Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olympus High School

Public | 10-12 | 1454 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

Good honors classes and a great softball program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

I attended Oly for the the better part of my junior year. I loved it! It is a very welcoming and laid back school. I have since moved to a new school for my senior year, and while it is highly rated academically, I'm not feeling it with my peeps here. I believe Olympus' relaxed atmosphere fosters a greater love of learning while reducing stress. Those Mormons sure are welcoming!!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

My son just graduated last year and I have nothing but good to say. He had a great time his high school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I think it is a very lovely high school. I recommend it to every one who would like there son/daughdar to go there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I love this school so much. I am a student who went to that school. I wasn't there very long, but I felt welcome immediately. The students and staff are some of the friendliest people I've ever known. I was moved out of that school because we moved to Texas... the school I'm at down here is absolutely nothing compared to Olympus. If you have a chance to enroll your child in Olympus, DO IT! You'll appreciate everything about that school. It's the best I've ever been at, and it's hard to find better. I miss it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2005

Olympus offers a high quality academic atmosphere for students. Students consistently score in the top 1-2% The wide availability of Advance Placement courses and extracurricular activities provides many opportunities for students. Teachers, parents and a strong community involvement help make this happen. The campus is clean and well maintained. All of this comes together for the student to experience excellence in education, which is the hallmark of Olympus High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

I loved Olympus mainly on account of the incredibly friendly atmosphere, which is the most important thing in a school -- at least to the student. It's what makes those long hours bearable! There are very few social cliques, it's easy to get along with people (including students, faculty and staff), etc. I would love to see my kids go there! Not to mention, they have wonderful and successful extra-curricular opportunities, which is very important, especially at a time when such things seem to be suffering so much. And I ask, what better mascot is there than the Titans!? I recommend Olympus with no hesitation.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
18%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
39%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
78%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
24%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 78%
Hispanic 6% 15%
Asian 4% 2%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4055 South 2300 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84124
Phone: (385) 646-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Skyline High School
Salt Lake City, UT



Blind Region 2
Salt Lake City, UT


Anchor Christian Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


Granite Peaks High School
Salt Lake City, UT


Newcomer Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT