Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sandy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $282,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Grace Luthern School is the best you could hope for in a values based education! My two children are both students at grace and excell far beyond their peers from public school. I value the love, compassion, dedication, and respect my children are given each day. Grace teachers truly give love and an education. Simply put a values based education that prepares my children for success in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Grace has been a wonderful experience for my two boys. The teachers truly care about not only their academic development but also about developing their character. The Christian environment provides an ideal setting for learning in an atmosphere that teaches my kids to deal with the world around them in a positive, mature way. The school also focuses on a number of service projects that teach the kids to give back to those less fortunate--collecting hats, gloves and coats to donate; supporting gardening in Third World countries; growing vegetables for the Food Bank; sending letters to Veterans; Operation Christmas Child. It doesn't get much better than that! The teachers are very responsive when I have any questions or concerns. The support from parents is amazing. We have a very active parent group who cares deeply about all of the kids in the Grace family. The facilities are great...a full gym, a baseball field with free club lessons, soccer, basketball, volleyball. Grace truly is a great place to grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

Our 2 kids have attended Grace from Pre-K up for the past 3 years. We're very pleased. The teachers are fantastic and really kind and caring. Small class sizes are a big plus - I think it has helped both our kids thrive. Great parent involvement. Academics are very good, with solid Christian instruction and values integrated well into the curriculum. Appreciate the music instruction in early grades; wish there were more foreign language instruction. Science instruction may be too heavily influenced by conservative Christian views (young earth, evolution etc) but in the early grades this hasn't been a big issue. As much as we love the academics, we equally appreciate the positive social climate. The kids are genuinely nice and we have not heard our kids pick up bad language or bad habits, nor have we heard of problems with bullying. Our kids love the after-school program (great for working parents) and actually beg to go there. We appreciate the added diversity of having a Korean student exchange program and Japanese teachers rotating through. Highly recommend at least for the younger grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2010

Grace has been a fantstic place for my kids. They feel challenged in their school work. They love the smaller classroom sizes. The atheltics the school offers. As a parent I love the before school and after school programs, how the staff is responsive and nice to everyone and that you can talk to the staff about your questions and or suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I have tried the public schools in Utah and a different private school before switching to Grace. One word STRESSFREE. As a working parent, it is wonderful to have a school where my children are challenged educationally, ethics and morals are valued, class sizes are smaller, the teachers and principals are strong and respected by parents and the students. Before school and afterschool care a huge benenfit to parents who work. I could go on and on, my children and I love it. If money is a concern, they also have a financial aid program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

Grace is an excellent school. Our kids have been their for 3 years and have done very well. The teachers could not be more caring or dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

Grace was a wonderful school for the most part. After awhile it began to nickle and dime you to death and there was a deffinate clique problem. I pulled my daughter out after four years. The Christian influence was great and still follows her today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

We have been at the school for five years and are very happy with the academics. Our son has scored high on national tests compared to other 5th graders. We are happy with the music program. We do need more language classes. The parent involvement is great. They are very vested in their kids. We are happy with the Christian teachings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2004

My children have been there for 5 years now and we have loved the teachers, staff, and atmosphere. The main weakness we have seen is the lack of a foreign language program. At the price though, you can afford to supplement this outside the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 15%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1815 East 9800 South
Sandy, UT 84092
Phone: (801) 572-3793

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT