Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concordia Preparatory School

Private | 9-12 | 10 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $243,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2008

I have had 2 children attend Salt Lake Lutheran High over the past 8 years and am getting ready to enroll 2 more as they graduate over the next 2 years from Jr. high. This school is an awesome place for young adults to become themselves. There are very few, if any, cliques that you find in larger schools. Everyone is excepted for who they are. The classes are challenging and have prepared both of my older children to be successful in college and in their young adult life. Parents are involved and staff members genuinely care about each and every student. This school is unique. It does not compete with the larger private schools and is not designed too. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants to see their child grown in their own self-confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

This school allowed my son and daughter to graduate from Harvard and Princeton, and they have become extremely successful. They got very high SAT Scores also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I have been teaching at LHS for the last 9 years and I would like to add something that I feel is missing from the other reviews. Any staff member can talk up their school, facilities, programs etc.; but I would like to say that it is the people at LHS who make it special, the students and families, the other teachers, the administration, I have enjoyed being in such a warm caring environment where 'loving neighbor as yourself' is more the rule than the exception!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2007

As a Lutheran High graduate, I can vouch for the school's college prep program. While I do wish I would have had more AP opportunities, the classes I took were probably equivalent to public school honors' courses and more than adequately prepared me for university coursework. The environment is kind and caring. I would recommend Lutheran High to anyone looking to get a positive experience in their high school education.


Posted March 9, 2006

Lutheran High is the place to be if you would like to feel special. This is the time of life when teens need to feel special. The teachers care if you succeed. The staff is personally invested in your child's success. Children have many opportunities to participate in academic, sports, musicals, student gov. etc. Children are able to receive life long skills to communicate with others. I have had 3 children graduate from here who have gone on to to become very successful adults. They care about their fellow human beings. They were able to go to college with a high self asteem, thus making their college experience that much more fullfilling. What a great place to become an adult
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

Salt Lake Lutheran High is a great place to send your children. Lutheran High is a great place for christian fellowship and education. Most of the students at Lutheran High are welcoming and open to new students. Lutheran High doesn't really have 'clicks' so your child is bound to fit in somewhere. The staff at Lutheran High is great, teachers are willing, helpful, encouraging, and nice. The curriculum at Lutheran High is very nice. The subjects tagught at Lutheran High are both useful as well as taught well. If you are interested in getting a great education for your child I can say from expierence that Salt Lake Lutheran High is the place for it. Sincerly, A proud parent of a SLLHS student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

First and foremost,the name of the school is Salt Lake Lutheran High School. This is the schools 21st year of business and is accredited through the Northwest Association of Accredited Schools. Therefore, we have an outstanding academic program. We are a college prepatory school and our ACT scores average at 25.5 (National 19.4)Whoever would write something so vendictive apparently is not associated with our school. We have a wonderful staff and teachers that have many years of experience and Masters Degrees in Education. We have several extra curricular opportunities that include sports, clubs, drama and yearbook, just to name a few. We have a 'Parents Group' that helps with fundraising and many other activities. We strive to be one of the top private schools in the Salt Lake area and we do it with pride. Roxanne Riches Secretary/Salt Lake Lutheran High School.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 29, 2004

Salt Lake Lutheran High is a place to educate children abut conformity and distorted Christianity. They few if any college prep courses. I would not recommend anyone who plans on continuing their education in college to attend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 35% 2%
Black 6% 1%
Hispanic 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4020 South 900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84124
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 266-6676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kauri Sue Hamilton
Riverton, UT


Stillwater Academy
South Jordan, UT



Paradigm High School
South Jordan, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT