not to say that there are never any problems between the children, but any issues are promptly addressed, & the children are encouraged to handle it among themselves, with the gentle guidance of the 3 amazing classroom teachers!! Thanks Elizabeth Academy for having the guts to approach things differently, for the sake of our special kiddos!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

the Elizabeth academy is the best school for children's development hands down because the teachers truly care for the students and, help each other to develop the curriculum for the specific child as a team thus involving a personalized panel of experts for every student. Other public schools are inadequate next to this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

The Elizabeth Academy is amazing. It's a leading edge Montessori with the best teachers and staff. My Daughter has flourished with there style and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

This is an incredible school. Such diverse and rich learning opportunities are provided for students from all walks of life. This is a unique learning environment that caters to the needs of every student, and further provides a challenging curriculum that is years ahead of what would be seen in public schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2014

I love working at Elizabeth Academy! Our facility is absolutely beautiful and we have a highly dedicated, very intelligent and talented staff who love what they do and are passionate about the mission of the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2014

The dedication from all staff at Elizabeth Academy could not be com paired to anything else. I have two children that attend EA and beam each day coming and going to school. From academics to the arts I could not be more thrilled that EA is even a possibility for all children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I love this school. My daughter is incredibly happy and loves the incorporation of dance, art and music to teach science and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Elizabeth Academy is an excellent school - what makes it so are the dedicated and passionate teachers and their constant wish to learn, adapt and improve to the benefit of our children. My five year old reads well above grade level and does math well beyond Kindergarten - probably more in line with my nephew who is in the second grade....I love the approach where students learn to be leaders, mentors and community-oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

It's a great school and I would highly recommend it! My daughter has been going to the school for two years and will go next year. I like the newly renovated school. Three teachers teach 20 students in her class, which is a very good teacher-student ratio. No other Montessori school has that good ratio. She enjoys learning through the methods and curriculum and is way ahead comparing with the same age group. She loves the school and her teachers very much! The tuition is high but it's worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Elizabeth Academy has a wonderful approach to teaching children. They truly follow the Montessori concept. I love that this school teaches children academic, social, self esteem and coping skills while in a positive environment. My son goes and comes from the school happy almost every single day. I could not ask for a better education and situation for him. Thank you Elizabeth Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Gail Williamsen, Executive Director
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • American Montessori Society
Associations
  • AMS
  • MEPI
Fax number
  • (801) 485-1093

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Service learning
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Speech Therapy, Music Therapy
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • Elizabeth Academy is a Member School of the American Montessori Society and the Utah Montessori Council. We guide young people in developing the skills to be successful in life: initiative, concentration, critical thinking, problem-solving, teamwork, respect, responsibility, empathy, and the desire to “give back” through service. Our students are encouraged to ask questions, learn how to find answers, and process information for real understanding.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Carson Smith Scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2870 S Connor Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 281-4848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central Region Deaf
Salt Lake City, UT


Rosecrest School
Salt Lake City, UT


The Gate School
Salt Lake City, UT


Redeemer Lutheran School
Salt Lake City, UT


Highland Park School
Salt Lake City, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT