Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a community member
This school used to be a scary place but when they got a new principal the school turned into an amazing place! Very happy with the outcome of this school!

Eastmont Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2012
- a community member
Middle school was the worst three years of my life. While I was trying to do my best at being nice, everyone else around me (including teachers and staff) made it impossible. Everyone I know that has gone there would never go back there even if someone paid them a million dollars.


Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2012
- a parent
We have had our children in Sandy public schools for 13 years and Eastmont has the BEST program I have ever experienced. I needed to send my son here for a cluster program (which he has now graduated from) and I was AMAZED at the school. The students have pride in their school, the music/theater program is TOP NOTCH and there is a safeguard system that does not let students fail. If a student falls behind, they are given a ZAP ticket to sit in a special quiet area of the lunchroom to get caught up. There is also private tutoring offered before and after school. There are in school activities that the students earn the privilege to attend by their grades. The staff are amazing and the administration is caring and VERY involved. I wish all Utah schools would use their system, it is SUPERIOR!!

Eastmont Middle School 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a community member
I am not at all impressed with Eastmont Middle School. Teachers take more to certain cliques and they have ridiculous ways of punishing the students. If someone wears too much of one color, they will assume they're in a gang and tell them they aren't aloud to wear that color anymore. Ever heard of uniqueness? We all have our own likings. We may like a certain color more than others. That doesn't necessarily mean they're in a gang. Everyone is judged. I, myself, have never fit in at Eastmont. The students were extremely rude and did not have a problem with hurting another person with their words. The teachers are not good teachers. They're strict, intolerant, and they take everything too seriously. School should be about learning, but the staff, faculty, and students should make more of an effort to make every student's middle school experience something fun to look back on. This should be a time to remember- the time of your life. Not something to dread. Not something anyone should be afraid to look back on. Tsk tsk.

Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
I have seen this school operate for the last 20 years and it has only gotten better each year. The administration is pro-active in solving problems before they become issues. The administration , faculty and staff are caring people who really do want the best for their students, and not just on an academic level. They seek out those students who may have other "issues" going on at home or otherwise in their life and truly try to make a difference. I have worked on the PTSA board for many years and it has become a big part of the student involvement. Eastmont is a Great School and students look forward to going there.


Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
If you want your child in the best middle school in Utah, place them at Eastmont! The staff and faculty really care about each student and have all the tools in place to teach effectively as evidenced by the fantastic test scores from the past few years. They have increased each year at an incredible rate and the students feel like they can achieve great things! You won't find a better arts program or a better community. The PTSA offers many wonderful opportunities for student AND parent involvement. Parents are encouraged to be classroom volunteers and be present at school. Students have opportunities for leadership and school spirit with PTSA Student Board, Senate and Riots Spirit Clubs. This is an incredible school!!!

Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
I am so impressed with Eastmont Patriots! The faculty and staff are genuinely concerned about the students' performance academically. They have awesome programs to help when there is misunderstanding in a subject. Students get "ZAPPED!" and have to go to the front of the lunch line and then head to the class where they have a missing assignment to make it up. They have "Patriot Time" where any student can go into class and get extra help or do fun, extra learning activities during this time in a subject of their ineterest. Their school play is phenomenal and a lot of effort is put into many activites here at Eastmont. The PTA is very supportive and involved at this school and Parent Day is one of the highlights for me.

Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
My son just finished his first year at Eastmont and he had an excellent experience. I was so concerned that he would have a tough transition into middle school but he absolutely thrived. There seems to be classes and activities that appeal to a variety of students. The teachers are very reachable. He's sad school is out for the summer!


Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
Excellent learning environment. This school encourages academic achievement not just a "push through" attitude. Students are encouraged to master concepts and are given the opportunity to do so.

Eastmont Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended Eastmont Middle School and felt it was a great school. The administration, staff, and faculty are fantastic. There are programs in place to help students who struggle as well as opportunities for students who excel. The school offers a wide variety of electives, honors programs, and wonderful performance arts experiences. The overall academic achievement is one of the highest in the Canyons District if not the entire state. It is a safe and positive environment for students! I would highly recommend Eastmont to any parent who wants a great experience for their child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastmont Middle School
10100 South 1300 East, Sandy, UT  84094
(801) 412-2000
Last modified Eastmont Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9
Eastmont Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top