Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Butler School

Public | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

My children have enjoyed Butler Elementary School. One has a very small class size and one has a larger class size in the French Immersion program. The school has the Meet the Masters program, they have art, keyboarding and PE. There is an after school French Choir. The school sponsors a First Lego League team. The only complaints from my children are that the ladies in the lunch room yell a lot and the supervisors of their lunch recess are not very friendly. My only complaint is that the teachers seem very overwhelmed with teaching the new Common Core and preparing for testing. I would like to see more emphasis on the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) The school no longer offers a Science Fair, mostly due to lack of enthusiasm by parents/students. I have easily met with the Principal and she has always been receptive. The school is old, but always very clean and well-kept. The school will be rebuilt on the same property over the next year or so. That will cause a few problems with space, but will be worth it with a brand new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Butler Rocks. My kiddo loves the school and her teachers. The homework was pretty heavy for first grade but she came away learning a great deal. We are not Mormon and have always been made to feel very welcome by everyone. The complaints lodged about that are simply untrue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Butler elementary is excellent on offering extra-curricular activities. There are parent sponsored activities like a French after school choir and a chess club. There are also activities at the school offered through community ed. like Mad Science, Bricks for Kids, and dance. The library also has fun enrichment activities several times a year. The PTA also sponsors fun evening activities a few times a year. World Night is lots of fun, along with family game night. PTA is very involved and always looking for new people. I am not a member because they meet in the mornings and I work in the mornings. But I do volunteer with some activities. I am not LDS and not from Utah and I was not ever excluded in any way. In fact if you pick your kids up in the afternoon and park and get out of your car it is very easy to meet other parents and PTA members. They are always seeking people to get involved. As for academics, I love the French immersion program and my son definitely has music and P.E. I do think sometimes there are too many worksheets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

We found the educational focus very limited. No science, no PE, no Arts, no music. While they're funds limited (lowest funded school district in the nation!), there is no outreach effort to the parents to try and fill the gaps through parental participation. We found the curriculum limited, unimaginative, and only focused on getting the kids through the testing requirements. When ask have the teacher give our child different workbooks that would let him excel at his level, we were rebuffed... and told we want to communicate too much about his status and progress. The principal wasn't helpful either. If you want least common denominator education, this is your place. But if you are looking for an enriching environment, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

When commenting about a school, feel free to use correct spelling and grammar. Just sayin'.


Posted June 26, 2012

We moved here to salt lake city utah August of 2011. At the time we lived in a hotel till we bought a house. The only school we could go to was Butler. The secretery in the front was outstanding as my child teacher. As the school year started for our 5th grader, problems has began. We are Jewish and my daughter was harrassed for not being mormon. The principal never met with us or even took the time to get to know new comers. PTA was poor and unwelcoming, I tried to be an involved parent but got the cold shoulder once they found out I am not mormon. Home room mom never contacted me to inclued us or make us feel welcome. We are going tomove to Woodstock elementary for 6th grade since it is our neighborhood and hoping for a better year on the social aspect. I would never recommend Butler to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

I agree completely with everything the previous poster has said. We just transferred my son to Butler this fall due to a short distance move (previously attended a SLC school), and we are not happy at all. My son's class size is rediculously large at almost 30 kids and almost all of them are boys, making for a rambunctious classroom that even the best of teachers would struggle to keep under control. We are not impressed with Canyons District in general. This school lacks organization and is still struggling to find direction with the new principal. My 'simple' happy-go-lucky child has had difficulties fitting in with the snoot factor with the abundance of rich kids. He is unhappy with everything, is learning at a marginal level, although he says the lunches are better than his old school. He wants to try a different school, so that's what we are going to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I love Butler. I feel that everyone takes part in my son's education here. I never have seen such a caring support group of educators. We are having to move and I have to say I am worried that we won't find another school like this. We went to a nearby school and it was such an awful experience. My son sat in the classroom and the teacher had no time or patience so he just cut and colored for a few months until I found out what was going on and got him out of there. He was in 2nd grade. It was such a struggle to get any kind of feedback and I felt like an outsider in his education there. I am so glad we found Butler!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Butler Elementary School is a great school! I have had three children attend all seven years at Butler and they received an excellent education! There are wonderful teachers and staff at Butler. There are also many parents who volunteer a lot of time to make Butler a truly wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2004

Hello Parents, I am not a parent myself but i was a student at Butler Elementary. I loved going to Butler. They had a great staff. Everyone was always very friendly and always trying to help you with whatever you needed help with. the school was always clean and filled with cheerful people. It was a great school. Sincerely, Sarah Henry
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 East 7000 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
Phone: (801) 944-2942

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bella Vista School
Salt Lake City, UT


Ridgecrest School
Cottonwood Heights, UT


Ridgecrest School
Salt Lake City, UT


Deseret Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


Bella Vista School
Salt Lake City, UT


U Can Learn
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT