Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerson School

Public | K-6 | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

Emerson is an excellent school. I love the principle, everyone that works at Emerson seems to love their job. When you walk into the school its like you just entered Happy Valley. Some how the principle knows everyone's name, kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

The principal Mr. Bergman is amazing. He is thoughtful and engaged and makes each child feel awesome. My son would feel lost in the crowd if it weren't for Mr. Bergman. I do however feel some teachers are a hindrance to the school, almost robotic, unconcerned in important areas and overly concerned in personal or private areas. Sadly from the start my son was character "typed" and the teacher has failed to be his friend and has failed to know him as an individual. At SEP conferences with my child present, the teacher talked about him instead of to him. My son has mentioned that he doesn't feel listened to and I certainly don't feel heard as a parent. At times I feel the school is about results and not quality. I often feel they want the children to have a "collective" style education rather than cultivate individualism and creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

The principal, Mr. Bergman, is real asset and driver of this school. He sets a "rock star" tone with students and teachers. My child loves his Kindergarten teacher. We were skeptical with this being the teacher's first year, but her energy and methods are working wonderfully. The parent involvement in daily classroom activities is similar to what you would expect in an ELP program. I hope this is true in the other classes as well. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

We love the new principal. Mr. Bergman is so fully involved with the school and the student body. He knows the kids by name and has made a huge difference. Our son's first grade teacher, Mrs. Lund is totally dedicated to our child's success. We couldn't be more pleased. We pulled our son out of private school to attend this neighborhood school after the pocket park cross talk started lighting up over the new principal and the changes he was making. We are not disappointed. Props to the drama and art teacher too for keeping the arts in school. Heather
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

I'm a parent of two boys heading to first and second grade (2011-12) and I'm writing this review because I don't feel the older reviews are relevant because of the dramatic changes in leadership at Emerson in the past year. There is a new, visionary, enthusiastic principal who is on his game and then some. His attitude and actions have transformed Emerson from a good school to an extraordinary school. He's pulling talented teachers to the school, and keeping the morale among existing parents, students, and teachers high. The school population is diverse (racially and economicalyl), and I believe that is a good thing for all of us. I feel so fortunate. The principal has made personal phone calls to me to ensure I'm heard and happy. Emerson is now a fabulous school. One principal has made the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

All students' needs are met!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Principal needs to get involved with school and makes some GOOD changes. The teachers are great, knowing the students and parents and are doing the best they can with an ineffective principal. Take your students there for the great teachers and PTA involvement


Posted August 12, 2009

I have been more than pleased with my children's experience and education at Emerson. I have 3 children who have all had caring, informed teachers. My children are bright and need to be challenged, they have been at Emerson. It is also easy to get involved as a parent. The school's PTA works well with the faculty and staff. The support staff are caring, know every child and more often than not, their parents too. The principal works with a diverse student and faculty population very well. My and my children's time has been well spent at Emerson Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Sadly, I agree, the principal doesn't encourage innovation and doesn't seem to want to improve the school . He is too afraid of breaking rules to incorporate any new quality programs. While some teachers are great, there are a few that just punch the clock. It certainly isn't all it can be and without a progressive administration it never will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

While it is apparent some programs have been taken out of the school since I went there, and even when I was - there were certain aspects falling out, overall my experience at Emerson Elementary was a wonderful one; as were my siblings. None of us ever had a bad experience with the principal, or any other staff member - and were sad when we left.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2008

run as far away from this school as you can! The school has lost funding and programs and don't expect the principle to bring anything to the table I have waited for three years for this school to improve and it has only gone down hill. It is a shame to see a school with such a rich history of success to a school that parents can't wait to pull their kids out of.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 78%
Hispanic 26% 15%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1017 East Harrison Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84105
Phone: (801) 481-4819

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Uintah School
Salt Lake City, UT


Hawthorne School
Salt Lake City, UT


Our Lady of Lourdes School
Salt Lake City, UT


The McGillis School
Salt Lake City, UT


Seps Learning Center
Salt Lake City, UT


Whittier School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT