Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rose Park School

Public | PK-6 | 523 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My kids enjoy this school and the staff is very active in the community. I am glad my kids can attend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Oh my goodness Rose Park is an excellent school! My oldest daughter just finished 6th grade and she attended Rose Park since kindergarten! I can't express enough how wonderful the teachers and staff are at Rose Park. The principal listens to my concerns as a parent and she wants to make our school great! My kids enjoyed the talent show, fall carnival and art night this year! They also went on great field trips. I have 4 children attending Rose Park and they all excelled academically and even got over 90% on the state CRTs! I just love all of my children's teachers including their ELP teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

I love Rose Park Elementary! The staff is AMAZING and there are so many resources available to families because it is a community school. The parents are very involved and there is a good balance between english and non-english speaking families. There is representation from both sides on the PTA and SCC. It's nice to be at a school where you can't decide which teacher is the best because they all are the best in different ways. I feel so at home at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

I have been a teacher at Rose Park for six years, and have only great things to say about this school. The faculty that I work with are all dedicated to improving student learning, and creating opportunities for students to succeed. We have parents who volunteer in classrooms to help teachers, work with students, and provide support. The students are amazing! They work hard and never cease to amaze me with their eagerness to learn and be successful! As a teacher I could teach at many other schools, but I CHOOSE to teach at Rose Park!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2011

We love Rose Park Elementary. We started our daughter at Emerson in the ELP program but removed her so she could go to our neighborhood school and so that she could learn to love school instead of being overloaded with work. She has been there for 2 years now and we love it. We love being able to interact daily with parents and students from our community, we love the extra programs they offer, we love the teachers, and we love the new principal. She is so involved and interested in her students and teachers. We are thankful that we moved our daughter back to Rose Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I am thankful to have removed my children from this school. Diversity is great, but 75% of my children's classmates were not familiar with the english language. This caused a split in the classroom, basically due to race, which I didn't feel was helpful in creating unity. Little emphasis was placed upon non-english speaking parents to work with their children, so the students needed extra help, which detracted from and slowed the learning down of all the other students in the classroom. The PTA was fantastic! Aside from that, the school catered almost all services to non-english speakers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

The thing that impresses me the most about RPE is my child's teacher. She is the most qualified teacher I have ever met. She holds a Masters degree, ESL Endorsement, Advanced Reading Endorsement, and is working on her National Board Certification. The new principal there is also fantastic, working hard and teaching side by side teachers to ensure best practices. I am also impressed that over half my son's class is bilingual! Such bright little minds! To read more about what parents are saying about RPE visit - mykidsgotorosepark.blogspot.com.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Rose Park is a great school! With a very diverse population, teachers work meet the needs of each child. My son loves his teacher and his friends there. He can't wait to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I like Rose Park School because the staff cares for a great education for my children and other chidren. Rose Park also offers workshops for students and parents which helps bring families and the community together. I feel that Rose Park would utilize the $20,000 wisely.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 15%
White 18% 78%
Asian 5% 2%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1105 West 1000 North
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone: (801) 578-8554

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Newman School
Salt Lake City, UT


Backman School
Salt Lake City, UT


Escalante School
Salt Lake City, UT


Jackson School
Salt Lake City, UT


Meadowlark School
Salt Lake City, UT


North Star School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT