Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Hills Middle School

Public | 7-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

I'm a student in 8th Grade in 2014. Its okay. It looks incredibly ugly with brick walls or orange dividers walls. But the teachers are pretty good. My history, science and math teachers are awesome the rest are mediocre. Could provide a better experience but isn't too bad.


Posted August 12, 2014

Wow. I can't even describe how horrible of an experience I had at this school. The teachers are completely illiterate and incompetent and it's a rarity when you can find a good teacher who can actually use correct grammar and spelling conventions. I cannot believe that they even call this place a school. There's no school spirit or involvement. Looking for a school dance? Not here. Actual sports teams? Nope. The school doesn't even have a real track! We ran in the parking lot. The music program isn't all that exceptional either. The administration is absolutely ridiculous. If you want help solving a problem, don't go to them. They will not help you. Their rules are ludicrous and unnecessary. While the bullying issue has been moderated to a dull roar, there are still tons of other things wrong with this school. The majority of the male teachers are pedophilic. The majority of the female teachers are pregnant. If you're looking for diversity, you won't find it here. Most of the kids here show up without shoes and wearing a blanket in lieu of a sweatshirt. Not because they can't afford it, but because it's "fashionable". This is a violation of the health code. I do not recommend.


Posted May 21, 2014

This school needs teachers who actually teach. The science teacher puts the students in front of a television set every day. They "learn" science from Bill Nye the science guy. The honors math teacher gives homework which she dies not bother to grade. There is a social studies teacher who is new and is still excited about teaching. She seems to be the only saving grace this year. So demoralizing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

I was. a student there last year and it was quite a horrific experience, the teachers can't spend any extra time with students since the classes are all large from 30-40 students each. The school itself is too small for the amount of students it has an odd floor plan and very wide. The honors teachers are a bit crazy to top it off I spent a whole year in it ad I'm still not sure how I lived through it. I would not recommend this school.


Posted March 20, 2014

We just moved here and I have been very impressed by the school I have never seen my child so happy and so excited to go to school. The office workers were really nice and actually paid attention to you and did whatever they could to help you out. One of the greatest experiences yet. Keep up the good work. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

Ridiculous operation. The office staff is incompetent. The teachers are generally sub par and there is zero accountability for the "school fees" parents are required to pay for their child to attend. Despite the law about fees if you don't support their tactics they make it clear that your child will be subjected to a even more sub par education experience than the one they currently provide. It feels like this school is running a racket and is decades behind even average schools in their class offerings and some of their teachers. The office staff is old and uninterested just collecting a paycheck without interest in the children in the school. If you have a choice go elsewhere I know we will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This is hands down the worst school experience of my child's career. Being actively involved & volunteering at every function did nothing to support the problems my child encounter for the first time ever. My child was harassed & bullied for months on end with no support from the school's administrators. The end result was my child being exposed to 2 different kids with weapons in a single school year, nightmares, & F's for the first time. There many teachers passed their passionate years, however there is one male teacher who teaches extremely inappropriate materials that are racists, disturbing, & have nothing to do with the subject matter. He yells, demeans, & belittle his students daily. I experienced these actions personally when he attempted to shout at me outside of the school & in front of the principal, students, staff, & other parents. Unfortunately, this teacher has a long history of this type of behavior & yet nothing has been done to remove the root of the problem, vs just transferring the students who do speak up out of the class. My child had an amazing pre-k - 6th grade experience but this year tore my child down completely. We are now homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

We have loved everything about Indian Hills. Our children have all loved it and blossomed while attending. Thank you to the wonderful staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

I can see why Indian Hills received an 8 for great schools in Utah. We have had such a wonderful experience here! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

The counselors did not help me at all when I wanted my child to be in an honors class. I would never, ever recommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

The teachers need to retire in this school. I know that bullying goes on between the students but the teachers also bully and belittle the students. They are uncaring and callous with there remarks. I have spent 3 years trying to build my teens confidence and self esteem and it took just moments for a teacher to destroy all that we have worked for. The principal and assistant principal do not care about the student. I would not recommend this school to anyone!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My son had a bad experience here. Every day he was physically and mentaly beat up. There was no problem with him or his abilites. The main reason was because he was small. The pricipals were very rude and blamed my son for getting beat up. I do not recommend indian hills to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

When we transferred to the school they did everything they could to help my son feel wanted and went out of their way to place him in correct classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

i absolutely love indian hills middle school, the teachers are great, the students are friendly, and the curriculum focuses on math and language arts whether you are in honors or not. the music classes and physical education are enjoyable and the teachers liven things up, i am proud to go to indian hills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

The teachers are not very extraordinary but they work with the students as far as it goes to my own knowledge. The students here are generally less sensitive towards others of different religions and/or ethnicities and are not very open. The principals are very narrow minded, and keep an average safty level at the school. In spite of its set backs, Indian Hills is the best for a better education as well as fitness awareness. This is because, the school makes the students jog every day in gym, focusing on cardiovascular fitness and maintaining a good healthy life. Overall a good school as i was a former student only 2 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

This School does perform well academically. However, this is largely due to heavy parental involvement. Most teachers are average. The main problem I see is for those who are not popular. My son was bullied to the point I had to change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

I am a former student of Indian Hills Middle School and proud to say that Indian Hills Middle Shool focuses on top quality education primarily in Mathematics. They have excellent honors programs in strive to meet the academic needs of all students. Counselors and principals at IHMS are widely accepting and very tolerant with parents. They strive to work with parent's concerns. Unfortunately, IHMS does not offer very many quality extracurricular activities. However it does offer academic extracurricular activities such as Math Counts, Science Fair, and the National Junior Honors Society. They also are participants in the state math contest. Sudents at IHMS are intelligent, fun, and enerjetic. For the student's sake, I need to inform them that the school lunch food is not top notch. Overall this school excells in quality and academic excellence. It is located in a beautiful neighborhood with nice kids and a great view!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1180 East Sanders Rd
Sandy, UT 84094
Phone: (801) 412-2550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oxford Academy
Draper, UT


Gateway Academy
Draper, UT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT