Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Sandy School

Public | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2012

East Sandy Elementary is the best school! I learned many things and attended grades K-6 and had a wonderful time! I loved all of my teachers and even though I'm in 8th grade now I wish that all of my teachers were still my teachers. They were very caring and helped with the students a lot! The remodeled outside gives the school a very good look. The principal was very great and did lots of great stuff for the school. The learning was also great! It was average so all of my class mates could keep up! I love East Sandy Elementary!


Posted June 12, 2012

My three children have attended this school for one year after moving from out of state. They were welcomed immediately. Their teachers were fantastic. The school seems to strike a great balance between academics and enough extra-curricular activities to make it interesting for all types of kids. They run a band and orchestra program, a drama club, a choir, science clubs, technology clubs, etc. The principal is very hands-on. The teachers work together very well, and there is a lot of parental involvement. The school has 2 brand new playgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The teachers are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It's in a nice neighborhood with no busy streets around it. It is safe and the kids feel comfortable. The school encourages walking and there are no school buses. Parents are encouraged to participate and help kids learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

I have absolutely loved this school and so have our kids. Leadership, administration, and teachers have all been stellar. Good PTA activities, use of technology, and a safe environment. East Sandy is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I like the fact that this school is not year round. I have volunteered for three years, and see a need for school teachers aids for each grade. I'm not very impressed with the principal. Most of the teachers my kids have had are alright, some better than others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2005

I have gone to this school since i was in Kindergarten and i am now in the sixth grade. The teachers have always been very caring and concerned with the struggling kids that are in my class. That is why i am writing this is because i feel this is a very great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

The class size is far too large. My son has been in the school since the second grade. His class size average was 30. He is now in the sixth along with 34 other children in his class. The attention that is given to the students by the teachers is very little. Many educational delays are overlooked or go without being noticed. Many teachers I have spoke with reguarding a complaint that I had said 'I can't be expected to watch XXX because I have too many other children to keep an eye on'. Safety, education and discipline expectations of parents are not being met. This leaves very little left for this elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

We have been very disappointed by East Sandy Elementary. Our son has had some speech problems and has been a little slower in learning altogether and has had very little involvement from the teachers to encourage successful learning. The parental involvement at this school is minimum. Class sizes are too large, and if your child needs anything out of the ordinary, or requires any special attention, you might want to consider a different school because we do not feel that this school does anything to help students that are at any type of disadvantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8295 South 870 East
Sandy, UT 84094
Phone: (801) 565-7452

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sandy School
Sandy, UT


Sandy School
Sandy, UT


Entrada
Sandy, UT



Midvalley School
Midvale, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT