Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salt Lake Arts Academy

Charter | 5-8 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 25 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2012

My son used to complain about going to school. Now he doesn't. He is engaged and challenged. Teachers, Principal are super.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

We have the last of three boys attending the school presently. We love it because of the exposure the children get. Besides the normal curriculum of math, English, science, etc., that you get at any school, the arts side of this school is what really sets it apart. The fact that the children are exposed to plays, ballets, museum exhibits, public transportation and the like, I feel gives them a head up as they enter high school. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

This is our 2nd year at SL Arts and it has been a great choice for my daughter. She is engaged, challenged and happy. Her teachers really know her and both teachers and administration are very responsive to concerns and suggestions. It is a caring school community and very open to unique and creative children. SL Arts is very committed to making the middle school years easier to get through and a time that kids strengthen their love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

This is an excellent school. Our son has flourished there through interactions with committed, passionate and skilled teachers, and terrific leadership from the principal. There is immediate attention to all community issues that arise and students are expected (and encouraged) to be good community members. It's a unique education. Creativity + excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

Salt Lake Arts Academy has been a perfect fit for my 5th Grade Boy. He is happy and motivated to be in school. His academic performance has increased and so has his confidence. He can't wait to get to school to learn and interact with his teachers. The teachers are engaged and the principal and staff provide leadership and guidance in a setting that encourages independence while nurturing the students. I can not say enough good things about the Salt Lake Arts Academy. I am so pleased in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I love this school. My 5th grader was not being challenged enough at her other school and now I feel she is. When I went to her Parent Teacher Conference, I heard nothing but positive things about my daughter, whereas with the other school, they were always so negative because my daughter "talks" more than the average child. But Salt Lake Arts Academy's teachers said that it was a positive thing that she is so social. I HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone, very good school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I've had five children attend the Arts Academy. My oldest one (now a high school senior) repeatedly says that all of high school math has been a breeze because of Ms. Simms. The principal, Ms. Wadsworth, shows her genuine concern for each student by taking the time to review and write a little note on each report card. Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

This school has the most dedicated and amazing administrator who knows each child and is genuinely concerned about their welfare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

We have just finished out my son's 4 years at the Salt Lake Arts Academy and my daughter has just started there. My son has excelled his first term in high school because of how prepared SLArts made him. He entered SLArts feeling alone and directionless and left SLArts confident and driven. We could not have asked for a more productive and transformative middle school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

We had a huge problem with student bullying, theft and teachers flying off the wall, breaking things in the classroom, making students cry and not preventing bullying. If you were not in the "in crowd" you were not treated with kindness or respect like parents who donated a lot of time and $$$ to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Great Art program and the teachers are Awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Amazing teachers that let the kids be creative and engaged in their learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I've been really happy with the progress my child has made this year at the Arts Academy. He is super motivated and happy to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

The Salt Lake Arts Academy offers a healthy balance of academics and arts. My child loves all of the teachers and feels confidence in his abilities to be creative, successful, and to express himself as an 'Out-Of-The-Box' thinker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

It sounds counter-intuitive that the Arts Academy has the best math and science teachers/programs around, but they do! That is why it is the best fit for BOTH of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Hands on teachers and principal. Involved parents! Helping the community with service projects. Great music and arts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The Salt Lake Arts Academy is a truly amazing school. The students receive a superb education in math, science and humanities but also get to incorporate and experience all the arts. They have the ability to express themselves through art, music, dance and drama while get a top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

They help the kids use and grow their natural incredible talent in a challenging and nurturing environment.


Posted October 22, 2009

The Arts Academy is the best school ever! it's hands on learning and full of activities. everyone has a chance to do what they want. there is a lot of freedom and learning. teachers make any subject fun,and can explain anything in a non-confusing explanation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2008

Fun School very challenging lots of homework good arts program nice teachers but lots of drama between the students
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 6% 15%
Black 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Wadsworth
Fax number
  • (801) 531-7726

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

844 South 200 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 531-1173

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

K12 International Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


The Keystone School
Salt Lake City, UT


Horizonte Instr & Trn Center
Salt Lake City, UT


Challenger School-Salt Lake
Salt Lake City, UT


City Academy
Salt Lake City, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT