Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
386 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
We have four children attending Cosgriff and our academic experience has been outstanding. The principal runs a tight ship and instills an unparalleled level of commitment, discipline and community involvement in the children. She serves as a fine example to the students and is there at the entrance to greet each student, every morning. The school offers a high level of personal tutoring and mentoring, including homework club and breakout sessions for students needing additional instruction. The faculty and staff encourage a high degree of participation in extracurricular activities (band, sports and plays) and create an endearing sense of community beyond the classroom. Exceptional education at a compelling value.

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
The Principal, Betsy Hunt, shows an extraordinary level of commitment to each student and genuinely invests herself into their individual success.


J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
We have now been involved with JE Cosgriff for 6 years. It is a great school both academically and socially. We are not Catholic but have always felt included and welcome in the parish/ school community. We also have personal experience with a myriad of tutoring and mentoring programs and are grateful for the time, interest and care the staff and administration have demonstrated with our children. As in any situation in life you get out of it what you are willing to put in, get involved and you will be rewarded. We volunteer often and are actively engaged in the community. I would give it my strongest recommendation. We are proud that our family is associated with JE Cosgriff. Mark Isaac.

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 1

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
Families who are nervous about sending their children to public schools because of their own negative experiences or rumors of negative experiences in public schools should really hink twice before deciding on enclosing their children in a strict parochial school like J. E. Cosgriff. When our family was first introduced to the school, it seemed like a great community and the small class size appealed to us. However, after your children attend school there, however, you begin to realize the pitfalls of that kid of environment. Bullying situations and poor behavior among students will easily ruin a child's school experience because they cannot be moved to any another class and are essentially stuck in that environment perpetually, for the entirety of their education. A few bad teachers become a really big deal. Spending 7 hours a day with a negative teacher on top of students who are unfriendly really does affect a child's self-esteem and attitude toward other people. The small environment of this school becomes a negative element. Most families will really find themselves better off in a public school, and should be reassured that public schools have gotten much better.

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
We have been sending our children to Cosgriff for five years now and have been completely happy in every way. Academically, philathropically and the excecptional faculty and staff cannot be matched at any other private Catholic school in Utah. The education the chilren receive enables them so that they are all being challenged at their own learning level. We are a Catholic family but have many, many friends at the school who are not Catholic. We have never experienced anything buy an extremely open and service oriented community, no matter if you are Catholic or not. The children are instilled with a sense of responsibility to their community and respect for their peers and educators, in addition to their unmatched education with many state and national awards


J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
We have had a great experience at Cosgriff. The academic and behavior standards are very high. This does not appeal to everyone. For kids who are able to stretch themselves and parents who make education a priority, it is a great school. Bullying is not tolerated. Academic standards are challenging. We have been at the school for six years. We have had great teachers. The principal works hard to keep good teachers and maintain high standards.

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 1

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
My children attended this school for several years and we left very dissatisfied with most all aspects of this community. We found the school to be EXTREMELY clicky. This community is not accepting of diversity of any kind and exclusion is very much present. There are severe behavioral issues with students as well as parents and since parent volunteers are such a large part of the schools structure, favoritism is abundant. We had negative experiences with the sports programs at Cosgriff due to the favoritism issues as well. We are Catholic but chose not to attend the parish due to the unfriendly and unwelcoming environment. Faculty/management did nothing to solve these issues even after addressing the problems with them directly over a period of time. Faculty behavior actually added to the conflict. The educational experience was positive but not worth all the negative aspects of this school.

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 1

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
Our children attended Cosgriff for years, and we left disappointed. This is a good community if you are staunchly Catholic, attend church regularly in that parish, and feel fine about shunning nonCatholics. Those who are outside the religious majority do not do well there & are treated poorly, both by parish members & faculty. The education that students receive at Cosgriff is, in ways, the most positive aspect of the school. They offer good support to children who need it outside the classroom and fair dedication to academic excellence. But teachers, in general, only teach classes as a whole. And there is a problem with some of the teachers & staff. No individual focus exists for student academics within classes, & there are behavioral problems among both students and parents. The academics are no better than what you get in good public schools. Teacher turnover and friction with management are serious issues. The only reason to pay for this parochial school is to reinforce staunchly religious ideals and retain an extra degree of control over your children's social experience. For a broader, more accepting experience and equivalent academics, find a good public school.


J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 1

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
Fair education but with problems. Individual ratings of school services: General quality of academics 4* Effectiveness of teachers 2* Extracurricular programs 1* Attitude of students / willingness to accept others 1* Special programs - science fair 5* Comparison to public school academics 2* Staff support & friendliness 2* Modern teaching of morality & decency 3* Quality of peers - parents & children- attitude, friendliness, maturity 2* Value for investment 1* Fair school academically. Fundamental problems with social structure & environment. One-class limitation makes peer groups so small that kids get sick of each other after the first few years. As a result, many cliques form and children are left out. Most parents seem fine accepting that as long as their own children do not face that. Administration conflicts & ridiculous behavior from parents complicates daily harmony. Is one of most affordable private schools, but with weaknesses in the academic programs --- particularly math. Art program is fantastic. Prevalence of gossip & immature back-biting by overactive parents & studentbody. By and large, a declining atmosphere for the harmony of many students.

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Students at JE Cosgriff are well rounded individuals that strive to be life long learners. JE Cosgriff has an outstanding faculty that teaches to each students individual needs. The students at JE Cosgriff are well prepared academically and are furnished with the tools to act in a socially responsible manner.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School
2335 Redondo Avenue, Salt Lake City, UT  84108
(801) 486-3197
Last modified J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
J E Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top