Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public
Salt Lake City, UT

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cottonwood High School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
i have had two kids go to this school and i do not like it at all! the lunch is so crowded they cannot eat at school, lunch is not long enough to feed that many kids in that amount of time! the teachers do not email me back, i have asked question after question and nothing for a whole year from some! i go to teacher nights and they say i never got that email, im sorry then still never answer emails! the office ladies are never in a good mood, the attendance office acts as if your child is in trouble for being sick or if you forget to call and excuse it...look out! Good luck on getting into the counseling center and once you do they tell you all kinds of great ideas and ahve no idea who your child is and never check in with them again. good luck in high school at cottonwood!

Cottonwood High School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Was worried about great school ratings but found this school to be far better than neighboring high schools with high ratings. Moved here from a top 50 nationally ranked hs and switched to cottonwood after two years at Olympus which was a very toxic environment with kids who think they have a lot of money and behave like spoiled brats above the law with no manners. Cottonwood has a ton of diversity, great honors and ap teachers, a phenomenal principal and counselors. Much more like the real world at this school which better trains our kids!


Cottonwood High School 5

Posted October 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cottonwood High School 5

Posted January 31, 2008
- a student
This school is amazing! The Administration, teachers, and students are wonderful! Its very diverse, but everyone gets along. It isn't a clicky school and the great majority of students feel accepted. Its a come as you are school, everyone is just chill. The academics, sports, and all other activities are top in their game! Go Colts! <3

Cottonwood High School 5

Posted October 29, 2007
- a student
Cottonwood is a great school. The students are all so friendly and nice. The sports are great. The drama program is amazing. The Music department is also amazing. Better than most high schools you would see. The teachers are great and there is a wide selection of classes to take. The assemblies are cool and really fun. I had a blast while I went ot this school.
1 person found this helpful


Cottonwood High School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
I think Cottonwood High is a great school. The teachers really care about these kids and put everything into teaching them. The school has a lot of diversity, this helps these kids to be more accepting of other ethnicities. The principal and staff are incredible and very accessible and will do whatever they can to help when needed.
1 person found this helpful

Cottonwood High School 5

Posted September 01, 2005
- a former student
I just graduated, and this is a great school. The teachers are excellent, and all of the academic programs are great. The teachers are some of the best, and some students even came from other schools to take classes with the teachers. The teachers are very helpful, and know what they are doing. The AP classes are well taught, and the college credit (CC) classes make it possible to be even more prepared for college. I entered college with 30+ college credits and 30+ AP credits. The teachers work with you to make sure you pass the AP tests, including many optional after school sessions as the test nears. Athletics are good, and the football team is getting better. Extracurricular opportunities are plentiful. The teachers make the class more interesting with their stories/experiments/jokes/ and occasional date tips that deal with physics.

Cottonwood High School 4

Posted August 19, 2005
- a student
The quality of academic programs is great. The students have oppurtunities to take many upper level classes. Art, music and sports are readily available to any student--upper levels or lower levels.


Cottonwood High School 3

Posted August 25, 2003
- a former student
This is a good academic school. But the students are not taught basic interaction skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cottonwood High School
5715 South 1300 East, Salt Lake City, UT  84121
(385) 646-5264
Last modified Cottonwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cottonwood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top