Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $217,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

it use to be a good school , it has gone down hill, my child is now so far behind. The diversity is there, lack of real catholic atmosphere, parents are involved if they want to you will usually see the same faces and very few new blood .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

After much frustration trying to locate a school that had experience dealing with dyslexic children, we stumbled onto OLOL. Mrs. Patillo, a highly respected and experienced reading specialist, has been a blessing! My son gets one-on-one attention from Mrs. Patillo almost daily. My son is thriving, loves reading now, and is reading at grade level. His teacher from last year and this year have been extremely understanding and accommodating of his disability. Most importantly, the teachers there understand learning disabilities and are aware of accommodations that are required by law. My son has never been stigmatized and everyone does a great job at making sure my son is not singled out because of his disability. The classes are small and there is a strong sense of community. This school is a hidden gem and I am so glad we found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

In response to some of the older comments, OLOL continues to make improvements over the past few years-Smartboards in each classroom, access to advanced math courses at Judge, Spanish and technology courses at every grade level. Most of the kids in our son's class are reading and doing coursework well above their grade level. Unlike some other schools in the Valley, they have kept small class sizes so the kids get lots of individualized attention and instruction. While they emphasize Catholic values (including community service) and teachings, they also teach the importance of respecting other religions and traditions and actively seek out diversity among students and staff. Wonderful sense of community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

My son just finished his first year at OLOL. We have been thrilled with the quality of his education. The school itself is in an older building but don't let that turn you off! The teachers are exceptional and genuinely care about each child. We love that our son's teacher is always willing to discuss his needs and suggest ways to reinforce his lessons at home. This school is truly a diamond in the rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

In many ways, Lourdes is an excellent school. There is a real feeling of community, and the students seems supportive of each other. Like many private schools, they have difficulty challenging those students who are working above grade level. There have been some substantial improvements in this area, particularly in middle school math, over the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I have two children attending our lady of lourdes school and they are both doing very well. It is nice to know the families of the kids your children spend time with. There is a great amount of parental involvement in all things related to the school. The kids get all the help they need in class activities and learning. There are also many outside of the classroom activities aimed at making learning fun, math fairs, reading and writing fairs, etc. There is quite a bit of diversity so that all of the kids understand all kids are unique in their own way and they all are valuable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

OLOL is a very comfortable Catholic school. The families are close enough but not snooty like at some of the private schools. Academics and discipline are good. It's a commuter type school with many of the students being driven in from other parts of the city. Overall it's a solid low-frills school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

My child just finished K at Our Lady of Lourdes and his experience (and mine) were 100% positive. The teachers are excellent, not only well-qualified, but genuinely caring about the needs of each child as an individual. The school provides a safe and extremely nurturing environment. My child has already established what I hope will be a life-long foundation of respect for others and moral principles. Academically, he has learned to read, do basic math and been taught beginning writing skills. He loves school and is on the road to academic success, thanks to Our Lady of Lourdes and its standard of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 77%
Two or more races 11% 1%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Black 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Salt Lake
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1065 East 700 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
Phone: (801) 364-5624

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The McGillis School
Salt Lake City, UT


M Lynn Bennion School
Salt Lake City, UT


Rowland Hall
Salt Lake City, UT



Bryant Middle School
Salt Lake City, UT


City Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT