Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wasatch Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 880 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

My schools is GREAT! I love everything about it. It's as good as any private school, and you don't have to buy uniforms or any thing.


Posted February 4, 2012

We chose Wasatch Jr. High because of the wonderful academics available. The teachers and the administrators are outstanding. We live out of the area and this school came highly recommended by other parents who are also out of area. It's definitely worth the extra 10 minute drive to ensure my children are receiving the best academic education to prepare them for college. The instrumental department is fabulous. The parents are very involved which I believe makes all the difference in any school your kids attend. So glad we made Wasatch our choice for both my son and daughter. They have really thrived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

We love Wasatch. I agree that it is like a private school, without the uniforms and high cost. We started bringing our daughter here for the AMAZING instrumental music program, but she has also benefitted from the accelerated academics as well. I have been very impressed by the faculty, the parental involvement, and the extracurricular activities. The new building is just the icing on the cake. I would recommend this school to anyone. Just a note - if you are out of area, register early, as the school fills up quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

Wasatch Junior High is a great school. My child has shown a grand improvement in academics. The students there are very nice kids that are friendly and accepting. The Principal is very nice full of structure for the students. Wasatch Junior High is like a private school without uniforms and high prices. I am very impressed with this school and If you are looking for a school with good people,academics, and overall improvement, my suggestion is this one right here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Wasatch is a superior academic and music/arts school in Salt Lake City. I transferred my son to Wasatch after a his neighborhood middle school turned a deaf hear to his academic needs. At Wasatch, he was a straight A student because of the nurturing atmosphere promoted by the administration and teachers at Wasatch. I highly recommend this school and will send my daughter there also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

Wasatch has offered my children a learning environment rich in scope, challenging in its presentation and expectations, and sound in its practices and methodologies. My children have flourished at this school (and to think we were spending upwards of $12K/yr at private school!).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 78%
Asian 8% 2%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3750 South 3100 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
Phone: (385) 646-5244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Churchill Junior High School
Salt Lake City, UT


Reid School
Salt Lake City, UT


Evergreen Junior High School
Salt Lake City, UT


Olympus Junior High School
Salt Lake City, UT



Redeemer Lutheran School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT