Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kearns St. Ann School

Private | PK-8 | 283 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2013

A decade of darkness has ended, next year we bring back the KSA Monsignor Sullivan willed to us. With a new principal, new priest, some new staff, and several new teachers, joining the best of the schools remaining hardworking, dedicated, and professional teachers and experienced staff that never lost the vision. The school charter will again become living words. My family has had 15 students from 5 generations attend KSA. We watched with sadness the decay so obvious to so many for the past 10 years. Over 30 full pay families took their children to other schools in 2012 2013 school year. We thought all was lost but God heard our prayers and sent Fr. Mike who listened and then fought for what was right. How can you expel a 5 year old child but give a "Student Body Spirit Award" to an 8th grade graduate boy who has bullied other children for several years and was involved in every bullying activity at KSA? The most frightening part of all of this is that Sr. Catherine Kampus, Superintendent, didn't have the slightest clue anything was wrong at KSA and still doesn't.


Posted November 13, 2011

I'd recommend paying a visit to the school before making any 'less than positive' comments. The staff is absolutely amazing!- Every single one of them. Over 70% of the staff have a Masters degree. My children received the best education ever not to mention limitless love and nurturing. I can't say enough good things about the school. We love St. Ann.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

I got on your website and was SHOCKED to see the most recent rating of Kearns-Saint Ann School. What school was this parent talking about? It certainly isn't where my child is presently receiving a wonderful education. Yes, we help many families in need, but isn't that what a Catholic education is all about? As far as the staff goes, 70% of the school's staff has a Masters Degree. Apparently you don't attend the Parent Meetings that inform you about these things. For those of you who are looking for a wonderful place to educate your child, a warm caring place, full of spirituality, and morals of both children and staff, this is the place to be. My child will be well prepared for both high school and college, and I am sure your child would be too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

Leadership any vision are nowhere to be found. My parental observation is KSA has evolved into a charity school where it so many are getting a free ride or significant assistance, which is significantly limits the money the school has to work with and the pool of families that contribute to fund raising. If not for the overwhelming generosity of descendants of the school founders, I doubt the school would survive. For 10 grades (pre-k until 8), half of the teachers my child had were wonderful, however only about half of those remain. A few hires of the last few years seemed good. Several volunteers are horrible. Catholicism = 9; Simulated caring 8; Real caring 3; Equal treatment 2; Quality programs 3; Program diversity 1; Morals of student body 8; Average morals of staff 4; Current on teaching methods 3; Current on technology 0.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

Absolutely incredible school. The most culturally diverse school in Utah. Top rated in academics. Very structured with incredible commitment from all... students, teachers, parents, & administrative. Actually, we drive our children 45 min each way just to attend this school. Now we're looking to move closer..all because of the school and the opportunities it is and has provided our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Kearns St Ann School provides the student an opportunity for spiritual as well as academic growth. Students are given opportunities to grow in the Catholic faith and practice prayer, mass and virtuous activity daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Kearns - St Ann School provides an excellent basis in both academic and moral instruction with close supervision and support. The teachers are a dedicted group of professionals and the kids count themselves lucky to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I personally think that kearns st anns is a excellent school.they offer many extra programs if your child is struggling in a certain area of study.they teach different methods of comprehension,problem solving, and moral values that are not offered at public schools.they have high standards for education of there students.they require that all parents dedicate time to school functions,and classroom involvement.both my husband and I ,all of our siblings and my father are alumni of st. anns. therefore we all know first hand what a quality education is provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 15%
White 33% 78%
Two or more races 16% N/A
Black 8% 2%
Asian 4% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Salt Lake
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

430 E 21st S
Salt Lake City, UT 84115
Phone: (801) 486-0741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hawthorne School
Salt Lake City, UT


Whittier School
Salt Lake City, UT


Gateway Academy
Salt Lake City, UT



Sid Self-Continuation School
Salt Lake City, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT