Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

City Academy

Charter | 7-12 | 210 students

We are best known for focus on students & learning.

 
 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $217,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

I am currently a senior at City Academy, and all I can say about this school is that it is the worst. The grading system is hurting my chances at graduating, more than it is helping. If you miss a single assignment, it fails you for the whole quarter. The faculty is disorganized and not fit for teaching at all. The teaching method most teachers use is the "Here is a packet that I need you to do, but I'm not gonna explain to you how to do it". The building is too small for the amount of people they have. This school is losing money, and they know it. They've really messed up the whole "community" that this school used to have. If you really want to graduate high school or actually have a real high school experience, do not come to this school.


Posted August 25, 2013

We relocated to S.L.C. so that my son could attend City Academy and have had a very positive experience. He has excelled in so many areas and full credit is due to the teachers and staff who truly care and want your child to succeed. My son has been in a rural charter school for elementary and I was a little hesitant in placing him in an urban high school, however have had no regrets after seeing how well he has progressed in his first year. He is now happily and enthusiastically heading into his second year. City Academy has an amazing group of young students, and in my experience I have found them to be very respectful and eager to help. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who is looking for small classes, fantastic teachers and a place where your student will be academically challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I am so happy that we found City Academy, and now after 4 years at the school my son is about to start his Senior year and we are so impressed with the education he has received. The teachers and administration truly care about the students succeeding academically as well as personally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

We are very happy to have found City Academy. Our daughter is thriving in all subjects and she is getting very good foundations in mathematics, language arts and sciences. She used to be shy and withdrawn, but she has opened up and gained lots of confidence and knowledge. We are grateful to all teachers and staff for making her feel good about herself and encouraging her to achieve the best she can. Teachers at City Academy care a lot about each student and help them overcome individual challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

this school is "making a difference" in the lives of many students and educators. Many people ask me what this school specializes in. This school specializes in the INDIVIDUAL student. Each student is valued for who they by both the staff and the students. This is my daughters 3rd year at City and she was excited for summer to end and a chance to return to school as a senior. I anticipated the academics to be inferior to our "home" sr high school but have been pleasantly surprised. I also anticipated many "problem" students and instead found many individuals who do not want problems. Kids that want to learn and be respected for who they are and what they can become. The educators show great respect for the students and the students in turn show great respect for the educators. City believes in service learning and hands on learning. They show that we can all make a difference in our world. There is a joy in learning and being successful. I am grateful to City Academy and its founders daily for a place for my daughter to successfuly learn, grow, be challenged and valued. My only regret is not being brave enough to move to City Academy earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

We have been very impressed with City Academy. The acedemic climate is challenging, far beyond what I have seen at other schools. Our daughter is in her second year there and we will absolutely not consider changing schools before graduation. Her learning is deep and her freinds are wonderful. I could not ask for a better place to prepare her for college and her life beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Learning for each and every student is the highest priority, What my sons have learned academically, socially, and personally is truly wonderful. They are quite engaged and really enjoy being there. My happiness grows as many beautiful changes continue to unfold in my sons. In a nutshell, the precious balance of funding is optimized toward smaller class sizes, and more importantly to maintain a great faculty and staff that is dedicated to engaging each and every student in learning. The internationally recognized Cambridge Curriculum & Testing provides an excellent platform for content and critical thinking. Sometimes I wish that CA had more resources for physical infrastructure and school programs, but only if it would not compromise the deep levels of learning that are happening there for the students. In my mind, CA is using our tax dollars magnificently. After all the schools we looked at over the years, each of us in the family is very thankful to have City Academy shining in our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

I have worked for City Academy in a non-teaching, support capacity for 6 full years and now over half of the 10/11 School Year. I am consistently impressed with the quality of the teaching, the genuine concern that the teachers and staff have for every student's success, and the culture of community and civic responsibility that this school has. I would recommend that people visit City Academy and find out for themselves how great an opportunity this school offers for their children's education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 5, 2011

I am a student and soon to be former. I have been at this school for not even a whole year given it tons of chances and simply can't stand it. The kids here are so scared from their past they can't except new people. There is a HUGE drug use problem. Some of the classes are ahead, but others well.. they are overly behind. I would NEVER recommend this school to anyone because of it's lack of respect for others, drug use, gang problem, and grading system. This school flat out lied on what it was said to be.


Posted May 11, 2010

Amazing academic program! My daughter is doing more critical thinking this year than ever before. She is also FINALLY interested in the world around her and is more conscious about how she impacts it. Supprttive does not even begin to describe the teachers there. Never in her school career have I seen such dedication and committment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

We love this school! Its only our first year and our daughter is expanding her mind so much. She is more conscentious about in-depth study into a topic, she is learning the lost art of critical thinking, and she is shining every time school is mentioned. The teachers are dedicated, approachable, and actually show interest in my daughter's success. It is a wonderful place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

I have been fortunate to have two of my children attend City Academy, one having already graduated, and the other about to. The education they received has not only included academic excellence at its core, now using the international Cambridge system, but has also provided my students an education in personal responsibility, a sense of what it means to belong to a larger community, as well as targeted help whenever needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

The respectful and open interactions between teachers/administrators and students prepare students for futher education and the world of work. The learning environment encourages exploration and real-life application of skills and concepts. The progress reporting system allows the student, parent and teacher to evaluate progress on many levels. Did the student perform at their best? Did they turn work in on time? Do they participate in class? Are they able to collaborate and work well with peers and adults? Is there noticeable personal and academic growth?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Small classes and commited faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I've been going to the school for three years and I really enjoy it. I think some of the teachers are the best I've had. Sure it's a small school that doesn't have a lot of money but it's still a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2007

The commitment of the teachers and administration to the students and creating an open learning environment is outstanding. Small class sizes allow for individual attention and 'hands-on project based' learning. The learning is also 'inquiry-based' where the students are working to answer questions - instead of 'today we are studying Roman civilization' they ask, 'was Rome civilized?'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

Some great teachers and great learning but at least half the teachers are poor. Leadership and communication is poor from the administration. Great idea but not enough money to carry out. Still, a good alternative for some students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
58%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 78%
Hispanic 17% 15%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian 3% 2%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Utah
Westminster College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  •  State Finalist in the Mock Trial competition, represented Utah at the national Mock Trial competition (2011)
  • High Performing Title I HIgh School (2011)
  •  Recognized by HP & DoSomething.org as one of the top 5 most environmentally conscious schools in the nation. (2011)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sonia Woodbury
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (801) 521-4181

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • winter sports, flag football, ultimate
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • winter sports, ultimate

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Utah
Westminster College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 East 200 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 596-8489

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bryant Middle School
Salt Lake City, UT


Open Classroom
Salt Lake City, UT


Madeleine Choir School
Salt Lake City, UT



K12 International Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT