Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,440 students|Granite District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Skyline High School 3

Posted December 03, 2015
- a student
Overall, Skyline is a good school, but avoid the science department like the plague, especially Biology and Physics. The English and History teachers make up for the deficits in the science classes.

Skyline High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 03, 2015
- a student
Mr. Clough was a fantastic teacher: animated, effective, kind, and fair. He singlehandedly made European History my favorite class.


Skyline High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 03, 2015
- a student
The science department is pretty bad, but teachers in the English and History departments are fantastic, with a few exceptions.

Skyline High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
I would like to say a huge thanks to Mr. Kruger (Christopher), because he really helped me realize what I can do and who I can be. He also helped to keep me driven, and even though he was a pain at times, you can always tell how much he cares and wants his student to succeed.

Skyline High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
It is a lot, but it is a great thing in the long run. It really prepares you for the work load in college, and develops great time management for most.


Skyline High School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
I went to Skyline High School from the years of 2012-2015 for the IB and AP programs. The teachers were wonderful, and the administration really care about the students attending this high school. Class sizes can be a bit overwhelming, but the teachers do their best to make up for it. Not only is the environment at Skyline welcoming, but it's also a place where you can tell the students want to succeed (of course, there are deviations from this trend). I now attend the University of Utah's Honors College, and this school and the programs prepared me well for college. My only complaint would have to be my lack of knowledge when it comes to translating IB Diploma credit to college credit. I would definitely look into this beforehand, and understand exactly why you're wanting to join the program, and what it can do for you.

Skyline High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a student
Honestly, Skyline High School is a great place for any kind of student. I'm not saying this as someone who is popular but I've found great friends and the students are generally really nice. People actually make an effort to get to know you and the overall enviroment is very friendly. As for faculty, the administration is always available and friendly to students. The teachers are lively and encourage student participation in classes. However, the math department does lag a little but the English department completely makes up for it. I've had several teachers and classes that I've thoroughly enjoyed. The number of clubs, sports and student programs we have are crazy and getting involved in them really gets you great scholarships.

Skyline High School 3

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has done more than her fair share to try and fit in, but is consistently excluded by her peers thought they all say she is nice to her face. There has been little to no guidance counciling. I don't know if this is because they assume she can handle it on her own or what as she is in the advanced classes with a 3.9/4.0 GPA, I mean there were on campus college visit and she never knew about them.


Skyline High School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a student
Great programs, particularly IB and AP wise. They do a phenomenal job preparing students for their may AP and IB exams. Most of the AP teachers I've had, have passing rates of 80% or better, I've taken 1 AP class and am enrolled in another six.

Skyline High School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
My child attended Skyline for 3 years. She had excellent teachers, wonderful opportunities for community service, and many extracurricular activities from which to choose. She received an excellent scholarship to attend the U of U and was well prepared for college-level classes. She is currently having a successful first semester at the U thanks for the preparation she received at Skyline.

Nearby schools

Skyline High School
3251 East 3760 South, Salt Lake City, UT  84109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (385) 646-5420
Last modified Skyline High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top