Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Madeleine Choir School

Private | PK-8 | 280 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $266,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

We have been here for 4 years, and both of our children love it. Our son in in Pre-K and the teacher is incredibly patient and makes learning so much fun. She has gotten our son, who wouldn't even try to draw a circle before school, to write all of his letters, pictures of all kinds, and love learning. They also have a very broad curriculum, unlike public school. They begin Spanish in Pr-K, they also have music, violin starting in 2nd grade, art and pe. The teachers are all such a high caliber of educator, and the parents are very involved. The music education is amazing, and the basic curriculum is thorough and challenging. It is worth the money to send our children here. Education is about children, not standardized testing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

As a parent whose two children graduated from here (2006, 2012), I can't say enough about the quality of education they received. Your children will receive a classical education here: music from Kindergarten forward, music theory beginning in Grade 4, Latin beginning in Grade 4, violin in Grades 2 and 3, and choir in Grades 5-8... plus a top-notch science and math curriculum, and a delightful art teacher/classes! Students learn respect, personal responsibility, and the desire to do excellent work. The choir commitment is quite demanding and absolutely worth it. This isn't a regular "school choir" -- this choir is recording CDs and performing to sell-out crowds, and touring Europe every two years, and domestically every other year. While both my children were choristers, they also both excel in math and science. I'm certain there's a correlation! Come check out this school; private tours are always accommodated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

This is an excellent school! This school has a fun atmosphere. it is a big choir commitment. There is also a program for called collegium who are not good enough to be in choir or just do not have enough time. The teachers are great. I absolutely love it! I have learned so much. I have been to Italy and Spain for this school! I will never forget that experience. It can be a bit challenging, but it will set you up for an excellent high school and college career. You will not regret sending your kids to this school!


Posted January 8, 2010

The School is now under the administration of its original founder. It continues to bring world-class choral music to its community and extraordinary educational opportunities to its students.


Posted November 21, 2009

Incredible school! The caliber of the teachers is the best I've experienced while being there! Very strong 10+ have their Masters or two! My child went on to test into the higher Math, Science and Language (Latin) classes in High School after graduating from the Choir School. They were very forthcoming with the choir involvement. With my 3 students of various grades the choir component has paid off in so many ways!! Time management, discipline, the focus on service to others, in addition to the advance music training they receive. They also have a great Athletic program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Great school in the past. This year six new teachers. Less experienced and it shows. What they don't tell you about is the huge choir commitment starting in 5th grade. Hard to balance kids' outside interests with choir. Kids not intent on music and choir feel left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

My son has been with the school since K, and is now in 3rd grade. We love the school, especially it's focused on music. Music supports all aspects of the solid, well-rounded curriculum, and the sense of community is like no other. My child loves going to school, isn't that the ultimate litmus test?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

School has excellent faculty and music program. Discipline is uniform and fairly enforced. The choir has opportunities to sing nationally as well as abroad. Excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

This school is the most wonderful school I have ever attended. It has the most amazing sense of security and the community is outstanding. I will be so sad to leave next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

Outstanding Catholic school. The children are given a solid, well rounded and unique education in a close knit academic community. Absolutely love it! being a part off being a part o
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

I was so lucky that I got in and I feel blessed that I went there, I really wish I could've started learning at this profession of expert kid singers much earlier. Thinking about all the memories I have from there, remembering the singing, the people and everything, this led me to believe that this was literally my dream school. I recommend that all you parents looking for a good school for your kids that you should sned them to MCS.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2006

What a surprise in Salt Lake City. This Gem of a school provides a challenging academic program, teaches respect front and back and gives such confidence to young people in a secure environment. From Kindergarten, which happens to have one of the most gifted teachers I have ever experienced to eighth grade where these kids are more prepared for the world than any private school we have interviewed in Utah.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

MCS is an exciting place to be. The children are engaged and busy. They are challenged in the classroom and love to learn. The school serves a unique mission and the children are excited to be a part of it. The school has struggled with its leadership and its close connection to the very conservative Cathedral.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

I am a student at MCS (Madeliene Choir School) and personally, i love it there! This is my second year at Madeleine, and I've get a billlion calls from my old friends calling for math, science, social studies, and music questions. Everyone says 'Well Madeleine Choir School is based upon singing,' well it's not just singing. People think all we do is sing during the day, but thats not all! We usually have three or four periods with our homeroom teachers, then we have choir, lunch, and then other subjects like math, science and religion. I absolutly love my teachers. They show you respect, and treat you as a young adult. No matter what day it is you see soccer players practicing outside, basketball players on the court. The parent involvement is amazing! I believe i know all my friends parents. Madeleine Rocks! It's a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2005

My son started at Madeleine Choir School two years ago. Before joining he was extremely shy and was often second-guessing his actions. He is now a confident, charismatic 11 year old boy with a beautiful soprano voice! Madeleine has instilled these tremendous qualities. We are all very proud of him and grateful that we enrolled him at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

My daughter has been at this school for 3 years and the growth they have seen is incredible. My daughter has excelled at math, latin, languages and music. She has sung the rarely performed 'Passion of Christ' by Bach, in German, sang in 4 cathedrals in Austria and Germany and she is only 11. Most importantly the school has instilled a sense of social responsibility, concern and kindness for people of all faiths and cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

This school is amazing! It gives such great opportunities to young people everywhere. Without this school who knows where i'd be along with many other students. It is such a great community full of kind, generous, caring people who are always willing to help each other. It is an amazing institution with great academic success. It is like a highschool prepatory which helps you to build up study habits that you may not have learned other wise. In the end it is an excellent academic musical institution filled with great leadership.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 77%
Hispanic 16% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Black 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Salt Lake
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 East 1st Avenue
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Phone: (801) 323-9850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Open Classroom
Salt Lake City, UT


Alianza Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


City Academy
Salt Lake City, UT



Bryant Middle School
Salt Lake City, UT


K12 International Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT