Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bennion School

Public | K-6 | 676 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2010

This is my favorite school! I was there for 4 years and I have known almost all the teachers due to my brothers. So, I know they are very nice! This school givs good eductaion and a fair principle.


Posted May 24, 2007

My children have attended Bennion Elementary since they started kindergarten. They are currently in the 3rd and 5th grade. I have only positive things to say about Bennion. The teachers have always been very professional and keep the lines of communication open. The kids seem to be well behaved and that is a direct reflection of the parent involvement and the quality of teachers at Bennion. The environment at Bennion is one that is conducive to teaching and learning. My kids really enjoy the school and love the teachers. Bennion Elementary is a Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Bennion is a great school! Mr. Layton is a very 'hands on' principal and the children seem to really like him. Bennion has great parental support and for the most part, the teacher are great. Many of them have been there for years and seem to have a sense of ownership for the school and it's students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

My child is new to this school this year and she was very nervous. Mrs. Jones made her feel very welcome & she just loves this school now. It has only been a few weeks since school has started, but i feel she will do well. I really think parents also need to look at how there children listen to the rules & follow them. Then they wouldn't always blame the school & the teachers. I feel children can have their problems too. My daughter has told me about a few kids that she thinks are really bad in her class already, cause they are never listening to the teacher. Parents need to help the teachers out and keep an eye on their children. Trust me when my daughter told me this I wasn't shocked cause at her old school she had her problems too. Work with them not against them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

I am very dissapointed to see any negative reviews on Bennion Elementary. I think sometimes parents blame the school for their own child's problem. I attended Bennion Elementary 20 years ago and there are many of the same teachers still there. My children attend there now. I couldn't be more happy with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

though Bennion has a few great teachers. including Ms. Hansen And Ms. Richards. The rest need to learn that kids can be kids. The teachers there are very strict. Little accidents are blown way out of proportion by them. the kids don't even get a chance to explain before they are sent home or put in detention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2005

I think that if bennion Elementary would not be so worried about winning all of this states awards, then they would realize that the students are actually suffering from social graces. and it is really taking a toll on their physcology. the students would not be so lacking of social graces. All of the teachers at bennion are totally just stressed out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

I loved bennion elementry the staff wonderfull and my kids really loved there teachers they had great after school programs and my daughter loved chess club. After we moved my children had a hard time with all there other schools I also had a hard time finding a good reading program like bennion's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 77%
Hispanic 19% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5775 South Sierra Grande Dr
Salt Lake City, UT 84118
Phone: (385) 646-4774

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westbrook School
Taylorsville, UT


Calvin S. Smith School
Taylorsville, UT


Fox Hills Magnet School
Salt Lake City, UT


Fox Hills School
Salt Lake City, UT


Arcadia School
Taylorsville, UT


Vista School
Taylorsville, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT