Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sandy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $282,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

As a graduate of Blessed Sacrament School and now in the public school system, I feel that Blessed Sacrament has prepared me for all the obstacles in life. The teaching staff at Blessed Sacrament were always helpful not just with learning but other advice. I always felt safe and loved. At Blessed Sacrament School, you are a family, not simply another student. I encourage you to look into sending your student to Blessed Sacrament School.


Posted February 27, 2013

This is my child's first year at Blessed Sacrament. It has been a lifesaver for him. He was at another school in Draper and he had the most difficult time. He was pushed around by other kids and nothing was ever done about it. They were mean and so unkind. Blessed Sacrament has made such a huge difference. He is happy. He enjoys school. He enjoys all the activities. The other kids are happy and accepting. Thanks to everyone for making us feel so welcome. The staff and faculty have been terrific. The school has so many things to offer. Their math and science programs are interesting. I can't believe how much he has learned and how he continues to do so. If you are unhappy at the school you are at, visit Blessed Sacrament. You will not be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

Blessed Sacrament School is a great school, not only for the high academic level of education our children receive but also because the parents are treated with respect and consideration. School staff and teachers understand that parents are busy with sometimes crazy schedules and don't want us to feel overwhelmed with massive amounts of information or underwhelmed by too little information. The school utilizes a weekly parent announcement newsletter system. We are asked to provide an email address (which is kept private) and they email the communication directly to us each week. The newsletter is also posted permanently on the school website. The wonderful weekly newsletter has just the right amount of content for you to be informed and made aware of pertinent events at the school. We love it because is accurate, well written and gets to the point. Keep up with the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Blessed Sacrament School is a wonderful experience. If your child attends, you will have opened a whole new world for him/her and yourself. From Pre-K to Eighth grade, is an unique experience continually changing and expanding to help your child grow. The faculty and staff are here to for your child. The open door policy is just that - open door. Any time you have a question, concern, or whatever it may be...you are welcome. I have also said the "welcome" mat is out for everyone. Take a break one day and drop by and see what your child is doing. You will be taken back by how much they do and learn each and every day. Congratulations Blessed Sacrament school - you are a winner in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Thank you Blessed Sacrament! Thank you for sharing what you had with my children! They enjoyed the science fairs, the county fairs, the choir, the sports, the classrooms, the teachers, the friends they made. You opened up their world to literature, music, math, computers. They shared their faith with others. They prayed, they sang, they laughed. They are ready for high school. They are ready for college. They are ready to share what they know with everyone! Thank you Blessed Sacrament for being the special place you are. Thank you to the faculty and staff. Thank you to the aids and volunteers. Each contributed something to my children. It's easy in this day and age to only verbalize the negativity but verbalizing the positive is important too. It's easy to complain but it's easier to say THANK YOU. Blessed Sacrament School you had such an impact on my entire family. Again, THANK YOU!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Compliments are always the last to be heard. We as parents, family, and former students need to let the schools, we attended, know how much we appreciated what they did for us and our children. Blessed Sacrament is a perfect example of a wonderful community. Over the years, they have grown, made changes to continue to grow positively. They have impacted so many lives in so many wonderful ways. I feel fortunate my children are part of this community. I know that if they attended any other school they would not get half as much as they do here at Blessed Sacrament. Stuff happens that is everyday living. If you have a problem or concern, call - go in and talk with administration. No one is turned away. They will listen and try to work out what's happening. The school is here for our kids. Let's support the school, the faculty/staff. Let's make it the place your kids will always remember. Let's be the Blessed Sacrament School voice. Parents tell your kids how grateful you are they attend Blessed Sacrament School. They need to hear you say that! Go Blessed Sacrament School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

This school has serious problems. Bullying is at the top of the list. The newer principal has zero teaching experience and no principal experience. He also has poor skills in social behavior, such as making eye contact. He has been there about two years. The school sends out newsletters and emails that are full of grammatical and spelling errors. Of the many parents I have talked with, none of them felt their children learned anything in second or fourth grades. Some of the best teachers were let go by the new principal, the terrible fourth grade teacher is still there. Nice neighborhood, nice families, bad school, bad principal. We left and love our new school. The staff is so intelligent and experienced at the new school, what a wonderful change in so many ways. I recommend St. John's, St. Vincent's, Challenger or the public school Brookwood gets high ratings in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Blessed Sacrament is an incredible school. If you are looking for a school to prepare your children for high school and college this is a great school. To me, in addition to the education you get, the school teaches dignitiy and respect to the children. The children are respectful and polite to people. The teachers are top notch and love the students. My kids love the school and I am blessed to have them there. They have learned so much and are going up to be very nice young men.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

This was a very good school and came highly recommended. My kids had a good time here and Iliked the school. However, a changing of the guard has caused an exodus from this school over the last year. Before you commit to this school, you might ask the principal what his qualifications are for being an education leader and have him describe his conflict resolution process. Because of him and his actions, many of us old timers are unhappy and are moving our children to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

As a previous student, now at Juan Diego, I am so happy that I went to Blessed Sacrament. I look around at my fellow classmates and notice that more than 75% of my class from Blessed Sacrament are in Honors and AP classes. Our student body president this year is a Blessed Sacrament graduate. Yes, it can feel a little small at times but overall the education is challenging and it definitely prepared me for high school well. It is a fantastic school and I would seriously consider looking into for your children before St. John's. Blessed Sacrament's learning and social environment is extremely better than St. John's.


Posted May 13, 2011

Blessed Sacrament provides an excellent education for students Pre-K through 8th grade. My two children both attended Blessed Sacrament from Pre-K through 8th grade. They both excelled at Juan Diego Catholic High School, and my son just completed his junior year at Westminster College with an impressive GPA. My daughter will attend the U of U this fall, and was offered a $14,000/yr. scholarship at Westminster. Very few Blessed Sacrament students are enrolled in the Drexel Program at Juan Diego. Approx. 10% of our population have learning disabilities. The Drexel Program provides academic support for 2 or 3 students from Blessed Sacrament each year, which is at or below 10%. There is very little teacher turnover, and Catholic/Christian Values are a very important aspect at this school. Students receive instruction in religion daily, and each grade attends Mass weekly. I have been involved with this school for over 17 years, and know the facts. I have absolutely no reason to give this school a higher rating than they deserve. I thank Blessed Sacrament School for being such a positive factor in my children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Blessed Sacrament is a wonderful school. The students receive a solid, well-rounded education. The teachers instill a love of learning and they have high standards. My child recently scored at or above level in English, Mathematics, Reading, and Science on the EXPLORE College Readiness Benchmark Test. In addition to high academics, the school also develops character formation. My child has enjoyed many of the activities the school offers, such as Ski/Snowboard Program, Choir, Volleyball, Basketball, Student Council, Middle School Dances, and Diocesan Science Fairs. Blessed Sacrament is a great school. I am very pleased in my decision of choosing this school for my child for the last eight years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

I was surprised to read the negative comments on Blessed Sacrament School. I am the parent of two alumni of Blessed Sacrament. One went on to graduate from Juan Diego Catholic High School as a National Merit Scholar and was in the top of her class. The other is currently a sophomore at Juan Diego and on the honor roll. Both children came out of Blessed Sacrament School well prepared to succeed at high school and in life. They benefited from the small classes as they provided individual attention and a sense of community. The tenured teachers participate in professional education days twice a year and are constantly adjusting their teaching methods and challenging the students to learn in new ways. The fact that they continue to teach at Blessed Sacrament shows a love and dedication to the students and the school. We have to remember there will be incidents such as inappropriate language or bullying anywhere, but the teachers and principal at Blessed Sacrament School address these behaviors as soon as they are brought to their attention and continue to monitor situations in order to insure Catholic values are evident in the school.


Posted January 28, 2011

I would NOT recomment this school. This is a very small school. If your child doesn t bond with their teacher, they will have to suffer for the entire school year because there is only one class per grade. The tenured teachers are given a free pass and they use 20 year old lesson plans. There are allot of children that use inappropriate language, so your child may come home talking like a sailor. There is a bullying problem at the school and nothing is done to address it. This is a catholic school in name only; they do not instill catholic values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

I would recommend Blessed Sacrament School to everyone. I am the parent of two alumni who excelled at Judge Memorial and who are currently excelling at the University of Utah. Blessed Sacrament nurtures the whole child in faith, academics, and character. They were named a 2010 Utah State School of Character and are the recipient of 3 National Promising Practice Awards in Character Education. The teachers are all tenured with 3-23 years of experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

I would not recommend Blessed, public school is a much better option for academics and morals. It has a high turnover and is renown for bullying. Most students from Blessed Sacrament are put in the Drexel Program at Juan Diego.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I have been thoroughly impressed with this school. My child has learned a tremendous amount, the school seems to run like a well oiled machine and I have no complaints. The only thing I would like to see is all day Kindergarten, but I understand that half day=more students, more students=more money. Sad, but true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

Blessed Sacrament is an excellent little school with teachers and faculty that go above and beyond the call of duty. Of course there is bullying and cliquishness but very little - all schools are a reflection of the community they draw from. It is human nature and Blessed Sacraments Staff corrects these problems well often with lifelong lessons taught. A great percentage of their graduating students excel in high school and progress to their college education. Blessed Sacrament should be proud of their positive impact on so many good kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

Alot of parent involvment. Bullying at school not addressed appropiately, tendancy to denial that it exists. Alot of clickiness amongst parents and children which makes others feel as outsiders. In general though teaching is good. They do have an accelerated learning program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

School has new administrator (previous asst. adminstrator) so things should go as well as they have in the past without too many changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 77%
Hispanic 14% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Salt Lake
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1745 East 9800 South
Sandy, UT 84092
Phone: (801) 572-5311

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Edgemont School
Sandy, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT