Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Salt Lake City, UT
Students enrolled: 280
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Vincent School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Middle school teachers are very ineffective. Math teacher teaches from lessons/assignments pulled off of the Internet instead of out of the text book. The religious Ed teacher has no clue on what she is teaching and the art volunteer is the art teacher allowed to teach/grade she's not even a paid employee-bshes a parent volunteer Why are we paying tuition to have an uneducated parent teaching our students?

St Vincent School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The teacher sends 75 percent of the work that should be done in class during the school day home with the student


St Vincent School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The administration does not have respect for others. If they cannot show respect how could the students develop respect for one another while the administration is allowing bullying to happen. The school should be a safe haven for students

St Vincent School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
They do not have the skills nor training to deal with bullies. They have no program whatsoever in place to educate the kids not to bully. They allow the kids to bully each other and reward them with Christian conduct awards for bad behavior. The kids that parents are always there and give a lot of money and time to the school are the kids that get away with everything. Tell me how a student gets outstanding Christian conduct but had a police report filed against them for bullying. Is this acceptable for a catholic school? Apparently at st vincent this is acceptable out of sight out of mind-sweep the problem under the rug. They allow these kids to get bullied then wipe their hands free of the problem while the family and student carries the emotional damage with them the rest of their lives.

St Vincent School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
No the students are bullies and are allowed to cheat. How do you graduate with high honors and come back the following week to take a test, and report cards were already given? Very unethical school that violates their own policies


St Vincent School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
I currently have a student in the school and have a graduate of St. Vincents. I have been extremely pleased with the education both of my children received. My son graduated and has taken several honors coursed in his high school When I had a problem and went to the administration they were very responsive. I participated in the art program and it has been in place for a long time it is supervised the teaching staff and it is a program similar to the Masters of the arts program. If you want to know about the quality and qualifications of the staff go to the web site. This is a dedicated group of certified professionals .

St Vincent School 1

Posted February 15, 2015
- a parent
Horrible administration, unlicensed teachers, bullying problems and parent volunteers teaching students. If you care about your child's education this is not the school to enroll in. My student has been in this school for a few years and will not send them back. This school has no training in dealing with bullies. They lack the training in dealing with parents and the principal is more concerned about the dollars than the kids. school policy is only applied to certain students. School counselor lacks the proper training to deal with students she brings in student counselors to counsel the students. Parent volunteer are able to teach and grade students and some teachers are unlicensed. Principal claims the unlicensed teachers team teach with licensed teachers this lasted one month. I would not recommend this school if you value the education of your children. Students form cliques and leave other students out. The school parking lot turns out to a hang out joint after school for the parents to gather and gossip. Principal is seldom on site Halloween carnival is a joke parents gather outside for tailgating parties and drink alcohol beverages while their young students are inside

St Vincent School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
As a student of this school for 2 years, 6th and 7th grade, I believe I can give a fair assessment. Being that I entered the school as a new student among a class who had primarily been educated as a group since a very young age, I was completely ostracized in many ways. I was from a different faith background than the majority of the students and was not only treated differently by the students and teachers, but many parents of students did not allow me to socialize with their children because of my faith. Not what you would expect from a Christian school. I soon discovered the cliques that had been established and recognized that I did not fit. I developed extremely low self esteem because of this. A particularly horrible experience with a clique of students left me broken and when brought to the principle's attention, he favored the student who's mother was the most involved with school activities and fundraisers. My mother being a full time working mother in order to afford the tuition, meant she could not devote the time to become superficial best buds with the administration. The backbiting among students was a direct reflection of the parents.


St Vincent School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
Wow, just looking at this sight and was very surprised by the previous comment. The truth about the school is that it has a wonderful community that cares deeply about the students. The teachers are all certified and are not washouts or misfits. many have masters degrees and continue to go to workshops and classes. They may be paid less but they are incredibly dedicated. There are no petty rules. It is a Catholic school and that is what people are paying for.I feel badly for the last parent, they seem insecure and it is a shame they feel they need to attack other parents. I have one student at the school and one that went on to high school and is doing great. Most of the parents i know are working parents and work hard to put their kids in the school. I would suggest that the previous parent leave the school if they are not happy. We certainly don't need adult bullies like that around our students. I would encourage anyone who is interested in going to the school to look at the web site and then take a tour of the school during the school day. I will encourage others in my community to post . They will be shocked! I guess every large community has a few unhappy or disturbed people.

St Vincent School 2

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
The truth about St. Vincent's School is the quality of instructors and instructional technology is poor. 1. There aren't many Catholic teachers in the valley. 2. There aren't many willing to work for substandard wages. Therefore the school hires washouts and misfits from other schools. The school uses the archaic negative consequence motivational system - a plethora of petty rules and warnings. This is bad for students self esteem and is does not prepare them for real life. The only kids this school works for are kids whose parents are wealthy and mothers stay at home. They can therefore spend extra money on tutors, etc., to make up for the teachers shortcomings. These are the same moms that wrote the glowing reviews below and who congregate after school at the outdoor lunch area grinning and smiling and sporting pornographic, skin tight lycra yoga pants to impress themselves.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Vincent School
1385 Spring Lane, Salt Lake City, UT  84117
(801) 277-6702
Last modified St Vincent School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Vincent School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top