Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Vincent School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
As a student of this school for 2 years, 6th and 7th grade, I believe I can give a fair assessment. Being that I entered the school as a new student among a class who had primarily been educated as a group since a very young age, I was completely ostracized in many ways. I was from a different faith background than the majority of the students and was not only treated differently by the students and teachers, but many parents of students did not allow me to socialize with their children because of my faith. Not what you would expect from a Christian school. I soon discovered the cliques that had been established and recognized that I did not fit. I developed extremely low self esteem because of this. A particularly horrible experience with a clique of students left me broken and when brought to the principle's attention, he favored the student who's mother was the most involved with school activities and fundraisers. My mother being a full time working mother in order to afford the tuition, meant she could not devote the time to become superficial best buds with the administration. The backbiting among students was a direct reflection of the parents.

St Vincent School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
Wow, just looking at this sight and was very surprised by the previous comment. The truth about the school is that it has a wonderful community that cares deeply about the students. The teachers are all certified and are not washouts or misfits. many have masters degrees and continue to go to workshops and classes. They may be paid less but they are incredibly dedicated. There are no petty rules. It is a Catholic school and that is what people are paying for.I feel badly for the last parent, they seem insecure and it is a shame they feel they need to attack other parents. I have one student at the school and one that went on to high school and is doing great. Most of the parents i know are working parents and work hard to put their kids in the school. I would suggest that the previous parent leave the school if they are not happy. We certainly don't need adult bullies like that around our students. I would encourage anyone who is interested in going to the school to look at the web site and then take a tour of the school during the school day. I will encourage others in my community to post . They will be shocked! I guess every large community has a few unhappy or disturbed people.


St Vincent School 2

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
The truth about St. Vincent's School is the quality of instructors and instructional technology is poor. 1. There aren't many Catholic teachers in the valley. 2. There aren't many willing to work for substandard wages. Therefore the school hires washouts and misfits from other schools. The school uses the archaic negative consequence motivational system - a plethora of petty rules and warnings. This is bad for students self esteem and is does not prepare them for real life. The only kids this school works for are kids whose parents are wealthy and mothers stay at home. They can therefore spend extra money on tutors, etc., to make up for the teachers shortcomings. These are the same moms that wrote the glowing reviews below and who congregate after school at the outdoor lunch area grinning and smiling and sporting pornographic, skin tight lycra yoga pants to impress themselves.

St Vincent School 5

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
St. Vincents school was a wonderful place for my three children. They attended since pre-school and the last one recently graduated from one of our Catholic High schools. They were well prepared and they were challenged in all grades. The had a great foundation for high school and college. The staff works very hard to ensure that the students get the very best education possible. The other reviewer is correct on the SCRIP. The school board along with the principal made this decision to avoid selling gift wrap, candy, candles etc..... I spend my share 225 a month on gas alone. The school only really has one fund raiser, which is their auction and it is a great time. This school became my kids neighborhood. They have made life long friends here. I encourage you to take a tour if you are interesting in attending. I know also during the last accreditation that the school received the highest rating.

St Vincent School 5

Posted January 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is excellent. From the Principal to every teacher, I have not had one complaint and have been impressed with the level of intelligence and helpfulness. Between teacher emails and conferences I always feel very informed. This school has truly great teachers. Great school. My son is excelling and happy and his test scores are awesome. So glad we found this school. I have another child in a different school. So, I can compare the two. St. Vincent's is the best hands down in every way. The one comment on this website noting you must buy 2250 in script gift cards is not quite correct. We buy $225 worth gift cards to smiths each month for 10 months per year and use them to buy our groceries. We would spend that much at the grocery store anyway, so it doesn't cost us anything. But the school benefits from the purchase of the gift cards. So it helps the school.


St Vincent School 1

Posted July 18, 2012
- a community member
I was a student at St. Vincent's and it was a horrible, unwelcoming school. I only went there for year but it was a horrible year. I was in 6th grade. 2 out of the 3 teachers I had, I learned absolutley nothing from them. Do not waste your time or money at here. P.S They say there Tuition is only $4,510 for Catholics and $5,638 for non-Catholic but you have to sell $2,250 in Scrip (gift cards) each year otherwise it comes out of your pocket.

St Vincent School 5

Posted March 18, 2012
- a parent
My son has gone to St. Vincent's since pre-K and is now in 4th grade. The school offers an excellent education, along with the teaching of strong christian values. St. Vincent's has an amazing community of involved families. We would not send our child anywhere else.

St Vincent School 5

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
I am a Parent of 2 children at St. Vincent's. We have been extremely happy with the overall education for our children. The teachers are truly dedicated and loving individuals. We love the Christian community; it is integrated in the classroom every day. This is a safe and positive environment with high standards. Our children are far ahead of the learning curve compared to other public school students. I would recomend this school to anyone.


St Vincent School 5

Posted November 25, 2011
- a parent
I am the mother of two children, ages 7 and 9. Both started St. Vincents in preschool. We have been extremely happy with the school s academic program and the religious values instilled. My eldest son has type 1 diabetes and has received exceptional care from the office staff and teachers. There is a strong parent involvement and sense of community that I have also been pleased with so far.

St Vincent School 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of two children that started at St. Vincents in Pre-K and are now in MIddle School . It is a wonderful community both for you and your child. The Christian faith is a big part of this community. The children are taught this starting in Pre-K. Everything isn't prefect here but if you do have problems I think the faculity tries to help solve the problem. The academics here are wonderful. The test scores are well above average. If you are thinking about sending your child here you should come in for a tour.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Vincent School
1385 Spring Lane, Salt Lake City, UT  84117
(801) 277-6702
Last modified St Vincent School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Vincent School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top