Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alta High School

Public | 10-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

I taught at this school for 30 years and enjoyed it and feel it was a good school. Most of the teachers are dedicated, most of the students are committed to learning and I enjoyed my interaction with the parents and community and my only complaint would be some of the administration. They lacked the drive and vision to move it from a 4 star school to a 5 star school. I would also have enjoyed more diversity as I think it would have been good for the student body. .
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2011

I grew up in the Pacific Northwest. The quality of education at this school for my kids is below the standard of schools years ago where I obtained my public education. In my observation, the left hand rarely knows what the right hand is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

We moved here from a wealthy out-of state district in a large city, so I was relieved to find that the students are not fashion conscious at all by comparison. You can be poor and be popular here--I can name a dozen kids whose fathers are not employed or who make next to nothing who are popular. Kids at Alta dress down compared to wealthy communities in large cities back east. It's very laid back...no changing your wardrobe every season as soon as the models hit the runway...thank heavens. The kids are happy, not too competitive, and yet they try to get good grades so they can have a future. There isn't much of a push to help the kids get into top schools, but then I think most people here just plan to send their kids to the state schools or religious schools in state. Kids are mostly middle to upper middle class and their parents are professionals and small business owners...nothing spectacular, but still respectable people. They have good music, dance, and sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

for a high school in this state to even be competing on a sunday is usually not done in most areas, but to have a manditory event on that day is unconcunable your community ratings and the pay for the people who make these kinds of decisions should both be reduced


Posted August 9, 2010

I've had 1 son that hated Alta and quit to attend an alternative high school. I've had another son that liked Alta, but graduated as an average student and complained of boredom. Now I have a daughter attending there and she loves it and excells. I think the academic choices and the teachers are very good - although I think there's too much homework assigned. The struggles I've heard about are largely due to social issues. It's a very large school and there can be alot of peer pressure to be popular and fashion forward. Just help your child to be self-confident and ignore the crowds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Alta isn't terrible; but it is far from being a good school. The academics are poor. Most of my classmates can't spell words my 8 year old brother can. The overwhelming amount of LDS can feel suffocating to those outside of the church. They are not extremely exclusive, but the LDS do have a tendency to stay within themselves. Additionally, the school has the feel of a trap. There are few windows, and the upstairs classrooms are unbearably hot. If I could choose, I would elect to go back to my previous school in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2010

I have a child attending this school. A warning for anyone planning to attend Alta, you will feel worthless unless you are 'popular'. My daughter is miserable here and I have noticed she has become much more self-consious. She is constantly growing more high maintenence as she tries to keep up with the trends just so she can keep her friends. On the plus side, there are many different classes available at Alta and most of the teachers are very encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

This school has really great teachers who try to encourage students to succeed. The only problem I have had with sending my daughter here is that she has grown more high-maintenence, She has to keep up with the trends to keep her friends, and she feels miserable because she complains she is not 'popular' enough. The teachers are great but the vibes that come from the fellow students are often discouraging. I sometimes feel that every day my daugter prepares for school as if she were in a competition for the 'best looking'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

I'm not a parent, but I am attending Alta right now, and I think its a wonderful school. The teachers are amazing, and they have so many options, whether your just trying to get through highschool, or trying to graduate with an associates, you can do it at alta. There is alot of students at alta but personally I think that just allows you to make more friends and be with different people. There are loads of extracurricular activites from football, to mathletes, to anime clubs, alta has it all. I would highly suggest it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2008

I graduated from Alta in 2006 and it is a great school. Many people complain that snobby people go here, but not everyone is snobby or rich for that matter (you could say the same thing for most high school in Utah). I never felt the need to be popular to fit in. The teachers were great, though the classrooms were a little crowded. I loved it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2008

Beware students, this is a very trendy, snobby high school. Classes are overcrowded, teachers are subpar. Avoid this highschool at all costs, unless you want your kid to have a miserable experience if they are not 'popular'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

I graduated from Alta High School in 1986 and now my daughter is attending Alta. I had a very enjoyable experience and my daughter is now doing the same. The thing I have been most impressed with is that my daughter attends some special education classes and the Alta High Counselors have been top notch in making sure she receives all of the credits she needs to excel. Additionally, they recognize when she needs a change and they assist her in her studies so that she is learning and acquiring wonderful grades with the skills she is learning. I would not hesitate to send another child to this school. On the down side, the only thing I mention is there is an extraordinary amount of students that come from very well to do families. The peer pressure for material goods can be somewhat overwhelming at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2004

I am not a parent but I did attend Alta high from 1996-2000. I loved it. I was part of the band and chior. I loved it. The teachers where wonderful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2004

This school is the best in Utah. It is amazing! The extracurricular activites are top notch! The teachers are great, and the tests scores are some of the best in the nation!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
23%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
32%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
78%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
57%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11055 South 1000 East
Sandy, UT 84094
Phone: (801) 256-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gateway Academy
Draper, UT


Oxford Academy
Draper, UT




Valley High School
South Jordan, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT