Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Judge Memorial Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 166 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $217,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2014

We could not be happier with the education at Judge Memorial High School. Great school. Wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

The school, staff and mission makes this one of the best schools in the nation. Quality over quantity along with a strong sense of community makes Judge superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2013

After having our oldest son graduate from Juan Diego, the other Catholic school in Salt Lake City, we transferred our second son (now a jr) and daughter (freshman) to Judge. We have been thrilled with Judge and can't believe the difference. We thought our son at JD was getting a fantastic education at JD until his senior year when his test scores had all dropped significantly despite having an overall GPA of over 3.5. Our middle son is struggling to catch up with his peers at Judge after his first 2 years at JD. We also feel the spiritual aspect of Judge is superior to JD. We can't believe what a difference there is between the schools and would wholeheartedly recommend Judge to any parent or student. Our kids love Judge and the education is amazing. Community is also fantastic. Can't say enough about the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

By Far the Best High School in the Western States. They know their job is educating and preparing Kids for college and that's what they do. Class of 2010 was 184 Students, every single one graduated and at least 180 of them went to college, the class received in excess of 14million dollars in College Scholarships, sent multiple kids to multiple Ivy league colleges, as well as Annapolis, West Point and the Air Force academy. No other school in the inter-mountain are can say that! And they are prepared and succeed. Worth every penny of the tuition I've paid, because now I'm not paying one penny for college. I'm pretty sure that no School District can make those claims, let a lone a single High School...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

It is not a college prep school per se yet almost 95% go to college. The alumnae are close and everyone knows who attended even though the graduation dates are years apart. The school ranks as one of the highest in the area even compared to private schools who test for admission. It is very hard not to succeed if you attended Judge Memorial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

By far the best prep school in the state. We liked Rowland Hall--and my daughter went there for 1 year--but it was just too small. She wanted a real high school experience and Judge provides that and more. This school reminds me of the best college prep schools on the west coast, which is where my husband and I both grew up. We are very happy with Judge and the leadership is much better now than it was a few years ago when my son graduated from Judge in 2004.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Judge is a great place if you want to pay $9,000 a year for your kid to have far less classes offered and inferior teachers than Utah Public schools have. Judge Memorial uses crappy text books, sold at a premium. Judge Memorial calls itself a 'College Prep School.' They only prepare kids to continue shelling out money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2006

Alumni: Judge Memorial Catholic High School provided the environment needed for success. The curriculum was intellectually stimulating and the student body was the best in the state. I will be attending law school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2005

I am actually not a parent yet a former student who graduated in 1999. JMCHS was a very positive and joyful experience for me. The teachers were all very geniune and the studies were well taught. Because of my experience with my Catholic education from K-12 I plan to give me son the same luxury.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2004

We have found JMCHS to be an excellent school. The size, curriculum, parent involvment, and sports have been great. Our 2 kids love it. The principal is very, very involved at every level and is always available for consultation. He cares! The athletics are outstanding. They are big enough to provide many choices. Academically, the math program excells with 4 levels of math for every grade. There are many choices in the science department as well. It is a great place for children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Judge Memorial itself is a fine school. Good students, good faculty, etc. The principal, however, leaves something to be desired. He gives us little consideration and respect and makes us feel like our concerns don't matter. I personally have brought many things to his attention over the past months concerning curriculim, school events, etc., and have never gotten a response to any of them. A principal who doesn't make students feel like they matter shouldn't be a principal.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 77%
Hispanic 14% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Salt Lake
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 South 1100 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 363-8895

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East High School
Salt Lake City, UT


Rowland Hall
Salt Lake City, UT



City Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


Mountain Heights Academy
West Jordan, UT


K12 International Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT