Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonneville School

Public | K-6 | 523 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

My daughter attended this school from K-4, then we moved away at the befinning of 5th grade. I did not realize how amazing this school was until we were exposed to a different elementary school. I love how Bonneville has a wonderful music, and art program. And the school has a super fun PE program, and teacher. Every teacher my daughter had was super commited to providing a well rounded and challenging education for my child. We decided to move back to the area just to have our daughter finish elementary there. I called the school and I was helped by the principle Donna Reid. Donna was very helpful and willing to meet with me to help our transition back into the school. I cannot adequately express my gratitude to the faculty, staff, & administration at this school. This school also has an amazing PTA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I love this school! Two of my kids moved from another school and were very far behind. The teachers helped them and worked with them until they were caught up. My only complaint is about Tanner Dance. I think it is the biggest waste of time and money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

"This school has one of the worst principals I have ever seen. She discriminates and dislocates children. Makes people feel uncomfortable. If you have a child that is struggling or if you work full time find another school" I agree with this review about the principal. I really don't know how she got that position in the first place. I believe she should retire and new fresh ideas should be brought to this great school. By far she is the worst principal I've ever known. She discriminates and disrespect both parents and kids. I wonder if she does the same to the school teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

This school has one of the worst principals I have ever seen. She discriminates and dislocates children. Makes people feel uncomfortable. If you have a child that is struggling or if you work full time find another school


Posted June 21, 2012

Bonneville is an extraordinary school! The art program, Tanner Dance program, PE teacher, great Principal and great teachers combine to make this school exceptional. Parent involvement is very high. So far, we love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

We have had an incredible experience at Bonneville. The principal runs the school very well, commands discipline and respect from the students, and works hard to empower the teachers and parents. Incredible teachers that care about the students and the parent involvement and volunteerism is unmatched. Recently scored in the top 5 schools in the state in CRT test scores and has a wonderful full-time art teacher. Bonneville also has a great science lab and The Tanner Dance Program for K-4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

This school is very good. Great parental involvement and great teachers. However, some staffs don't show their respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

I have had nothing but excellent experiences at Bonneville. Teachers are loving and well trained. They truly care about each student. Tons of parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

Bonneville Elementary has one of the best kindergarten teachers, Ms. Lindsay. She does a marvelous job of teaching the kids to read, while still allowing the kindergarteners to have fun. Bonneville is a great school if you are not LDS because the neighborhood is nicely diversified. Bonneville does not seem to be an extremely academically challenging environment, which may or not appeal to parents. There is a ton of parent involvement in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2004

This is an excellent school with tons of great parental involvement. The teachers are high quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 77%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1145 South 1900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Phone: (801) 584-2913

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Uintah School
Salt Lake City, UT


Rowland Hall
Salt Lake City, UT


Indian Hills School
Salt Lake City, UT


The McGillis School
Salt Lake City, UT


Dilworth School
Salt Lake City, UT


University Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT