Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
I have been impressed with most my teachers at this school, but often some very bad teachers have slipped under the radar.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
Yes, one of their biggest principals is grit and is strongly emphasized, but could be more enforced.


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 2

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
I am currently a freshman at AMES and hate it. The school is not academically rigorous, as it claims, and thinks way to highly of it self. The only reason they score high on tests and ratings is that most the students there either chose to be there or were forced to go there by their parents because of its undeserved reputation, which continues because of the students attracted their. One of the worst parts about AMES is the sport and social aspects. There are no sports teams and PE credit is awarded easily by either filling out a fitness packet or taking a class in which you walk. Instead of taking extra-curricular activities from AMES you take it from the school they are housed in (Cottonwood high school). While this seems wonderful, the relationship between the two schools is extremely poor and their communication is worse. If you do wish to do Cottonwood activities, you have to often choose between Cottonwood activities and AMES activities often, because often major things such as Prom and graduation are scheduled carelessly at the exact same time. AMES also starts during Cottonwood's second period, and to accommodate adds a fifth period that dismisses at 3:45. This also makes after school activities from Cottonwood difficult, and when the only "sport" at AMES is robotics, your pretty much out of luck. Traditional high school practices are often nonexistent or extremely altered. Our student counsel isn't elected, but appointed completely by the teachers. All school dances are poorly organized, and are not date dances as a normal high schools have. Finally, if you are planning to go to any other college besides the University of Utah you are a small minority. From day one they push you as hard as they can towards the U, and act as if everyone is going to end up their. I would not recommend this school to anyone if they care about their extra-curricular activities and wish for a normal high school environment.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
While in some of my classes the homework was just right, my history and geography classes, which were supposed to lead up to an AP test, required very little homework, maybe a half hour every two weeks.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
Many students come out of this school disrespectful and some teachers have bad classroom control. However, many students are respectful


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
There are many teachers who do care deeply about the students and their education and success.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
Many teachers, especially administration, will make accommodations for some students that they won't for others.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted February 14, 2015
- a student
I am currently a junior here at AMES. I think this school is great for anyone from any kind of background. At AMES there are a lot of AP classes to take, as well as classes from the University of Utah. Nearly all seniors are in at least one University class. We can also take classes from Cottonwood high school, where there are other concerant enrollment and AP classes we can take in language, art, music, and other subjects. I love the environment at AMES. Comparing it to other schools I've gone to and the Cottonwood classes I have had, AMES teachers and students are far more friendly than any other school. Since it's a small school, basically all of the people in each grade know each other and a lot of the people in other grades. Overall, I would suggest this school to anyone, no matter what their situation is.


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 2

Posted October 15, 2011
- a student
I am currently a very unhappy sophomore at AMES. This school, while it has a great reputation, does not live up to what all that it claims. Teachers are supportive but teach to only those they see 'need' the help. Administration will listen and sympathize to situations or problems, but will never make an advance to fix them. The student body is comprised of about 40-50% of students that don't want to be at the school, and the remaining are either settling because they don't care or truly enjoying their experience. The social aspect of AMES is almost entirely segregated by race and leaves very little room for those who aren't close to others of their 'skin color'. The three R's of AMES are rigor, relevance, and relationships. The rigor of this school is by far less than those of normal AP or IB programs at other schools. The relevance of the classes often have nothing to do with applying an education to real life but applying what you know to pass a test or exam. The relationships of AMES are lacking and often superficial. I would not recommend this school to any student, male or female, looking for a challenge and purpose in their education.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted August 18, 2010
- a student
I'm just about to be a Senior at AMES. It's a fantastic school, I love it. The teachers are very into getting you prepared for college and encouraging you to reach your full potential. Not only can you take AMES classes, but you can also take classes through Cottonwood High School, such as languages, art, music, and sports. It's a school dedicated to helping their students, the teachers are great, and it's also a lot of fun. No matter what your interests are, I would recommend AMES to any high school student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
5715 South 1300 East, Salt Lake City, UT  84121
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (801) 278-9460
Last modified Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top