Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 2

Posted October 15, 2011
- a student
I am currently a very unhappy sophomore at AMES. This school, while it has a great reputation, does not live up to what all that it claims. Teachers are supportive but teach to only those they see 'need' the help. Administration will listen and sympathize to situations or problems, but will never make an advance to fix them. The student body is comprised of about 40-50% of students that don't want to be at the school, and the remaining are either settling because they don't care or truly enjoying their experience. The social aspect of AMES is almost entirely segregated by race and leaves very little room for those who aren't close to others of their 'skin color'. The three R's of AMES are rigor, relevance, and relationships. The rigor of this school is by far less than those of normal AP or IB programs at other schools. The relevance of the classes often have nothing to do with applying an education to real life but applying what you know to pass a test or exam. The relationships of AMES are lacking and often superficial. I would not recommend this school to any student, male or female, looking for a challenge and purpose in their education.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted August 18, 2010
- a student
I'm just about to be a Senior at AMES. It's a fantastic school, I love it. The teachers are very into getting you prepared for college and encouraging you to reach your full potential. Not only can you take AMES classes, but you can also take classes through Cottonwood High School, such as languages, art, music, and sports. It's a school dedicated to helping their students, the teachers are great, and it's also a lot of fun. No matter what your interests are, I would recommend AMES to any high school student.


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
AMES in Salt Lake City, UT is a thriving ECHS (Early College High School) that exudes excellence in learning. The AMES Principal and staff consistently dedicate themselves to empowering a diverse student body to 'reach for the stars' and pursue a college education. Students are challenged to reach their full potential, and given full support to do so. It is truly a rare culture that fills the halls and classrooms of this fine school, a model that certainly many other schools could learn and grow from. I am proud to have my child attend this fine academy.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted January 18, 2009
- a student
I am a Sophomore attending AMES. I think the school environment is great. The teacher actually learn you students name, and they are always willing to help with anything your student needs.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a student
I am a senior in AMES. The school is great the teacher and student relationshisp is diferent from other schools. whe see our teacher as friends that we can go and talk about our problems in school and outside the school. They encourage us to seek a better education by goin to college. If you are serious about your education AMES is the right place for you.


Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 2

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) 5

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
When I compare my children s academic achievements with those of my colleagues the average college entrance test scores are higher students academic achievements gives them more scholarships and their partnership with the University of Utah, not only gives actual college credits from a 4 year university, but gives the student whom must compete with college students for their grades, the understanding of how to handle the rigors of college academic life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames)
5715 South 1300 East, Salt Lake City, UT  84121
(801) 278-9460
Last modified Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Academy For Math Engineering & Science (Ames) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top