Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Uintah School 1

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
As long as your child fits into a box, you are fine. Don't expect this school to work with you if you child has special needs. The principal and his teacher just spent time reminding me how much my child is unlike the other children. I'm sure they made him feel this way too, as he suffered major anxiety issues that were only present in school.

Uintah School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Good things about Uintah: location, school building, parent involvement. The test scores are high, but I really think this is largely because it pulls from a more affluent neighborhood with involved parents rather than from anything the school itself is doing "right." The building itself is very nice. Clean, secure, good natural lighting for a school, etc. There are some nice programs and the parents are relatively involved. On the negative side: class size is very large. They really cannot do much for kids outside of the norm (especially if they are very bright or unique thinkers). Also, I am not impressed with the new Principal. She has almost zero communication with the parent and in the little communication she does have it does not feel that she really cares about directly engaging the parents or the community. I was at school quite often and her presence at the school, other than appearing at school-wide meetings for announcements, was minimal. She inherited a great school so it is probably easy to coast, but she could do so much more. The parents are so very eager to be involved, but there doesn't seem to be the responsiveness back from the administration.


Uintah School 1

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
The student to teacher ratio is unrealistic. My son was terrified of his tyrannical teacher because he needed more one on one time but was screamed at when he approached her. It's not a good school for any child who needs more time, or has an IEP.

Uintah School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
We have been on the private-public fence for a few years now, and continue to choose Uintah for its amazing parent involvement, loving, smart, enthusiastic teachers, and great facilities. I think there is a truism in that you will not get excellence in every teacher experience regardless if you are paying hefty private school tuition or are in a public school. I think that the drawback continues to be that the school must t"each the test" and that takes away from room for more innovation, creativity in teaching, and new learning techniques such as open age learning, so those will same math level all end up in multi-age classroom for math, those needing more attention with reading might all be reading level gathered for that segment, etc. When we had large class sizes in 3rd G. the Principle responded immediately and highered a new teacher! Awesome can do attitude here at Uintah.

Uintah School 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
My children and I have loved Uintah Elementary. The teachers are kind, attentive, hard-working, and fun. My children have excelled at this school. The parental involvement is great. The only negative is the large class sizes, especially in the higher grades. My son is in 5th grade, and there are 34 students in his class.


Uintah School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
Uintah is great because the teachers, administrators, and parents all work together for the kids!

Uintah School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent

Uintah School 3

Posted February 03, 2009
- a parent
We enjoyed Uintah. Parental involvement was very high. Good teachers made all the difference. The art program was excellent. It was mostly ran by volunteers, PTA and some other moneys. There is a good neighborhood feeling. Kids learn standard-based education in a loving and supporting environment. There are solid options for accelerated learners as well as special needs children. There are other after school-affiliated programs that my son attended: Spanish and Skiing. I loved it.


Uintah School 2

Posted March 28, 2008
- a community member
this school was ok for what if has to work with so I'm pleased but not pleased with it at the same time if you know what I mean. the class room are to full of children and over power the teacher.

Uintah School
no rating

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is a 1st grader this year and so far LOVES her school! From my perspective she is learning a lot, is having fun, and has made good friends. There seems to be a good balance of creativity and academics. My daughter has made so much progress this year in her reading. I am very happy with Uintah so far.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Uintah School
1571 East 1300 South, Salt Lake City, UT  84105
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (801) 584-2940
Last modified Uintah School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top