Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Butler Middle School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
I've had more than one child go through Butler Middle School. We've been happy until they implemented a "team" system of learning. They claim the team allows teachers to "better focus on individual students and assist them." Actually, just the opposite is true. If a student has a difficulty with one of their teachers, forget about a change in teacher. You can't change because you have to stay in your designated team. It makes for sub-par education. If you are going to go to Butler, research all of the teachers thoroughly and get on an appropriate team for your child's learning style. This school used to be willing to bend over backwards to make certain students were happy. No more now that the "teams" have been implemented. It is really too bad because this school used to be 5 stars in my book. Now it is lucky to get 3 stars. Also, watch out for honors classes at this school. They are overcrowded to the max. Starting this year, Butler allowed families to choose whether to put their students in honors or not. In the past they went off of test scores. Consequently, there are way too many students in the honors classes; which again equates to less learning.

Butler Middle School 5

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has excelled in the honors programs at Butler Middle School. She works hard and her grades show it. The teachers recognize her for her hard work and give her positive feedback that really helps boost her self-confidence. The teachers have been phenomenal, particularly Mrs. Lay and Mrs. Kemp. Wow! Amazing teachers!! Not really a fan of Mrs. Hamilton. Had to transfer out of her class after little to no learning was taking place therein. My daughter has had only positive social interactions as well. She has friends of many ethnicities and most kids are very accepting of each other's differences. There are some that are judgmental, but these are 11-14 year-old kids, so they are learning. As far as drugs are concerned...yes, there are drugs at Butler Middle School...I know...big shocker, right? Guess what? There are drugs at every single Middle/Jr. High School. To think that wasn't the truth would be ignorant at best. So, talk to your kids. Know their friends. Support them through thick and thin. Don't assume Butler is bad because of a bad teacher or talk of drugs. It really is an amazing place for education, socialization and a boosted self-esteem.


Butler Middle School 2

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
Horrible school. Class sizes are huge, kids bully each other, teachers are burnt out, and tons of kids doing drugs. Substandard technology, hardly any science equipment. Counselors just shuffle kids through. They may be getting a new building but if it's going to be good they need an entirely new staff.

Butler Middle School 2

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
If you child is lucky enough to qualify for the honors program, than this school is mediocre at best. I have had children in both the honors program and not. Unfortunately the worst teachers are the ones who teach the non honors classes. This I can never understand. The kids who need it the most are getting the worst teachers. Mrs. Rogerson is a nightmare for health. Mr. Tominaga for math was even a wise nightmare for 2 of my children. My children had math scores fall dramatically after having math at Butler. One of my children went from loving math to dreading walking into his math class. Shame on Butler for not cleaning this problem up. Lots of parent complaints but no action on both teachers. On the flip side, if your child is lucky enough to get Mrs. Van Haften for English, count your blessings. A few teachers are good, including Mrs. Lay for math. We also had problems with bullying at this school. It took almost 3 years before our problems were addressed and a stop was put to the bullying. By then, the permanent damage had been done. The counseling office was not any help at all when we tried to get help with the math situation. They told me there was nothing they could do.

Butler Middle School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
The Honors Program at Butler is excellent. There are great Teachers and insightful Counselors and Coaches that really care about the kids at the school who want to learn and achieve academic excellence. Also, Butler Middle School is the only middle school I have seen that has a world class community recreation center and vast well groomed athletic fields next to the school. Having a lot of physical activity is an essential element for all children's education, but for Junior High kids it makes all the difference. Kids at that age need a lot of physical activity and benefit greatly from feeling the impact of daily working outs. There is an olympic sized ice rink. A diving pool, several lap pools, racket ball, basketball, weight room, etc. Combining academic excellence with physical fitness excellence is the key to helping kids feel great about themselves & achieving their full potential. My older boys are now in Medical School, just finished a top MBA program & works for a leading medical device firm and a third accepted into a top doctoral program. Our younger children are all on their way thanks to Butler. With the current remodeling - It will be Even Better!


Butler Middle School 4

Posted November 09, 2010
- a community member
I am a nineth grader at Butler Middle School right now, and quite a bit of the info is incorrect. there are some pretty bad teachers, but you can transfer out or take different classes. The work is challenging especially the honors program, if you are up to the challenge. we have good GPAs because we work for them. Yes, the cafeteria's food isnt good, but what school lunch is? yes, there are groups of kids who arent exactly non judgemental or nice. there is a program against bullying and I dont see any at all. There is a new program that requires turning assignments in on time that is working. We are not allowed to make up work that much at all. If you are put in the same math class, its cause you didnt learn the curriculum. The office is great, so is academics dont know about minorities.

Butler Middle School 2

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
Butler has some very good teachers and it has some of the worst teachers that I have encountered. The school may boast about its GPA, some of that may be due to the work not being challenging enough, therefore, it doesn't take much. The lunchroom quality is dismal. If you have a child with certain food restrictions,(Vegetarians and religious guidelines) they will be hard pressed to find a lunch here that is suitable. I am on this site to read other reviews so we can transfer!!!!

Butler Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
I was worried about my daughter starting the 7th grade, understanding how the middle school years can be some of the hardest for a girl. Now she is almost done with 8th grade and BMS has fostered a environment of strong support and learning. She has excelled in her classes, and when she hits bumps, any one of her teachers take the time to help her. She is in good hands. Open communication is key in any school. Get involved. Ask questions. I am very happy with BMS.


Butler Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
uplifting and positive environment, supportive teachers, supports arts and creative opportunities, best middle school our kids have gone to thus far

Butler Middle School 3

Posted August 25, 2009
- a student
This school has great teachers and staff. However, it is still like any middle school. There are always problems with students, and I have to say, if you don't fit the 'popular' profile, life is just that much harder. So, if you want amazing education, where most 9th graders take geometry or algebra 2, come here! But if you don't like dealing with (sorry) judgmental students, this isn't the most accepting place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Butler Middle School
7530 South 2700 East, Salt Lake City, UT  84121
(801) 412-2250
Last modified Butler Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9
Butler Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top