Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sandy School

Public | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2011

I went to sandy elementary from k-6. My mom sent all 11 of her children there. She works there. out of the 11 of us, all have attended at least some college and 5 have graduated from college. Two of my siblings have attended graduate school, and one is a lawyer. Parents make the difference. At any school. If you want your children to succeed, you need to be involved. This school could use some good, supportive parents like mine, and my friends' parents were.


Posted December 23, 2010

Do not send your child to this school if you want your child to be challenged. Teachers do not have high expectations for students and most students live up to those expectations. Expect resistance from teachers when you go to them for help because you want your child to learn at their level and be challenged. After a couple months of trying to get my daughter's teacher to teach her on her level she now challenges her in one assignment one time per week :( When the teachers left my Kindergartner outside alone after school at the beginning of the year, the teacher took no responsibility. She started talking to my daughter and blamed her. I found out from another parent that the same thing happened to her daughter this year (same class). This school may be able to accomodate children who are below grade level. It should also be a fine school if safety is not a concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

We send two of our kids there for a few years until the principal changed. What used to be a good school got really bad very fast. The schools over all test scores droped really fast, safty seemed not to exist there anymore and teachers were unwilling to accommodate kids even if they had an IEP. We had to take our kids out of that school during the school year, nothing was done to stop bullying. Even differen teachers hated the new work invironment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

My son went to Sandy for fourth and fifth grade. His fifth grade teacher was outstanding. She was a student teacher from BYU. She always went above and beyond what was required. The math program, developed by the fifth grade team really helped change his attitude about math. Although all his peers were not on grade level the teacher was able to level the classroom so his needs were met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

Sandy Elementary School [is] one of the best public school and we are not disappointed at all, at first I was really worried but I was wrong cause she progressed and totally came out of her shell,learned and grew, most of all, had fun. she came home everyday and couldn't wait to tell and share to her other younger siblings about her day in her new school and what fun she had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I have been very impressed by Sandy Elementary. Although it is a low income area there is a lot of pride amoung students and teachers. Because of the wide range of nationalities I feel my child has benefited by interacting with so many different cultures. The staff has always been positive. I believe kids can be anything they want if they have someone to help support and believe in them. Being in a low income area does not condemn them from achieving their dreams. Parents and neighbors need to support the students and teachers of Sandy Elementary. Teachers throughout Utah are completetly underappreciated and under paid. The staff at Sandy really does care about their students. They have a tough job and they do it well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

Located in a low income-poverty demographic, this school has a high principal turnover due to extensive disciplinary issues. Lack of adequate heating and Air Conditioning is also an issue. Curriculum is based around outdated concepts. Current technology and skills are not addressed. This school is okay for parents who dont want their children to achieve more than they have as there is no pressure to exceed expectations and no support for children in the 'gifted' catagory. -Parent of a Sandy Elementary 3rd Grade student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

Sandy Elementary has been a wonderful school for my 2nd grader. She has had wonderful teachers since K. Principal Gomez is very involved and supportive to both students and parents. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8725 South 280 East
Sandy, UT 84070
Phone: (801) 565-7490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sandy School
Sandy, UT


Entrada
Sandy, UT





Copperview School
Midvale, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT