Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Salt Lake City, UT

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bella Vista School 5

Posted July 20, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school underrated by greatschools. The rating should be 8 or 9 for the non-special education units.

Bella Vista School 3

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Some great teachers, and a couple not so great, has been our experience. They are getting a new principal this year, which hopefully will be a good thing. The previous principle was dull and lifeless. My oldest son was bullied for a couple months in 4th grade, and the teacher took action (not the principle). My youngest son's teacher attempted to keep him challenged, which I appreciated. Overall, our experience here was pretty typical of what Utah public schools have to offer on the east side.


Bella Vista School 1

Posted May 03, 2013
- a community member
This school is terrible. The staff did not care about my child's needs whatsoever. My son's teacher did not seem like she wanted to be there or really cared for children. If you don't like children, you probably shouldn't become a teacher. Also, the principal seemed very inadequate at his job. My son will definitely not be going here next year.

Bella Vista School 1

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
WORST SCHOOL EVER! Kindergarten started off great, my child had the BEST teacher ever, I wish she would get more credit for how she treated the kids and what she taught them, she honestly saw the best in every kid in her class and treated them that way. After that it went downhill, I have never met another person who disliked children as much as my child s 1st grade teacher. When I spoke to her about it she said she will handle kids the way she wants to and she doesn t care what anyone else has to say about it, after that conversation I went to talk to the principal who also did not care and said the teacher was new and she could do what she wanted and it was probably just my child who was being too sensitive. Not to mention the principle does not know who his students are and got my child confused with another student based off of their skin color not by hobbies, friends, etc. when I called him out on it he also, did not care. He has no idea what goes on at his school and will avoid parents and questions like the plaque. Happy to saw this is our last year at Bella Vista.

Bella Vista School 4

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
This school includes anywhere between 2-4 special education units (depending on the school year), whose test scores affect the rating for the entire school. Keep in mind that the rating on this school is lower because of these units. Overall, this is a great school. Most of the teachers are wonderful. There are a few teachers who are not so great - but I think this is true of most schools. Administration is fantastic. Parents who are involved are very involved.


Bella Vista School 3

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
This is a GOOD school, it could be a GREAT school with a little more parental involvement. There are some wonderful teachers and staff here however so much of their time is spent correcting problems that should be addressed at home. I agree with the previous poster that more parents need to step up and help in the classroom and on the PTA but I think it goes further than that, parents need to be involved in their child's education. I realize that most people have to work and can't always help in the class or on the PTA but support the school and your teachers in other ways. Get your kids to school on time, make sure their homework is done, be a responsible parent. This is OUR school and we need to do our part so the teachers can do theirs and then this will be a wonderful school.

Bella Vista School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Great staff, lots of homework :-)

Bella Vista School 3

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Beware! 95% of the volunteer work at this school is done by 5% of the parents. There are very few parents willing to help with PTA programs or in the classroom. Their attitudes are such that this is a daycare for them and that their jobs come first. It makes things extremely exhausting for the 5% who do help out. It also makes for very rowdy classrooms with children whose parents don't care about their education...and there are a lot of those at Bella Vista. If parents could see how their children were behaving in the classroom and on recess, they would be appalled. If parents realized that everyone has to take their turn on PTA and in the classroom...that would make all the difference at this school.


Bella Vista School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are the best

Bella Vista School 0
no rating

Posted May 24, 2009
- a community member
My 5 children and now my granddaughter have all been Bella Vista students. I have been satisfied with the leadership and education which have been a part of their experience there. I'm happy to see they are finding ways to continue incorporating the arts as in integral part of a well rounded education. They offer orchestra, choir, Meet the Masters, etc. They have one of the best reading resource educators in the state. I believe Bella Vista offers a well rounded educational experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bella Vista School
2131 East 7000 South, Salt Lake City, UT  84121
(801) 944-2911
Last modified Bella Vista School is a Public school that serves grades K-6
Bella Vista School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top