Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Penn School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2012

I have three children who have attended at William Penn for the last three years. I have been very happy with our experience here. The arts instructor, Ms. Shumway is amazing. All of the kids are dancing, and loving it! I have one child enrolled in the Spanish Immersion program and two that aren't. There has been plenty of recent angst surrounding this program, and last year there was an effort by local parents to close it down. After a great amount of consideration, the administrators chose to keep it open. Since that time, they have bent over backwards to restructure the classroom instruction to allow for more integration between immersion students and their peers. I applaud the way the principal and teachers have addressed parent concerns. There aren't more loving and hard-working advocates for children anywhere than these devoted men and women. Recently a huge contingent of neighborhood volunteers has mobilized to assist the Bhutanese student population to learn English. In just a few short months, many of these kids have burst through the language barriers, and are now reading at grade level. It is a miracle in the making. I recommend Penn Elementary most highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

My children attend William Penn Elementary. They are really thriving and excelling in their educational and social experience. They have all had a variety of teachers and we have been pleased with every one. The principal is amazing, he goes above and beyond to create an atmosphere of learning and cooperation. My children have been in enrolled in the dual immersion program and have exceeded my expectations in learning another language and testing above grade levels in all areas of their education. The arts program is amazing with an energetic and creative dance instructor. Although my children have not been involved in the plays, we enjoy attending the program every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

My child has been at this school for 1st & 2nd grade however once in 3rd grade everything took a turn for the worst! She was completely overwhelmed at the big differences when entering 3rd grade we all felt unprepared and not appropriately informed of what to expect. I was extremely disappointed with my Childs 3rd grade teacher (Hunter). I tried to communicate with her & do my part of as a parent but the teacher often did not follow up on her part! There are some issues with the class sizes and that they mix children with special needs & those that don t speak English in the same regular classes. This made it hard for my Childs teacher to give her the adequate time & attention she needed from her. The principal on the other hand is very good & the kids love him. He was quick to resolve issues once the teacher eventually reported them to him! There also seems to be somewhat of a bullying issue at this school which has led us to contemplate whether our child should attend another year here. Also steer clear of the teachers in this school that are completely obsessed with CRT testing & only care about how their class/students are perceived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

The Kindergarten teachers are exceptional, and the principal is absolutely wonderful -- truly an advocate for parents and children. However, there is a SERIOUS problem with the dual immersion language program at William Penn Elementary. Traditional classrooms outside the program have up to 40 percent ELL (English Language Learners) populations, as well as larger class sizes. All special needs children are also put into these traditional classrooms. The result is an unfair burden on teachers who are not in the Spanish Immersion program. Children living within William Penn boundaries had a 36 percent chance of being accepted into the Spanish Immersion program next year, whereas all of the applicants living outside William Penn boundaries were accepted. The principal verified this information in a community council meeting on May 13, 2011. This wonderful program will ONLY benefit those with children already in the program or those not living in the boundaries within two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

The kindergarten teachers are the best! Excellent school for out of boundary students, too! However, I am not too impressed with the way the school selects students for the Spanish immersion program. The school implements a lottery system in which students are 'grandfathered' in if they already have a sibling in the program. The next group of students who get in the Spanish immersion program are out of boundary students. The last remaining slots, which are very few, are students that live in boundary and do not have a sibling in the program. We live in Penn's boundaries and my student did not get in the program. However, my friend's daughter who lives in Driggs boundaries and went to kindergarten at Canyon Rim Academy, got into the Spanish immersion program at Penn. So like I said, great school if you happen to live out of Penn's boundaries!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I am soooooo happy I moved my son to this school! After talking with the principal, she determined that Ms. Starr would be the perfect teacher for my son and she was right! I cannot speak highly enough of this school's academic excellence as well as fun learning environment. I appreciate that the arts are taught along with the basics for a well-rounded curriculum. Great PTA involvement and extra-curricular activiites make for a happy parent and child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I have a kindergartner that is currently enrolled at William Penn. My child was accepted in another program and as a result I am having a very hard time deciding on which school she will be attending next year. The teacher is very understanding and really put in an effort to challenge my child. She also appears to love all of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

This school is fabulous, I was really surprised at it's great schools ranking being a 7. The principal is excellent, very personable, kind and available. There are great extra curricular activities, including school plays that have been outstanding. They are integrating Spanish immersion next year which I think is fabulous. The parental involvement is impressive. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 2%
Hispanic 7% 15%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1670 Siggard Dr
Salt Lake City, UT 84106
Phone: (385) 646-4960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mill Creek School
Salt Lake City, UT


Blind Region 2
Salt Lake City, UT


Crestview School
Salt Lake City, UT



Roosevelt School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT