Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
388 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Madeleine Choir School 3

Posted May 31, 2016
- a teacher
Madeleine Choir School offers a unique experience but doesn't fully explain the choir commitment to parents until it's late in their education. The demand of the choir program coupled with 2-3 hours of nightly homework that begins in earnest in 6th grade and is relentless through 7th & 8th grades does not allow kids to be kids. These kids are no more prepared for IB Programs or Cathloic High School than kids coming from other Cathloic Schools or advanced placement courses. Teacher turnover is high. Teachers job share and make it difficult for kids to access teachers; kids can easily have up to 5 tests in one week. One dissapointing fact is they will stress to you tgey are not a "test heavy school." Completely false. I've heard kids getting anxiety because there is constant testing. There is no emphasis on Science or Social Studies. They might have only 1 test in an entire quarter. The school uses the AimsWEB testing and it only focuses on Math & Reading, hence the focus in class.

Madeleine Choir School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a teacher
They intimidate students by telling them "if you don't do well on this test, you will bomb your grade." Really, when is that acceptable motivational speaking?


Madeleine Choir School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 31, 2016
- a teacher
I think they try to impart these values but the kids are not always a great example of this. I think too many students are intimidated by staff.

Madeleine Choir School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
We have been here for 4 years, and both of our children love it. Our son in in Pre-K and the teacher is incredibly patient and makes learning so much fun. She has gotten our son, who wouldn't even try to draw a circle before school, to write all of his letters, pictures of all kinds, and love learning. They also have a very broad curriculum, unlike public school. They begin Spanish in Pr-K, they also have music, violin starting in 2nd grade, art and pe. The teachers are all such a high caliber of educator, and the parents are very involved. The music education is amazing, and the basic curriculum is thorough and challenging. It is worth the money to send our children here. Education is about children, not standardized testing!

Madeleine Choir School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
As a parent whose two children graduated from here (2006, 2012), I can't say enough about the quality of education they received. Your children will receive a classical education here: music from Kindergarten forward, music theory beginning in Grade 4, Latin beginning in Grade 4, violin in Grades 2 and 3, and choir in Grades 5-8... plus a top-notch science and math curriculum, and a delightful art teacher/classes! Students learn respect, personal responsibility, and the desire to do excellent work. The choir commitment is quite demanding and absolutely worth it. This isn't a regular "school choir" -- this choir is recording CDs and performing to sell-out crowds, and touring Europe every two years, and domestically every other year. While both my children were choristers, they also both excel in math and science. I'm certain there's a correlation! Come check out this school; private tours are always accommodated!


Madeleine Choir School 5

Posted November 21, 2010
- a community member
This is an excellent school! This school has a fun atmosphere. it is a big choir commitment. There is also a program for called collegium who are not good enough to be in choir or just do not have enough time. The teachers are great. I absolutely love it! I have learned so much. I have been to Italy and Spain for this school! I will never forget that experience. It can be a bit challenging, but it will set you up for an excellent high school and college career. You will not regret sending your kids to this school!

Madeleine Choir School 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a community member
The School is now under the administration of its original founder. It continues to bring world-class choral music to its community and extraordinary educational opportunities to its students.

Madeleine Choir School
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
Incredible school! The caliber of the teachers is the best I've experienced while being there! Very strong 10+ have their Masters or two! My child went on to test into the higher Math, Science and Language (Latin) classes in High School after graduating from the Choir School. They were very forthcoming with the choir involvement. With my 3 students of various grades the choir component has paid off in so many ways!! Time management, discipline, the focus on service to others, in addition to the advance music training they receive. They also have a great Athletic program!


Madeleine Choir School 3

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
Great school in the past. This year six new teachers. Less experienced and it shows. What they don't tell you about is the huge choir commitment starting in 5th grade. Hard to balance kids' outside interests with choir. Kids not intent on music and choir feel left out.

Madeleine Choir School
no rating

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
My son has been with the school since K, and is now in 3rd grade. We love the school, especially it's focused on music. Music supports all aspects of the solid, well-rounded curriculum, and the sense of community is like no other. My child loves going to school, isn't that the ultimate litmus test?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madeleine Choir School
205 East 1st Avenue, Salt Lake City, UT  84103
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (801) 323-9850
Last modified Madeleine Choir School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top